Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5042 (6 Great Looks 1 easy Pattern) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 666 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:TalyQ
photo
About TalyQstar
NA YUGOSLAVIA
Member since: 6/17/04
Reviews written: 55
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/2/08 5:42 PM
Last Updated:6/3/08 2:15 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
phthooey said...
Darling dress!
6/2/08 6:10 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Dress looks lovely - it was worth the effort in doing the fit. I also love the touches like the lace on the hemline!
6/2/08 6:42 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Lovely dress! I made the Butterick version of this pattern last year, and found it required a lot of fitting too (and still didn't come out right). It looks like it fits wonderfully now! What fabric did you use for the lining?
6/2/08 7:43 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
TalyQ, your daughter's dress is gorgeous, perfectly suited to her age, and your fitting and detail work is exquisite. Your hand sewing around the zipper is perfection, itself. What a wonderful gift you've given your daughter for her school graduation. Very lovely, Lily
6/2/08 7:47 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful dress--and very age appropriate for your DD. She'll always remember this!
6/2/08 8:19 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is such a CUTE dress!!! You did an excellent job!!!! I'm sure your daughter will LOVE this dress!!!! You must be a wonderful mom!!!
6/2/08 9:03 PM
greenandlilac said...
I looked at your blog. You know there is a good vaccine for chicken pox now. Is it available in Serbia? There is also a vaccine for shingles now too.
6/2/08 10:31 PM
salruss said...
What a wonderful dress! And I agree with you completely about those invisible zip instructions. I'm still looking for some good instructions too.
6/2/08 10:43 PM
nursesarah79 said...
What a cute dress!! Your daughter looks beautiful!
6/3/08 1:07 AM
TalyQ said...
Thank you all for those encouraging comments. This was the first things I sewed after 6 months (and a new baby and moving to a new house), so it was quite challenging. But I hoping to sew more now again. As for the lining. I bought some new lining here at the store (very limited fabric supplies) and it was stiff when I bought it. But after the wash it went to limp and kept growing and growing and was a pain to work with. I am so mad, because it actually almost ruined the dress for me =(. I had to even out the hem 3 time, because it kept growing on the bias constantly. And after the first wash, the lining to bigger even in the bodice and contributed to it not fitting properly at the neckline. I do not know how I am going to solve this problem for the future, since we have very few fabric stores nad none of the fabrics have tags or content on them. I might ask some seamstresses in town though where to get some better lining. I must finish the muslin for her to wear.... thank you again for commenting.
6/3/08 2:12 AM
Peacock Chic said...
wow that came out great. Love it!
6/3/08 2:43 AM
Darla in PA said...
The dress looks very good on your daughter.
6/3/08 6:40 AM
Erica B. said...
Beautiful dress! Your daughter looks stunning.
6/3/08 8:58 AM
carolynw said...
Really pretty dress - sorry to hear about your problems with the lining
6/3/08 8:59 AM
QuickFade said...
I wonder if you can use a very lightweight but stable cotton rather than lining fabric for the lining. This would likely eliminate the excessive growing of the fabric as well as making the dress more breathable and comfortable when it's warm. I like to line cotton with cotton whenever possible for this reason, especially for washable garments.
9/7/08 12:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Decades of Style 4002
photo
Review by Tea and Cr... on 9/20/10
Read Review

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Deer&Doe Veste Pavot Veste Pavot
photo
Review by punkmik on 3/5/13
Read Review

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Fitting DVD
Pants Fitting DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3247 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3247 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us