Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: M4817 (6 great looks, 1 easy pattern) thumbsup - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 124 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:heathercampbell29
photo
About heathercampbell29star
Member since: 5/23/08
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/22/08 11:13 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ronda Rae said...
Very adorable. I have made this pattern so I understand the gathering. Although, I have a ruffler with my machine. Since you have a girl, I suggest buying one for your machine. It makes gathering soooo easy! Welcome to PR and great first review. Hope to see more- I love little girls' clothing.
6/22/08 11:38 AM
heathercampbell29 said...
Thanks, Ronda65! I will check out the ruffler foot. I have an older (80's) Pfaff so sometimes finding feet is a bit of a trick. I found PR because DD was asking for disney princess dresses and there are some great reviews of those on here.
6/22/08 2:25 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a delightful and enchanting dress for that lucky little girl! I agree about the tiers and what seems endless gathering! Wonderful first review and looking forward to reading more!
6/22/08 3:16 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
Heatherrique, I read your review before I started sewing and was worried about that bottom tier, but I didn't have any trouble with having enough fabric. The one thing that was a bit unexpected is that you are supposed to cut 3 of the bottom tier and sew them together (I expected 2) so maybe that is why your bottom tier seemed small? Maybe you only cut 2? Anyhow, thanks for the comment!
6/22/08 4:10 PM
pterion said...
This is a very sweet little dress. All the time spent gathering was worth it.
6/22/08 8:10 PM
Annette1 said...
My gosh, that IS a lot of gathering -- ha! -- but so worth it for the resulting twirl factor! Such a cute and summery little dress, I know your daughter will love it.
6/23/08 7:25 PM
Kbenco said...
A really pretty dress, it is great that you could find a fabric similar to that on the pattern envelope to keep your little one happy. Gathering is a pain. I get my girls to help pull up the threads, and 4 or so is a great age for "help"!, then they think they have sewn it themselves. - or maybe I should look for a ruffling foot too, that twirl factor is very important!
6/24/08 9:14 PM
Amanda S. said...
Your girls dresses are so pretty. I have 2 boys and wish I had a little girl to sew for.
6/30/08 3:11 PM
Nancy Anne said...
What a stinkin' cute dress! I am sure your daughter is thrilled with it!
8/18/08 1:01 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

McCall's M5752
photo
Review by Eme on 2/5/09
Read Review

Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8792 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8792 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8876 Misses Dress
photo
Review by valerie se... on 1/7/14
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Versity Cowl Neck Pullover Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Versity Cowl Neck Pullover Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 104 Pattern
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us