Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2957 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 742 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:pkimny
photo
About pkimny
Member since: 2/12/08
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/15/08 8:34 PM


See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Fantastic dress, you did a wonderful job. Congrats on your first review.
6/15/08 8:54 PM
Immelu said...
Congratulations! That dress looks great on you!
6/15/08 9:43 PM
Gelbean said...
Your dress looks lovely on you.
6/15/08 9:56 PM
Sweetiebop said...
You did it! Great informative review with pictures and explanations everything. Beautiful dress and I agree shortening it does add to the va-va-voom of the dress. Your work looks excellent try another pattern you can do it.
6/15/08 10:13 PM
Patti B said...
This is a great looking dress and one you will always remember. Welcome to the PR community!
6/15/08 10:30 PM
Kay Y said...
Your dress looks fabulous. You have every reason to be thrilled!
6/15/08 10:42 PM
Vivienne said...
Wow - that dress looks more Cavalli than beginner! Very nice work and excellent pattern+fabric combo.
6/15/08 10:44 PM
pkimny said...
Thank you so much for your encouraging words - patternreview is just amazing.
6/15/08 11:19 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
Great first review and wonderful dress. I want to get that pattern now! You did a great job and I agree with you that creating something beautiful, fitted, and wearable is thrilling!
6/15/08 11:34 PM
tashainflorence said...
Awesome, great job. Thanks for the review.
6/16/08 2:52 AM
Kath in ON said...
Great dress!
6/16/08 7:13 AM
Gold said...
Nice job!It looks fantastic on you!
6/16/08 8:16 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Cute!! Great job. It looks wonderful on you.
6/16/08 8:19 AM
donna mel said...
what a great dress. i love the fabric.
6/16/08 9:11 AM
kjcaron said...
Pretty dress! It came out really nice and looks great on you.
6/16/08 9:19 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That is a great looking dress - you did a fabulous job!
6/16/08 10:45 AM
Beve said...
You're a beginner? No way! Great choice of fabric for the pattern, great dress and great job!
6/16/08 11:42 AM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous dress! I love your fabric. I started sewing about a year ago, and I'm completely addicted now for the exact reasons that you specified. Welcome to PR and congrats on your first review!
6/16/08 1:09 PM
mochalover said...
Nice job and I love your fabric choice.
6/16/08 1:37 PM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely amazing and eyecatching!
6/16/08 1:51 PM
edupraz said...
Great job! Love your dress!
6/16/08 8:31 PM
Dawnsews said...
great review! I too was a lurker, I just started to participate myself. I have this in my stash. This review(and that material) makes me want to pull it out and get to work!
6/24/08 9:25 PM
dr. liz said...
Terrific job! Looks like you have this one down pat. I'd have never known it was made by a beginner. You should feel proud!
6/26/08 10:44 PM
misscoleen said...
Really nice dress. Looks great on you! And no I don't think thrilling is too dramatic of a word. I can totally relate to your feelings on sewing :)
6/27/08 10:56 AM
kellymailinglist said...
You certainly didn't need to make any other adjustments--it looks like a great fit, and well-sewn. I hope you enjoy adventuring out to try other patterns!
6/28/08 9:53 AM
shesflipped said...
Way to go! This dress fits you perfectly, and is made even more striking by the black and white print! Loved reading your review~I think thrilling is an appropriate word when your discover sewing!
6/29/08 8:16 AM
sb1280 said...
This is a terrific dress! Great choice of fabric - you look great in it! I think the hem hits perfectly, good choice. Can't believe it's the first pattern you've made! Great work!
7/1/08 9:00 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous dress and your first pattern too! Fantastic result!
7/2/08 7:16 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely dress. Your fabric is very fun. The dress looks great and very wearable. Congratulations on your dress, following the pattern, and your new sewing hobby.
7/5/08 12:01 PM
CarolynGM said...
Simple pattern from great fabric is always a good recipe for success. Your dress looks wonderful.
7/5/08 5:05 PM
Athene said...
A great dress. I love the giraffe print.
7/6/08 2:25 AM
cindy-lou said...
Hi pkimmy-- I searched this pattern and came up with your dress. BEAUTIFUL! Are you sure you haven't been doing this for a long time??? Thanks for the review-- I will search this one out.
7/7/08 8:09 AM
Darla in PA said...
Cute dress! I hope you're wearing red shoes with it.
7/7/08 8:05 PM
Sew What Teri said...
This is a great looking dress, it doesn't look like a beginner dress at all. Seeing the finished project, I would buy the pattern as an easy way to expand my wardrobe. I often avoid the beginner type patterns as they often look home made, this certainly doesn't!
7/9/08 5:54 PM
SheriF said...
This turned out great. Good luck with your future projects.
7/11/08 6:57 PM
Iwannasew said...
You have convinced me to try this pattern! I am also a beginner and easily confused by pattern instructions, but your very informative review and your beautiful dress give me courage! Thanks.
7/15/08 12:26 PM
Joanne624 said...
What a pretty dress - you did a GREAT job!
6/4/09 5:34 AM
fantasytartans said...
Hey you need to keep up the good work. Your dress ROCKS big time. I have been sewing since I was 12 but lost confidence and am starting again. Its So Easy Pattern is a great way to do just that. I look forward to seeing more of your work!
7/5/09 11:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Simplicity 4237 Bubble Skirt
photo
Review by DorothyK on 9/7/08
Read Review

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

In-House Blossom Digital Pattern
In-House Blossom Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8196 easy tops
photo
Review by Kristine K... on 3/30/08
Read Review

Jalie 3246 Pattern
Jalie 3246 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1003 Pattern ( Size 22 )
Vogue 1003 Pattern ( Size 22 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us