Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7842 - Type:Mens - Jackets    printable version
Viewed 438 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:jkaori
photo
About jkaoristar
CA USA
Member since: 12/8/07
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/08 9:37 AM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Mens - Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jacqui315 said...
Excellent work! I want to attempt a sports jacket for my son.
6/4/08 9:59 AM
Irene Q said...
Welcome to Pattern Review - and what a beautiful coat!
6/4/08 10:24 AM
michellep74 said...
Wow, this is a gorgeous jacket! Congrats on your first review at PR!
6/4/08 10:36 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Great-looking jacket! Your effort surely paid off well.
6/4/08 10:41 AM
Elona said...
Very, very handsome jacket!
6/4/08 10:54 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Awesome! I know to tailor correctly is time consuming - about how many hours would you estimate it took you from start to finish?
6/4/08 11:33 AM
Erica B. said...
What a great jacket! Very well done!
6/4/08 12:11 PM
Beek said...
I am impressed! Men's tailoring is SO much more difficult than Women's. Beautiful job. My husband will want one if he sees this!
6/4/08 2:26 PM
wvsher said...
Gorgeous, expertly tailored jacket. It looks marvelous on him.
6/4/08 4:08 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Oustanding job on this jacket and I bet your DH will be proud to tell people "My wife made this!"
6/4/08 7:23 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Amazing work, I will have to make sure this stays hidden from my DH, I don't have the patience or skills for mens tailoring. You did a fantastic job.
6/4/08 8:23 PM
jkaori said...
Thank you to everyone for your kind comments! I've really enjoyed reading all of the great reviews here, and have learned a lot in the process, so I was pleased to finally be able to contribute as well. In answer to Luckylibbet's question, it took a bit over 100 hours, but that included time spent reviewing techniques and stepping back to think about what I would do next. I think the next jacket will take less time.
6/4/08 9:50 PM
kathi s said...
What a beautiful fitting job you did. I am so impressed with your DH's jacket.
6/4/08 11:30 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Welcome to posting on PR. I hope you will post often so we can see your beautiful work. Your jacket is fantastic. I should know.... I was in tailoring class with you!
6/5/08 0:56 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Wonderful! Thanks for the review! I don't know if I'll ever get brave enough to tailor for My Sweet Baboo, but I'm going to put this pattern on the 'get!' list...just in case... ;) Hope you get into the pattern reviewing habit!
6/5/08 10:08 AM
Graydon77 said...
Just wondering, what tailoring book were you using to help? I'm still new to sewing but I'm really interested in doing my first jacket. I bought this particular pattern and I want to be as careful as possible.
6/12/10 0:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers Book Knit pants
photo
Review by Ahuva on 1/12/06
Read Review

Butterick 5678 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5678 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 2842 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 2842 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 7976
photo
Review by Karen8320 on 8/23/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us