SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3484 (Men's casual shirt)

22 more reviews
Viewed 299 times 
Reviewed by:EveS
photo

 
 
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/08 11:17 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
I think it's a handsome shirt of its type. That stand-less collar is typical of the style, and works just fine for my dh. He, by the way, is a teacher, and has for decades favored Hawaiian shirts for on-the-job wear. He thinks it wakes the kids up (and certainly his fabric choices do!). You ask 'how many Hawaiian prints can (or should) a guy have??' Mine has a couple of dozen I have made him--and I ain't done yet. His closet looks like a rainbow.
6/28/08 0:38 AM
EveS said...
Thank you, Elona. I meant no offense to anyone who wears (or makes) this type of shirt...it's just not a style that DH cares for, nor is it flattering to his body type. Re the Hawaiian prints...DH has exactly one, and he rarely wears it, so I probably wouldn't want to make him more than one more. And as I noted, what REALLY caused the issue was the combination of fabric and pattern (my Mom even confirmed my pj theory). I always worry that DH will wear what I make just so he doesn't hurt my feelings. After being w/ the man for almost 20 yrs, I can guarantee that this is one of those shirts. Again, nothing wrong with the principle of the shirt, but it's just not his personal style so I won't be making him any more.
6/28/08 1:05 AM
Elona said...
No offense taken or intended, Eve. I see what you mean about this particular shirt: More, what, utilitarian than one might want, eh? The plain lines of the pattern do seem to cry out for, as you said, something really loud, like a Hawaiian print, or the Charlie Sheen look. Sometimes the best solution IS an accident in the laundry room.
6/28/08 2:53 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!! You did such a NICE job!!!
6/28/08 11:14 AM
michellep74 said...
You had me laughing out loud with the Charlie Sheen comment. I bought this pattern to make shirts for my fiance, and something about it seemed "off" to me...you nailed it with the Charlie Sheen crack!
6/28/08 12:05 PM
FloraNature said...
I love that fabric! It looks so cool and summery. I can see this on the beach.
6/28/08 12:38 PM
ITAdmin said...
I'm with you on the collar; I don't much like this style even for women's shirts. I do think it has a place on casual men's shirts meant to be worn outside the pants, what my DH calls a fat man's shirt. I'm starting to warm up to the style a little, especially since it's so easy to make. I like the stripes on this fabric; too bad it didn't really work out.
7/1/08 7:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: Lynnelle

Review
Vogue Patterns 1315

photo
by: Sharon M

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

Buy Now