Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2008-127 (Shawl collar jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 693 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:jkaori
photo
About jkaoristar
CA USA
Member since: 12/8/07
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/08 10:01 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yorkshire lass said...
Wow, gorgeous work. I loved this jacket as soon as I saw it in the magazine. Your version is absolutely beautiful, much better than the magazine version.
6/20/08 10:26 AM
Heatherrique said...
Sharp and distinctively chic jacket!
6/20/08 10:32 AM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful jacket. Well done!
6/20/08 10:36 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Quality work and it looks great.
6/20/08 10:43 AM
SewKnitYKnot said...
What a beautiful & elegant jacket! It looks fabulous!
6/20/08 10:48 AM
Elona said...
What a handsome jacket!
6/20/08 11:02 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
What an exquisite jacket. I loved the pattern as soon as I saw it, and have been hoping someone would make it. Your attention to detail makes this really special.
6/20/08 11:08 AM
sewnsew43 said...
Beautiful jacket.
6/20/08 11:17 AM
MissCelie said...
This is exquisite. It's amazing the difference the tailoring techniques make.
6/20/08 11:21 AM
Lynnelle said...
Very well done. Nice jacket.
6/20/08 11:56 AM
VtMartha said...
What gorgeous garments you make!
6/20/08 12:05 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous jacket. Stunning work!
6/20/08 12:27 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Impeccable job! I love the fabrics.
6/20/08 12:54 PM
ALY said...
Your jacket is lovely. I especially like how it looks in the matelasse fabric.
6/20/08 1:06 PM
Lori V said...
What a beautiful jacket.
6/20/08 1:21 PM
2BSewing said...
Stunning and gorgeous! You did a beautiful job with this jacket. Everything is perfect including the sleeves. Glad you left the back belt off...the fabric alone is very unique. Well done.
6/20/08 1:41 PM
jbsew said...
Beautiful!
6/20/08 2:41 PM
Karen6790 said...
Absolutely beautiful. I love your fabric choice, and I agree - a belt would have disrupted the design of the back. You've made something wonderful here.
6/20/08 4:32 PM
nancy2001 said...
Really stunning jacket. I bought this issue so I could make the jacket, but I haven't gotten around to it yet. Your success with this pattern tells me I definitely should.
6/20/08 4:56 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Beautiful suit, and wonderful fabric choices! Thanks for a great review.
6/20/08 5:51 PM
nellc said...
This is a beautiful jacket, I think the textured fabric looks gorgeous.
6/20/08 6:54 PM
Annette1 said...
Beautiful, beautiful jacket. Your fabrics, both fashion fabric and lining, meld into a perfect package. I certainly do admire your workmanship on those pockets, especially in that fabric. They're perfect!
6/20/08 8:19 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Beautiful jacket and workmanship!
6/20/08 8:27 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Gorgeous job. I sure hope you got an A on it (if it's for a grade). The sewing is impeccable- the sleeves are perfect, it's just beautiful.
6/20/08 9:25 PM
Boo97 said...
Wow!!!!
6/20/08 10:09 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Stunning jacket and fabric and a great review too.
6/21/08 0:43 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Stunning - it just screams "expensive"! What a great piece.
6/21/08 2:05 AM
Dei said...
This is absolutely exquisite! What a difference knowing the right techniques can do for a piece.
6/21/08 6:06 AM
Karine said...
Your jacket is truly beautiful. Your attention to detail and professionalism in construction really shows. I can totally see a stunning suit if you had enough fabric for a pencil skirt. Great job!
6/21/08 7:14 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket. Beautiful fabric!
6/21/08 7:37 AM
redside said...
Thank you for this review--the pattern is on my list of things to make. Your jacket is inspiring!
6/21/08 9:11 AM
cindyann said...
Outstanding! Very nice work and that fabric is just gorgeous.
6/21/08 10:30 AM
Elle D said...
Gorgeous jacket, ditto what everyone else has said above. I am so impressed with your work, both sewing and knitting. Your flickr pictures are a treat.
6/21/08 3:51 PM
patrica said...
I just love your jacket, it's so elegent. I have to make this. Great review.
6/21/08 8:09 PM
Karen8320 said...
Fabulous work, Jean. The fabric is lovely and your tailoring techniques have taken this to a very high level. Thanks for a very informative review. Wear this with pride.
6/21/08 8:21 PM
Kbenco said...
Your jacket looks like a million dollars. I think your tailoring techniques really show.
6/23/08 10:48 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I have admired this pattern in the magazine and your version is lovely. Great job.
8/9/08 9:36 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Butterick B4332 Winter Hat
photo
Review by SandraKay1 on 3/8/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2414 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 2414 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6948 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6948 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8534 MISSES' TOP
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 3/30/09
Read Review

Yasmin Yoke Skirt Digital Pattern
Yasmin Yoke Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us