SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Downloadable> 3607 (Jakob)

Viewed 286 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:6/3/08 7:56 AM
Last Updated:6/3/08 8:18 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
I "discovered" this pattern 2 days ago, and I'm really pleased to see a review of it. I share your enthusiasm for the DPC book, too. Your shirt looks fantastic. Congratulations!
6/3/08 8:11 AM
dbsewer said...
Really lovely shirt. Remind him daily how lucky he is to have a GF who sews.
6/3/08 8:32 AM
Darla in PA said...
The shirt turned out great. All the details are wonderful. He's a lucky guy!
6/3/08 8:33 AM
SewKnitYKnot said...
The shirt looks great! All the added touches really make such a difference. Glad you persevered with all the new techniques and customizations.
6/3/08 8:49 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Thanks for the review -- great shirt!! I agree with your boyfriend, the black buttons are a nice touch. By the way, for those of you who don't know, this is the same pattern as the famous Burda 8471 "easy" men's shirt. Great to have it available now on BurdaStyle! :)
6/3/08 10:17 AM
squirrellypoo said...
thanks, Joan1954 - I didn't know it was a Burda envelope pattern, too (some of the BurdaStyle ones are reprints but some are originals)!
6/3/08 10:41 AM
Elona said...
What a great shirt! Your guy looks terrific in it.
6/3/08 10:47 AM
michellep74 said...
Great looking shirt! Your boyfriend looks great in it! Thanks for the detailed review--I may have to take a look at the David Coffin book.
6/3/08 10:49 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Excellent shirt! Thank you for the very detailed review and book recommendation.
6/3/08 10:55 AM
Christina Sonja said...
This inspires me to crack open my Coffin book. Fabulous shirt.
6/3/08 11:35 AM
MagpieJen said...
*swoon* I love menswear! That's a smashing shirt, and the tips are great, thanks so much!
6/3/08 11:53 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Terrific shirt! Boyfriend looks absolutely amazing in it.
6/3/08 1:10 PM
Lucia/Lyonel said...
Love that Burda 8471 and LOVE Coffin's Shirtmaking book. Both winners! Great job on this one (I hate that bound placket too, heheh)
6/3/08 1:15 PM
Sigrid. said...
Melissa, that's some result! Great fit and beautiful details. James is a lucky guy. I have this book and it has so much information. Thanks for all detail pictures too.
6/3/08 1:37 PM
Marji said...
Thanks for the great review. I've got the book, and you make a great argument for getting it out and following the directions and making a shirt the right way. Happy to know that the pattern is true-to-size too.
6/3/08 3:01 PM
sewinglinda said...
super shirt melissa, it looks great and the black buttons give it a designer touch. well done!
6/3/08 7:43 PM
EveS said...
Thank you for this review! I downloaded this pattern a while ago after reading other good feedback about it...I guess I'll have to pull it out now. Beautiful work on the details! I love it!
6/3/08 9:00 PM
Karen6790 said...
Bravo to you for such a beautiful shirt, and bravo to James for picking out black buttons and having a thought about how he wants to wear the shirt. Reading David Coffin's book changed the way I do a lot of things, it's definitely one of those "can't go back" books. Did I mention I love the color?
6/4/08 1:27 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking shirt. I guess I'm going to get Coffin's book about shirt making. Thanks for all the info.
6/5/08 10:08 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Hi again -- not to get nitpicky, but I just noticed that the Burdastyle pattern number for the Jakob shirt is actually - 6013 -. ;)
9/9/08 12:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Kwik Sew 3421

photo
by: Judy Kski

Review
Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Other Newborn Fitted Diaper

photo
by: Terri A

Review