Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Downloadable: 3607 (Jakob) - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 285 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:6/3/08 7:56 AM
Last Updated:6/3/08 8:18 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
I "discovered" this pattern 2 days ago, and I'm really pleased to see a review of it. I share your enthusiasm for the DPC book, too. Your shirt looks fantastic. Congratulations!
6/3/08 8:11 AM
dbsewer said...
Really lovely shirt. Remind him daily how lucky he is to have a GF who sews.
6/3/08 8:32 AM
Darla in PA said...
The shirt turned out great. All the details are wonderful. He's a lucky guy!
6/3/08 8:33 AM
SewKnitYKnot said...
The shirt looks great! All the added touches really make such a difference. Glad you persevered with all the new techniques and customizations.
6/3/08 8:49 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Thanks for the review -- great shirt!! I agree with your boyfriend, the black buttons are a nice touch. By the way, for those of you who don't know, this is the same pattern as the famous Burda 8471 "easy" men's shirt. Great to have it available now on BurdaStyle! :)
6/3/08 10:17 AM
squirrellypoo said...
thanks, Joan1954 - I didn't know it was a Burda envelope pattern, too (some of the BurdaStyle ones are reprints but some are originals)!
6/3/08 10:41 AM
Elona said...
What a great shirt! Your guy looks terrific in it.
6/3/08 10:47 AM
michellep74 said...
Great looking shirt! Your boyfriend looks great in it! Thanks for the detailed review--I may have to take a look at the David Coffin book.
6/3/08 10:49 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Excellent shirt! Thank you for the very detailed review and book recommendation.
6/3/08 10:55 AM
Christina Sonja said...
This inspires me to crack open my Coffin book. Fabulous shirt.
6/3/08 11:35 AM
MagpieJen said...
*swoon* I love menswear! That's a smashing shirt, and the tips are great, thanks so much!
6/3/08 11:53 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Terrific shirt! Boyfriend looks absolutely amazing in it.
6/3/08 1:10 PM
Lucia/Lyonel said...
Love that Burda 8471 and LOVE Coffin's Shirtmaking book. Both winners! Great job on this one (I hate that bound placket too, heheh)
6/3/08 1:15 PM
Sigrid. said...
Melissa, that's some result! Great fit and beautiful details. James is a lucky guy. I have this book and it has so much information. Thanks for all detail pictures too.
6/3/08 1:37 PM
Marji said...
Thanks for the great review. I've got the book, and you make a great argument for getting it out and following the directions and making a shirt the right way. Happy to know that the pattern is true-to-size too.
6/3/08 3:01 PM
sewinglinda said...
super shirt melissa, it looks great and the black buttons give it a designer touch. well done!
6/3/08 7:43 PM
EveS said...
Thank you for this review! I downloaded this pattern a while ago after reading other good feedback about it...I guess I'll have to pull it out now. Beautiful work on the details! I love it!
6/3/08 9:00 PM
Karen6790 said...
Bravo to you for such a beautiful shirt, and bravo to James for picking out black buttons and having a thought about how he wants to wear the shirt. Reading David Coffin's book changed the way I do a lot of things, it's definitely one of those "can't go back" books. Did I mention I love the color?
6/4/08 1:27 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking shirt. I guess I'm going to get Coffin's book about shirt making. Thanks for all the info.
6/5/08 10:08 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Hi again -- not to get nitpicky, but I just noticed that the Burdastyle pattern number for the Jakob shirt is actually - 6013 -. ;)
9/9/08 12:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Kwik Sew 3659
photo
Review by KWNightwin... on 7/3/12
Read Review

Simple Things Bibs and Booties Digital Pattern
Simple Things Bibs and Booties Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Fleur Dress Digital Pattern (SS10-11-301)
Angela Osborn Fleur Dress Digital Pattern (SS10-11-301)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4877
photo
Review by Sweetiebop on 4/23/08
Read Review

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6808 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6808 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1878 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1878 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us