SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5400 (MISSES' TWO- PIECE BATHING SUI)

12 more reviews
Viewed 627 times 
Reviewed by:gameCoder
photo

 
 
About gameCoder
CA USA
Member since: 3/22/05
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/23/08 2:58 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Activewear    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nannette brill said...
I'm trying to sew this swimsuit and it is impossible for me to understand that 3/8 of an inch can fit in the very small area of the neckband. To i leave raw edges at the end of the elastic sewing? I know i have to sew the elastic and turn it in and topstitch it, but that leaves me with raw edges. HELP!!!!!!
4/4/09 7:06 PM
tucci4me said...
I commend you for your perseverance. I made the same suit from this pattern and also found the sizing and elastic lengths to be too large. Instead of ripping though I was able to give my first one to my SIL and start over for myself.
7/12/08 12:10 PM
mewiththree said...
Well, this cures my desire of wanting to sew a swimsuit! I've never been very good with elastic either! Sometimes, I get it too loose, sometimes I get it too tight! It's just hit or miss with me. And I can see that would be a big problem with a swimsuit!
6/24/08 2:54 PM
Timmithea said...
Swimsuits are difficult to do! The best results I had when making a suit was to take a swimsuit I already had - rip it apart and then make a suit from that pattern. Your final result looks good. Don't give up-it gets easier.
6/24/08 10:10 AM
jcortell said...
I remeber my first swimming suit. I had the maxium stretch vertical, so the suit woudl have fit a snake.
6/24/08 8:24 AM
merteuil said...
Very very nice swimsuit! Makes me wish I was brave enough to attempt a project like this. Well done!
6/23/08 10:43 AM
patrica said...
It looks very nice nice in the photo. I used to make bikini's long time ago, when I was twenty pound lighter. They are not easy to make IMHO.
6/23/08 9:09 AM
JMarie1962 said...
You ended up with a very cute suit. Just sorry you had such trouble getting there! I used to make suits in my teens and remember similar issues. I eventually learned 'my own way'. Next time you see a suit for $30 - $40 each piece, you might reconsider trying another suit :) Nice job!
6/23/08 7:56 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Thanks for the review on this. Your end result looks great, though I'm sorry you had to go through so much trouble to get there!
6/23/08 7:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-104B

photo
by: CypGrl

Review
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

More Info