SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3484 (Men's casual shirt)

23 more reviews
Viewed 300 times 
Reviewed by:EveS
photo

 
 
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/08 11:17 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ITAdmin said...
I'm with you on the collar; I don't much like this style even for women's shirts. I do think it has a place on casual men's shirts meant to be worn outside the pants, what my DH calls a fat man's shirt. I'm starting to warm up to the style a little, especially since it's so easy to make. I like the stripes on this fabric; too bad it didn't really work out.
7/1/08 7:23 AM
FloraNature said...
I love that fabric! It looks so cool and summery. I can see this on the beach.
6/28/08 12:38 PM
michellep74 said...
You had me laughing out loud with the Charlie Sheen comment. I bought this pattern to make shirts for my fiance, and something about it seemed "off" to me...you nailed it with the Charlie Sheen crack!
6/28/08 12:05 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!! You did such a NICE job!!!
6/28/08 11:14 AM
Elona said...
No offense taken or intended, Eve. I see what you mean about this particular shirt: More, what, utilitarian than one might want, eh? The plain lines of the pattern do seem to cry out for, as you said, something really loud, like a Hawaiian print, or the Charlie Sheen look. Sometimes the best solution IS an accident in the laundry room.
6/28/08 2:53 AM
EveS said...
Thank you, Elona. I meant no offense to anyone who wears (or makes) this type of shirt...it's just not a style that DH cares for, nor is it flattering to his body type. Re the Hawaiian prints...DH has exactly one, and he rarely wears it, so I probably wouldn't want to make him more than one more. And as I noted, what REALLY caused the issue was the combination of fabric and pattern (my Mom even confirmed my pj theory). I always worry that DH will wear what I make just so he doesn't hurt my feelings. After being w/ the man for almost 20 yrs, I can guarantee that this is one of those shirts. Again, nothing wrong with the principle of the shirt, but it's just not his personal style so I won't be making him any more.
6/28/08 1:05 AM
Elona said...
I think it's a handsome shirt of its type. That stand-less collar is typical of the style, and works just fine for my dh. He, by the way, is a teacher, and has for decades favored Hawaiian shirts for on-the-job wear. He thinks it wakes the kids up (and certainly his fabric choices do!). You ask 'how many Hawaiian prints can (or should) a guy have??' Mine has a couple of dozen I have made him--and I ain't done yet. His closet looks like a rainbow.
6/28/08 0:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Buy Now