SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4859 (Misses Skirts)

9 more reviews
Viewed 772 times 
Reviewed by:merteuil
photo

 
 
About merteuilstar
SWITZERLAND
Member since: 3/18/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/1/08 6:53 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 9 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hikerbeth said...
Lovely clear and detailed photographs really enhance this review. Especially as most of us sewers are visual people. Well Done!
12/4/09 0:50 AM
cathy45 said...
The contrast is well done--This is soo chic looking!
6/2/08 8:54 AM
MagpieJen said...
That is a smashing skirt! I love the flare of the hem, and I think the contrast really flatters the figure.
6/2/08 0:23 AM
MareeAlison said...
To be honest I wasn't sure at first about the contrasting fabrics but when I saw your photo album I was convinced. This is fantastic - you should really wear it.
6/1/08 6:58 PM
sew42mom said...
Wear it!!!
6/1/08 5:02 PM
okie2thdoc said...
I think the high contrast is what makes this skirt great. I'd definitely wear it with some cute strappy heels. If I had the ability to mix like that, I'd do it more often- wear it with a little attitude;) it's very fashionable.
6/1/08 4:50 PM
Beek said...
Great skirt. I bet it will look flattering when you walk in it. It will have movement and style.
6/1/08 2:39 PM
Sic said...
Lovely skirt - the contrast is very striking, but tasteful! Choosing linen for the fabric was truly inspired!
6/1/08 2:25 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful! I love the contrast!
6/1/08 1:20 PM
CarolynGM said...
I love the drama of the high contrast. This is a beautiful skirt.
6/1/08 11:41 AM
edot said...
I think it's excellent! Sometimes contrast works better in theory, other times better in person; and while I don't think I'm adventurous enough to have thought to put black and white together, I think the result is much more striking and fantastic than a lesser contrasting pair. Kudos! It looks lovely on you.
6/1/08 11:13 AM
fabeins said...
That's beautiful. DO wear it!
6/1/08 10:27 AM
nglalala said...
the skirt looks great!
6/1/08 10:08 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
High contrast is high style.. great skirt... Great selection & execution. Wear it.. it is fabulous! So perfect for a little summer sizzle.
6/1/08 8:10 AM
merteuil said...
thanks morzel. I have some of both fabrics left over, and was considering using them to make a top. I was thinking of Vogue 8393 View C, with the upper part in cream, just as you suggest.
6/1/08 7:55 AM
morzel said...
The contrast is just what I like with this skirt! I find the colours much better chosen than the example on the patternpage. So go for it! Why not sew something matching for it? Black tee with cream neckband or such?
6/1/08 7:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8623

photo
by: Annette1

Review
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

More Info
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

More Info