SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1025 (Misses Dress Anne Klein)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1071 times 
Reviewed by:Blooms
photo

 
 
About Bloomsstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/2/06
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/6/08 8:09 AM
Last Updated:6/6/08 8:12 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dingyadi said...
That does look great on you - it is a very sophisticated dress. Can I ask you where you buy your fabric? I am in Perth and the fabric shops have dwindled dramatically, we are left with a couple of Lincrafts, Spotlight and Textile Traders. Not a lot of inspiring fabric options. The wool lycra you used looks gorgeous and a great choice for that style.
6/6/08 8:55 AM
Re Becca said...
Sounds like quite a journey. You should be proud of the results. I would have given up some time ago. You have a beautiful dress to show for all your time. This looks really good.
6/6/08 10:53 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
Wow - what a ton of alterations - that would be mind boggling to me! You did a great job and I'm really impressed with how lovely it came out!
6/6/08 1:10 PM
Blooms said...
Hello dingyadi...I am in Townsville, and we only have Spotlight, so I buy most my fabrics over the internet. This piece was from emmaonesock.com
6/6/08 5:24 PM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely a sizzling dress on you: the enticing color and sharp style! Your experience with this pattern is highly admirable. Kudos to you for making everything work!
6/6/08 11:48 PM
Annette1 said...
You HAVE to wear this dress. You're a vision in it, truly. You're so pretty, you remind me of a Greek goddess or maybe even the lady on a cameo. :o) Wear it with pride, not only for all the fitting expertise it took to get there, but for the VISION it is in its finished state!
6/7/08 1:29 AM
Morisot said...
Annette1 - funny! That is exactly the first thing that popped into my mind too, "Greek goddess"
6/7/08 1:49 PM
mikpit said...
Dear Blooms - this is a lovely dress! I made it in sage green silk and used a really wide white belt which made it a little more casual. You might try a straw or jute colored belt to make yours more versatile. I love the way the burgundy turned out.
6/18/08 10:08 AM
sewrose said...
Hi, I'm wondering if you still like your dress?? Your comments on PR were very helpful. I'm thinking about doing this in velvet. This design was on the cover of Threads in the U.S.
11/22/08 2:18 PM
sewbarbie said...
Congratulations, the dress looks very nice on you! I am almost finished with mine and like you found that it was huge. I had to take in quite a bit. It is pretty, but lots of fitting is necessary. I did it in plum wool crepe and it helps to be able to stretch and shrink the fabric.
11/24/08 2:29 AM
Blooms said...
Hello Sewrose, I do like my dress...it looks better with a wide belt than the ribbon I have in the photo. I was excited to see the dress on the cover of Threads...dare I say, I like mine better than their velvet version...but I guess we all like our own sewing.
1/1/09 2:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 9949 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Buy Now