Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2007-112 (Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 546 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:blue mooney
photo
About blue mooneystarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 12/21/02
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/14/08 1:06 PM
Last Updated:6/14/08 7:43 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patti B said...
I like it! And I don't think the placement of the flowers on the front skirt is a problem. The location of the pleats is slimming.
6/14/08 9:20 PM
rivergum said...
Lovely looking dress! I bet it is very cool and comfortable to wear.
6/14/08 9:58 PM
piffle said...
very nice! I love your fabric choice.
6/14/08 10:15 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Such a pretty dress, and the fabric is just gorgeous! I think you did a fine job with the placement of the print - it doesn't look "off" to me, just pretty! :)
6/14/08 11:05 PM
michellep74 said...
Very pretty dress! I love your interpretation of the original design--you translated it nicely to a summer dress. It looks great on you!
6/14/08 11:28 PM
CarolynGM said...
The print placements looks just fine to me. Looks like a well drafted pattern -- I especially like the absence of pleats on the sides. Good choice for your first dress in 10 years.
6/15/08 7:10 AM
Ronda Rae said...
I really like this! It look great on. Great marriage of pattern and fabric, too.
6/15/08 9:07 AM
Beek said...
You look great in this lovely dress. YOur placement of the flowers are perfect and that point you made about the pleats located in the CF and CB makes sense!
6/15/08 10:06 AM
Heatherrique said...
Ooh la la! Your dress is extraordinarily beautiful! You look spectacular and I love the style!
6/15/08 11:03 AM
Kay Y said...
This is just beautiful! It makes me want a dress just like it.
6/15/08 11:19 AM
PVA said...
Oh, I *Love* it -- the fabric, the way you used the print -- the soft-summery look -- thanks so much for this review.
6/15/08 11:34 AM
Irene Q said...
I wasn't impressed with the dress in the magazine, but I love your garden party version!! I'm a borderline "tall", too, so the review was really helpful.
6/15/08 1:28 PM
ncegbu said...
Your dress looks great. Thanks for the review. I assumed it was a knit, but I see you did it in linen. I will have to try this one out. -Nneka
6/15/08 2:22 PM
Mahler said...
I lllloooovvvveee the fabric you chose. This is such a great dress.
6/15/08 8:50 PM
OP Gal said...
Very pretty, and the colors are luscious. I especially like the way you've centered the motif in the front. I think the front skirt looks fine.
6/15/08 11:09 PM
Annette1 said...
Wow, first dress in a decade, and a fine looking one at that! It's very flattering, and I particularly like your placement of the print on the bodice.
6/16/08 0:06 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Love that linen print - you're FINE already with the placement - and it looks so good on you! Congrats on the first dress in a decade!
6/16/08 11:47 AM
nicegirl said...
Your version is so much cuter than I pictured from the BWOF photo! Now I wish I was tall. Not for the first time.
6/16/08 1:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 2766
photo
Review by homejewel on 11/1/09
Read Review

Burda 2471 Pattern
Burda 2471 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5644 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5644 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7044
photo
Review by Sandi S on 12/22/10
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)
Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us