SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5215 (Modern T shirt Connie Crawford)

24 more reviews
Viewed 898 times 
Reviewed by:Aunt Gail
photo

 
 
About Aunt Gailstar
OR USA
Member since: 4/28/08
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/24/08 5:57 AM
Last Updated:6/24/08 12:55 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maidathome said...
Very helpful hint on the safety pin for the right sides of the fabric. I just did a dress and struggled with the right and wrong sides of each piece.Once you get your alterations done you will have a nice top.Looks good with the tropical shirt.
6/24/08 11:53 AM
Sewing Jane said...
I have made this pattern in a 3x but I used view B for a more fitted look rather than the drop shoulder. I really like the fit. It seems to be the only t-shirt pattern around for the larger sizes. Good luck!
6/24/08 12:02 PM
mis_priss said...
very nice! Thanks for the review. I too find I have to wack off alot with her patterns. I made two jackets from her, and I was sooooo happy that I barely had to adjust the bust points. This is a first for me. I find that I have to adjust her patterns, but I like that she tells you how to do it in the instructions. Good job, hope to hear for you soon, you are alot better at actually getting the reviews online than I am.
6/24/08 1:40 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I like the set you made with your thrift store find. Thanks for detailing your experiences with the Connie Crawford tee pattern. If I buy it I will definitely down size and narrow the shoulders a lot after reading your review.
6/24/08 4:37 PM
moushka said...
Gail, thanks for a very helpful review. One question: the bottom widths on the pattern envelope in the plus sizes are enormous. Are they accurate? For view B, there is a 19.5 inch increase from size XL to size XXL. That seems unbelievable! I'd be interested to know if the pattern envelope matches the pattern tissue, or if you measured the bottom or hip width for yourself and found the printed measurements to be correct. Thanks very much. Sue
6/24/08 10:18 PM
Aunt Gail said...
MOUSHKA -- in answer to your question. View C Finished width on lower edge, the hem. I looked at the pattern again and this is what I see. It doesn't show on the line drawing or on the front of the pattern about how the hem is constructed. The bottom hem of View C is NOT straight. Instead it flows out from the high point at seam edge and down like a huge Scallop in the front and a matching scallop in the back. So the finished edge appears much wider by just looking at the numbers. the pattern looks like front U and Back U. On the actual back of the pattern I have here width for Top c at size XL is 49.5 and for size XXL it is 58.5. This is a difference of 9 inches, not 19.5. The big break comes between the XL and the XXL in terms of body contours. Coni states on her website that All patterns are developed on live models (size 10 for smaller figures and size 2X for larger figures). I hope this helps. For myself as I mentioned in the review, I hacked off bunches of material to get a decent fit. The top shrunk from the 28.75 inches to 23.5 inches in length and I did a more or less straight across finish rather than the UU shaped pattern. My actual finished, hemmed width on lower edge is 48 inches.
6/25/08 2:43 PM
seweibhlin said...
I bought this pattern based on your review and modifications and I am anxious to start it. Thanks for posting it. It is hard to find custom tee shirt patterns with good directions.
7/11/08 1:01 PM
sewerv said...
Comprehensive; very helpful details. Thanks.
10/28/09 10:41 PM
KathySews said...
I might have this pattern in my stash! The drawings are so blah that I tend to overlook her patterns, but it is about the fit isn't it. Great review. Thanks
10/6/13 9:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Simplicity 5946

photo
by: Modiste Ma...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now