SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2957 (Misses Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 746 times 
Reviewed by:pkimny
photo

 
 
About pkimny
Member since: 2/12/08
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/15/08 8:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Fantastic dress, you did a wonderful job. Congrats on your first review.
6/15/08 8:54 PM
Immelu said...
Congratulations! That dress looks great on you!
6/15/08 9:43 PM
Gelbean said...
Your dress looks lovely on you.
6/15/08 9:56 PM
Sweetiebop said...
You did it! Great informative review with pictures and explanations everything. Beautiful dress and I agree shortening it does add to the va-va-voom of the dress. Your work looks excellent try another pattern you can do it.
6/15/08 10:13 PM
Patti B said...
This is a great looking dress and one you will always remember. Welcome to the PR community!
6/15/08 10:30 PM
Kay Y said...
Your dress looks fabulous. You have every reason to be thrilled!
6/15/08 10:42 PM
Vivienne said...
Wow - that dress looks more Cavalli than beginner! Very nice work and excellent pattern+fabric combo.
6/15/08 10:44 PM
pkimny said...
Thank you so much for your encouraging words - patternreview is just amazing.
6/15/08 11:19 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
Great first review and wonderful dress. I want to get that pattern now! You did a great job and I agree with you that creating something beautiful, fitted, and wearable is thrilling!
6/15/08 11:34 PM
tashainflorence said...
Awesome, great job. Thanks for the review.
6/16/08 2:52 AM
Kath in ON said...
Great dress!
6/16/08 7:13 AM
Gold said...
Nice job!It looks fantastic on you!
6/16/08 8:16 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Cute!! Great job. It looks wonderful on you.
6/16/08 8:19 AM
donna mel said...
what a great dress. i love the fabric.
6/16/08 9:11 AM
kjcaron said...
Pretty dress! It came out really nice and looks great on you.
6/16/08 9:19 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That is a great looking dress - you did a fabulous job!
6/16/08 10:45 AM
Beve said...
You're a beginner? No way! Great choice of fabric for the pattern, great dress and great job!
6/16/08 11:42 AM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous dress! I love your fabric. I started sewing about a year ago, and I'm completely addicted now for the exact reasons that you specified. Welcome to PR and congrats on your first review!
6/16/08 1:09 PM
mochalover said...
Nice job and I love your fabric choice.
6/16/08 1:37 PM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely amazing and eyecatching!
6/16/08 1:51 PM
edupraz said...
Great job! Love your dress!
6/16/08 8:31 PM
Dawnsews said...
great review! I too was a lurker, I just started to participate myself. I have this in my stash. This review(and that material) makes me want to pull it out and get to work!
6/24/08 9:25 PM
dr. liz said...
Terrific job! Looks like you have this one down pat. I'd have never known it was made by a beginner. You should feel proud!
6/26/08 10:44 PM
misscoleen said...
Really nice dress. Looks great on you! And no I don't think thrilling is too dramatic of a word. I can totally relate to your feelings on sewing :)
6/27/08 10:56 AM
kellymailinglist said...
You certainly didn't need to make any other adjustments--it looks like a great fit, and well-sewn. I hope you enjoy adventuring out to try other patterns!
6/28/08 9:53 AM
shesflipped said...
Way to go! This dress fits you perfectly, and is made even more striking by the black and white print! Loved reading your review~I think thrilling is an appropriate word when your discover sewing!
6/29/08 8:16 AM
sb1280 said...
This is a terrific dress! Great choice of fabric - you look great in it! I think the hem hits perfectly, good choice. Can't believe it's the first pattern you've made! Great work!
7/1/08 9:00 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous dress and your first pattern too! Fantastic result!
7/2/08 7:16 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely dress. Your fabric is very fun. The dress looks great and very wearable. Congratulations on your dress, following the pattern, and your new sewing hobby.
7/5/08 12:01 PM
CarolynGM said...
Simple pattern from great fabric is always a good recipe for success. Your dress looks wonderful.
7/5/08 5:05 PM
Athene said...
A great dress. I love the giraffe print.
7/6/08 2:25 AM
cindy-lou said...
Hi pkimmy-- I searched this pattern and came up with your dress. BEAUTIFUL! Are you sure you haven't been doing this for a long time??? Thanks for the review-- I will search this one out.
7/7/08 8:09 AM
Darla in PA said...
Cute dress! I hope you're wearing red shoes with it.
7/7/08 8:05 PM
Sew What Teri said...
This is a great looking dress, it doesn't look like a beginner dress at all. Seeing the finished project, I would buy the pattern as an easy way to expand my wardrobe. I often avoid the beginner type patterns as they often look home made, this certainly doesn't!
7/9/08 5:54 PM
SheriF said...
This turned out great. Good luck with your future projects.
7/11/08 6:57 PM
Iwannasew said...
You have convinced me to try this pattern! I am also a beginner and easily confused by pattern instructions, but your very informative review and your beautiful dress give me courage! Thanks.
7/15/08 12:26 PM
Joanne624 said...
What a pretty dress - you did a GREAT job!
6/4/09 5:34 AM
fantasytartans said...
Hey you need to keep up the good work. Your dress ROCKS big time. I have been sewing since I was 12 but lost confidence and am starting again. Its So Easy Pattern is a great way to do just that. I look forward to seeing more of your work!
7/5/09 11:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Burda 7176

photo
by: CraftAddic...

Review

Pattern

Butterick 5600

photo
by: nickelc624

Review
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now