Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5215 (Modern T shirt Connie Crawford) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 881 times 24 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Aunt Gail
photo
About Aunt Gailstar
OR USA
Member since: 4/28/08
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/24/08 5:57 AM
Last Updated:6/24/08 12:55 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maidathome said...
Very helpful hint on the safety pin for the right sides of the fabric. I just did a dress and struggled with the right and wrong sides of each piece.Once you get your alterations done you will have a nice top.Looks good with the tropical shirt.
6/24/08 11:53 AM
Sewing Jane said...
I have made this pattern in a 3x but I used view B for a more fitted look rather than the drop shoulder. I really like the fit. It seems to be the only t-shirt pattern around for the larger sizes. Good luck!
6/24/08 12:02 PM
mis_priss said...
very nice! Thanks for the review. I too find I have to wack off alot with her patterns. I made two jackets from her, and I was sooooo happy that I barely had to adjust the bust points. This is a first for me. I find that I have to adjust her patterns, but I like that she tells you how to do it in the instructions. Good job, hope to hear for you soon, you are alot better at actually getting the reviews online than I am.
6/24/08 1:40 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I like the set you made with your thrift store find. Thanks for detailing your experiences with the Connie Crawford tee pattern. If I buy it I will definitely down size and narrow the shoulders a lot after reading your review.
6/24/08 4:37 PM
moushka said...
Gail, thanks for a very helpful review. One question: the bottom widths on the pattern envelope in the plus sizes are enormous. Are they accurate? For view B, there is a 19.5 inch increase from size XL to size XXL. That seems unbelievable! I'd be interested to know if the pattern envelope matches the pattern tissue, or if you measured the bottom or hip width for yourself and found the printed measurements to be correct. Thanks very much. Sue
6/24/08 10:18 PM
Aunt Gail said...
MOUSHKA -- in answer to your question. View C Finished width on lower edge, the hem. I looked at the pattern again and this is what I see. It doesn't show on the line drawing or on the front of the pattern about how the hem is constructed. The bottom hem of View C is NOT straight. Instead it flows out from the high point at seam edge and down like a huge Scallop in the front and a matching scallop in the back. So the finished edge appears much wider by just looking at the numbers. the pattern looks like front U and Back U. On the actual back of the pattern I have here width for Top c at size XL is 49.5 and for size XXL it is 58.5. This is a difference of 9 inches, not 19.5. The big break comes between the XL and the XXL in terms of body contours. Coni states on her website that All patterns are developed on live models (size 10 for smaller figures and size 2X for larger figures). I hope this helps. For myself as I mentioned in the review, I hacked off bunches of material to get a decent fit. The top shrunk from the 28.75 inches to 23.5 inches in length and I did a more or less straight across finish rather than the UU shaped pattern. My actual finished, hemmed width on lower edge is 48 inches.
6/25/08 2:43 PM
seweibhlin said...
I bought this pattern based on your review and modifications and I am anxious to start it. Thanks for posting it. It is hard to find custom tee shirt patterns with good directions.
7/11/08 1:01 PM
sewerv said...
Comprehensive; very helpful details. Thanks.
10/28/09 10:41 PM
KathySews said...
I might have this pattern in my stash! The drawings are so blah that I tend to overlook her patterns, but it is about the fit isn't it. Great review. Thanks
10/6/13 9:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Kwik Sew 3854 Shorts
photo
Review by pterion on 5/20/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6594
photo
Review by SueV on 6/9/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7074 Pattern
Burda 7074 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us