SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5042 (6 Great Looks 1 easy Pattern)

6 more reviews
Viewed 671 times 
Reviewed by:TalyQ
photo

 
 
About TalyQstar
Serbia
Member since: 6/17/04
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/2/08 5:42 PM
Last Updated:6/3/08 2:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
phthooey said...
Darling dress!
6/2/08 6:10 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Dress looks lovely - it was worth the effort in doing the fit. I also love the touches like the lace on the hemline!
6/2/08 6:42 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Lovely dress! I made the Butterick version of this pattern last year, and found it required a lot of fitting too (and still didn't come out right). It looks like it fits wonderfully now! What fabric did you use for the lining?
6/2/08 7:43 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
TalyQ, your daughter's dress is gorgeous, perfectly suited to her age, and your fitting and detail work is exquisite. Your hand sewing around the zipper is perfection, itself. What a wonderful gift you've given your daughter for her school graduation. Very lovely, Lily
6/2/08 7:47 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful dress--and very age appropriate for your DD. She'll always remember this!
6/2/08 8:19 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is such a CUTE dress!!! You did an excellent job!!!! I'm sure your daughter will LOVE this dress!!!! You must be a wonderful mom!!!
6/2/08 9:03 PM
greenandlilac said...
I looked at your blog. You know there is a good vaccine for chicken pox now. Is it available in Serbia? There is also a vaccine for shingles now too.
6/2/08 10:31 PM
salruss said...
What a wonderful dress! And I agree with you completely about those invisible zip instructions. I'm still looking for some good instructions too.
6/2/08 10:43 PM
nursesarah79 said...
What a cute dress!! Your daughter looks beautiful!
6/3/08 1:07 AM
TalyQ said...
Thank you all for those encouraging comments. This was the first things I sewed after 6 months (and a new baby and moving to a new house), so it was quite challenging. But I hoping to sew more now again. As for the lining. I bought some new lining here at the store (very limited fabric supplies) and it was stiff when I bought it. But after the wash it went to limp and kept growing and growing and was a pain to work with. I am so mad, because it actually almost ruined the dress for me =(. I had to even out the hem 3 time, because it kept growing on the bias constantly. And after the first wash, the lining to bigger even in the bodice and contributed to it not fitting properly at the neckline. I do not know how I am going to solve this problem for the future, since we have very few fabric stores nad none of the fabrics have tags or content on them. I might ask some seamstresses in town though where to get some better lining. I must finish the muslin for her to wear.... thank you again for commenting.
6/3/08 2:12 AM
Peacock Chic said...
wow that came out great. Love it!
6/3/08 2:43 AM
Darla in PA said...
The dress looks very good on your daughter.
6/3/08 6:40 AM
Erica B. said...
Beautiful dress! Your daughter looks stunning.
6/3/08 8:58 AM
carolynw said...
Really pretty dress - sorry to hear about your problems with the lining
6/3/08 8:59 AM
QuickFade said...
I wonder if you can use a very lightweight but stable cotton rather than lining fabric for the lining. This would likely eliminate the excessive growing of the fabric as well as making the dress more breathable and comfortable when it's warm. I like to line cotton with cotton whenever possible for this reason, especially for washable garments.
9/7/08 12:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

McCall's 6388

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now