Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 12720-1000 (Swimwear) - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 358 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Karen8320
photo
Friend of PR
About Karen8320star
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/14/04
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/19/08 10:09 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MelC said...
Wow! I absolutely love what you did. You created a great swimsuit that you look marvelous in. I agree with your comment about real women wearing garments in reviews. I find it so much more helpful!
6/19/08 10:31 AM
sewbehind said...
You look great in your new swimsuit. Like your additional options too. Does the zipper cause irritation when you are swimming?
6/19/08 10:38 AM
MissCelie said...
Pretty fab Karen. I'm just starting to make my own suits to and this was very inspirational. I looove the starbust look of it too!
6/19/08 10:48 AM
Olivia Sews said...
There is such a big mark up on RTW swimsuits!! Great job! Did you line your suits?
6/19/08 11:38 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Well done! Beautiful suits and great review, thank you. It just might be the inspiration I need to try making my own.
6/19/08 11:53 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Great job! I am inspired. Thanks for the great review!
6/19/08 12:29 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Good for you! Having a good source for fabric (and elastic) is I think the most important in swimwear. If you're feeling a bit stuck for inspiration, have you seen another Australian site http://www.patternschool.com/lazyswim.shtml A bit 80s in style mostly, but lots of things to adapt..
6/19/08 1:48 PM
LuceLu said...
Wow, I am in total awe. I am just learning sewing bathing suits. This is very helpful. You look great.
6/19/08 2:38 PM
tatterbat said...
Great suit, and how great of you to pose in it! I agree, seeing things on real people is a huge help. Does the zipper give any irritation when worn?
6/19/08 3:17 PM
Karen8320 said...
Thank you all for your very kind comments. Sewobsessed: No, I didn't line any of these suits, however it would be easy to do so. The fabric, though, is fairly sturdy and not at all see-through. Sewbehind and Tatterbat: No, the zipper doesn't cause me any irritation at all when I'm swimming. I also don't have a problem with it pulling or feeling tight when I'm doing tumble turns. The only thing I did with the zip was to sew a small square of fabric over the metal clasp at the bottom of the zip on the inside and that was to guard against any irritation from that bit. Other than that, I have had no problems at all. Fuzzygalore: Thanks for your advice. I will have a look at that website.
6/19/08 9:21 PM
mastdenman said...
Nice swimsuits. You look great.
6/19/08 9:54 PM
Annette1 said...
Weeeeeelllllll, Miss Priss, you look GREAT in your new suit! I would have NEVER thought of putting a zipper in a suit, but what a great idea! I REALLY like that one with the shades of brown spliced into the middle -- AND the orange one. :o) I like the high neck, too. I'm always eyeing swimsuits, looking for that style, as if I'd ever actually be caught dead in one anyway -- ha! Maybe with a cover-up though! Swimsuits are RIDICULOUS in price, and you've saved yourself a fortune AND you look BETTER than you would in ready-to-wear. Just think, you can do ANYTHING YOU WANT. What about RUCHING? Wouldn't that be pretty? I'm big on RUCHING, you know. :o)) I even like the word "RUCHING." GREAT JOB!
6/20/08 0:40 AM
Jane S said...
Karen, bravo to you for tackling a swimsuit and extra kudos for encouraging all of us to show our clothes on real bodies. I'm impressed with how much sewing you get done...and now I find out you swim thee times a week, wow.
6/20/08 8:53 AM
snapdragonfly said...
Sewing gold! you rate this as easy and great for beginners, so why am I frightened of sewing swimsuit fabric? I love all the design variations you have tried, top marks for the real woman inside them too.
6/20/08 2:45 PM
Heatherrique said...
;-{}Ahhhhhhhhhhhh! Karen, you look amazing and would drive those Baywatch babes off the shoreline! Your swimsuit has that ultra sizzling and flattering design!You've inspired me to venture into self-drafting! Thanks for sharing
6/20/08 3:49 PM
Membear said...
well dfone . I also swim alot and am having terrible trouble with fabrics and chlorine . How didi you finish the arm neck and leg hole ?? I would be verinterested to see that .
6/24/08 0:07 AM
SewTwin said...
Double WOWZER!!I am envious of the swimsuite reviews!I agree on the REAL woman in the review.This site is for our sewing buddies, but you could be on Oprah's real women getting out there!My DH has been trying to get me to go to the new YMCA down the street!I may have to check that out!I get tons of mags this time of the year, J Crew, Dilliard's,Macy's, Victoria Secret, you could steal their design ideas!Go forth & conquer!
7/7/08 7:30 PM
Slyvchan said...
Absolutely fabulous splicing! Love it!
5/17/09 2:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Butterick 4290 T Shirt tops
photo
Review by Sandi S on 2/27/09
Read Review

Burda 9448 Pattern
Burda 9448 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2318 Pattern( Size S )
Simplicity 2318 Pattern( Size S )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3095 jacket
photo
Review by shard on 4/24/04
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.10
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us