SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Stretch & Sew> 1327 (Sun and Swim Suit)

Viewed 613 times 
Reviewed by:LuceLu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LuceLustar
NY USA
Member since: 8/4/06
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/30/08 11:08 PM
Last Updated:9/30/08 11:46 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kizilod said...
Thanks for the great review. I just got this pattern in the mail today, and was thrilled to see that it has separate pattern pieces for A, B, C & D cup sizes!
7/14/13 11:52 AM
sewing for fun said...
LOVE the second suit - fabric AND style! Kwik Sew's book on sewing swimwear is also an excellent one to learn on. I have done a bunch of swimsuits and love to sew them - fast and rewarding and inexpensive. There are places to get good swimwear bra cups (nice soft seamless ones.) Needle Nook Fabrics sells them - see their blog for phone number.
1/4/10 10:28 PM
LornaJay said...
Great review - you have given me several chuckles (mostly of fellow feeling!) and a great deal of encouragement.
10/8/08 4:14 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Your suits keep getting better and better! Nothing like a good color to help fade out any little elastic problems :-). I've had plantar fasciitis - the cure is Birkenstocks. Wear them at all waking moments, but also keep them right by the bed so you have to slide right into them even if you're just getting up for a 3am pee - it'll keep the cold stiff tendons from getting reinjured every morning. And when you're better, remember to stretch the Achilles tendons, which otherwise pull on those plantar ones. I had it for 2 years once, really a pain, but when I read this right-out-of-bed trick the last time only lasted 2 weeks. I also think Crocs would have enough arch support too, if your feet are a bit flat like mine. Good luck!
10/2/08 4:21 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
You are on your way to a TNT pattern! For a swimsuit even!! Have you really looked at the workmanship on a RTW swimsuit? Their seams aren't all that straight either and the topstiching looks wonky, too. I think we tend to look at our garments with a microscope and willingly accept whatever RTW offers.
10/2/08 11:10 AM
Bernie R. said...
I LOVE your reviews -- funny, very detailed. I learn so much!!
10/1/08 11:17 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Oh, your water park description is a hoot! Hannah Montana..oh my. I don't feel so bad for skipping them this summer now :)
10/1/08 0:13 AM
snapdragonfly said...
i really like this suit. never forget its not the number on the label it is how it fits (and this suit fits and suits you very well). you made it sound quite manageable and think I should swallow my fears and make one soon, swimming could reverse my over 40 slow down too. Thank you for the inspiration.
7/12/08 8:02 AM
Bernie R. said...
LuceLu -- You're beautiful and so is the suit you made! You look just like me, only I'm a brunette. I know EXACTLY how you feel about 40+ and gaining weight. I'm struggling too -- I gave up wheat and dairy and GAINED weight. I refuse to go back into a store to try on a suit. Never again! You've inspired me to try my first swimsuit!! Thank you and be kind to yourself. At least you're TRYING!!
7/9/08 0:03 AM
SewTwin said...
Yea!I would say you have more pluses than negatives going for you! Positives:1.You have the grit to do both, get out there while losing weight, and sew for yourself(better than RTW fit, even with the stitching(that improves with practice, and the right feet/materials)Spray stabilizers work wonders on slippery fabrics.2.Exercise/diet will also help lose weight, while losing.3.You did your first swimsuit, so it is downhill from here!4.You beat the other half of the population that have more to lose than you!...I lost 43 lbs on Weight Watchers, but it is mainly recording daily what you eat, revising what you eat, and exercising..There is a "cheater" chicken soup Weight Watcher uses that I can send you if you are interested.. You go girl!!
7/7/08 7:17 PM
Annette1 said...
GREAT JOB on your bathing suit! You look GREAT! I really like that style, too, very flattering. Thanks for a great review.
6/23/08 4:57 PM
jhansby said...
The lines of this suit look really nice on you!! I just love it! And I know what you mean about the 40+ metabolism...I also have a bad thyroid which makes it 10X worse! keep up the good work!!
6/20/08 5:07 PM
illinicrna said...
I think you did a fabulous job!
6/20/08 2:59 PM
illinicrna said...
I think you did a fabulous job!
6/20/08 2:59 PM
Stitchcakes said...
Really cute! If you can succeed here, then you will probably love doing a Kwik Sew with good fabric! This is a great style, tho! And I love the color.
6/20/08 9:37 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, I'm in awe. If you can sew a bathing suit, then you can do anything you set your mind to!!
6/20/08 8:50 AM
donna mel said...
great job! you look great. go out there and enjoy life!
6/20/08 7:37 AM
SusiM said...
That's a beautiful style and it looks very nice. Looks like you did a great job on this.
6/20/08 1:19 AM
Karen8320 said...
LuceLu, you've done a great job!!! I think this style looks good on you. You are a REAL woman and it's great to see how this fits you. You are doing great with all of the techniques you are trying and you will inevitably be even happier with your next suit when your skills improve. Keep at it!!! Your review is very helpful for the rest of us.
6/19/08 9:35 PM
Annika said...
I too had problems buying swimsuits that I felt good in. I applaud your fantastic efforts!
6/19/08 4:52 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Good work! You'll probably have to move to better-quality fabric soon, as you'll find that el cheapo from Joanne's lasts about 3 dippings ;-). And you might try doing it all with clear polurethane elastic, it works pretty well for me, better than the stiff stuff anyway. Did you know there is a Stretch And Sew book about sewing swimwear? Almost everything I know I learned in there..
6/19/08 1:56 PM
sewbehind said...
Looks great! Good luck to you in all that you wish for.
6/19/08 11:38 AM
chacha45 said...
Good work, LuceLu. Seeing all the humor and determination that you have, I know you will achieve whatever you go for! I look forward to reading your review on the finished product.
6/19/08 10:44 AM
strasfamily said...
Great review! I think your swimsuit looks georgous. Can't wait to see the others.
6/19/08 10:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8669

photo
by: pegsewer

Review
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

More Info
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

More Info