SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 74692-1001 (Raglan Zip-up Jacket)

Viewed 341 times 
Reviewed by:Richy
photo

 
 
About Richystar
MA USA
Member since: 10/6/06
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/1/09 9:49 PM
Last Updated:1/1/09 9:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
Ooooo, I love your choice of fabric and buttons! This is going to be one sharp jacket when it's done. Can't wait to see it! I wonder if Kwik Sew has any smaller men's patterns? I don't know why I think of them, other than I can picture several of their men's patterns as I'm sitting here. I think I'll check it out, just for curiousity's sake!
6/17/08 4:36 PM
MaryBeth said...
Love those buttons!
6/17/08 5:30 PM
Nancy K said...
I am impressed and envious that you can draft such a great looking pattern. Your fabric choice and those terrific buttons are going to make wonderful jacket. Can't wait to see it finished?
6/17/08 6:01 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
Well, the muslin looks great!! Your pattern drafing skills are impressive. Your planned jacket sounds fabulous, I am looking forward to seeing it.
6/17/08 8:52 PM
anncie1 said...
NICE! Will definately check back on the finished project. Liked the chair too. I remember reading your review.
6/18/08 2:09 AM
Kathleen Fasanella said...
This is shaping up quite nicely. My BIL has the same problem.
6/18/08 11:23 AM
bananaoil said...
I like your jacket, it is truly stylish combining the traditional menswear plaid with the sportswear design; quite edgy.
1/1/09 9:56 PM
Kay Y said...
Your jacket looks great!
1/1/09 10:32 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Nice jacket - very stylish! The plaid lines match perfectly!!! Great job drafting the pattern.
1/1/09 11:05 PM
cabinbaby said...
Great jacket! I love the subtle pattern on this. You may want to try Jalie or Kwiksew patterns. I have the same problem and I use their kids' sizes. I just looked at the Kwiksew patterns and their XL Boy's chest size is 32". You'll have to do some tweaking but it might be a place to start.
1/1/09 11:10 PM
Laurasews said...
You are very talented. My son wants a sewing machine...you inspire me to give in!
1/1/09 11:14 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Great jacket, wonderful details and very nice review. Thanks.
1/1/09 11:28 PM
Sew4Fun said...
What a fabulous jacket! You did a wonderful job on the drafting. It's so nice to see such a fashionable men's casual jacket. You're right about the variety of men's patterns being laughable. Well done!
1/1/09 11:57 PM
Karen8320 said...
Great work Richy! This is one very smart looking jacket and your fabric and buttons are good choices. I'm impressed by your pattern drafting skills and look forward to seeing more of your creations.
1/2/09 0:26 AM
MammaJamma said...
You did a fabulous job!!! So neat and so classic, yet very current. I would like to know more about drafting men's patterns. Did you use a jacket you already wear? Did you use a workable pattern outline from another project? I agree with your opinion on availablility of men's patterns.
1/2/09 1:36 AM
anetJay said...
Great looking jacket !!! I love the fabric :)
1/2/09 6:03 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Terrific jacket! love the buttons and the pop of the blue thread on the buttonholes - did you line it and if yes with what?
1/2/09 8:02 AM
Sharon1952 said...
Beautiful job. I love the little cuff detail with the tabs coming forward. Great job on the buttonholes too.
1/2/09 8:57 AM
Woolygal said...
I am impressed. This is very professional looking.
1/2/09 9:11 AM
Richy said...
MammaJamma, men's pattern drafting I think is a bit easier because you don't really need to worry about darts. I used a lot of the measurements off of another jacket because it fit me so well. Making the muslin really helped especially with the sleeves. Luckylibbet, it is not lined but I found some bias tape in the same color as the buttonholes so I used that to cover the raw edges (I didn't have an overlock machine at the time). It looks really cool to see the splash of color when the jacket is off but it does make it a bit stiff in the armholes...
1/2/09 9:15 AM
nellc said...
Great jacket, I love the combination of the suit fabric and sporty styling and the buttons are a wonderful detail.
1/2/09 10:53 AM
amy in mpls said...
fantastic! im working on that BBW raglan jacket as a gift. Its great to see how you translated it for a mans pattern. I love your button addition. nice work!
1/2/09 11:42 AM
marec said...
This is a very strong piece-I love it. You are right about men's patterns-gad! And the sizing?! Your jacket is very nice-great job.
1/2/09 11:59 AM
shesflipped said...
Fabulous Jacket! Love the fabric, the pop of color on the buttonholes, and the very unique buttons. Thanks for sharing your work with us!
1/2/09 12:01 PM
charleneand2 said...
This jacket is amazing. The fabric and design are so compelling. Congratulations on a job well done!
1/2/09 12:36 PM
michellep74 said...
Great looking jacket! If I could draft a jacket, I know that my fiance would love something like this.
1/2/09 1:20 PM
Lady_Mame said...
That's really slick-- can we get a pic of it on a person?
1/3/09 2:19 PM
jamesosews said...
That is one great jacket. Excellent job with the design details, the blue buttonholes in particular. It's always interesting when you find great suiting fabric and give it a non-suit view. Great workmanship on the jacket! You're so right about men's patterns. I have the opposite issue when it comes to fit; 52 inch chest and 36 inch waist. Patterns are impossible. I draft my own as well. It's easier to do that than to take the design of someone else, take it apart, and put it back together. By the time you've hacked the pattern to pieces and taped it back together, it never quite works out the way you hope. You can only increase/decrease so much. Nothing makes buttonholes like those old buttonholers. My Bernina one-step buttonholes are quick, easy, and still just not the same. I usually work buttonholes with my old Kenmore and the attachment.
1/4/09 7:52 PM
HLT said...
Superb job on this jacket!!! Excellent and extra special details!
1/8/09 9:09 AM
Christas said...
VERY stylish jacket! Your drafting looks perfect! Your fabric choices are also very wonderful.
1/12/09 8:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Buy Now
Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now