SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3688 (1940's Retro Wardrobe)

35 more reviews
Viewed 1066 times 
Reviewed by:MagpieJen
photo

 
 
About MagpieJenstar
CANADA
Member since: 2/22/05
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/08 1:28 AM
Last Updated:6/28/08 1:34 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    Plus    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
NevadaGrace said...
I have this pattern forever, but haven't made it yet. You have inspired me!
11/21/11 12:32 PM
Lana E said...
Your review is great. I appreciate all the small details you've included about fitting. Your pants are lovely, I especially like the beige pair.
11/17/08 1:57 PM
3KillerBs said...
Wow. I bought this for the jacket and skirt but I might go ahead and try a pair of those pants. I've hardly ever seen a pair of pants more flattering, feminine, and shapely in the back.
10/26/08 5:50 PM
Stitchcakes said...
These are stunning on you! On me? Gross! That's why I hope some day ALL pant rises can learn to co-exist in peace and not prove to be trends that 'go away'. These aren't for everybody, but they are definitely for you!! BTW, LOVE your orange cat - mine's name is Jake!
7/6/08 2:56 PM
layla said...
Beautiful work ...you look so Bacall in this style ..love the look on you.
6/29/08 9:49 AM
phthooey said...
So elegant and classic! And with a matching cat to boot. :)
6/29/08 9:48 AM
Athene said...
I love all three pairs of pants - you look very attractive in each one. Thank you for the good review.
6/28/08 5:02 PM
Darla in PA said...
Great job on the trousers (pants). I'm not sure that I'm ready for the high-waisted pants as I prefer the mid-rise on pants but they look very good on you.
6/28/08 3:51 PM
ladybirdlove said...
Beautiful!! Hooray for high-rise pants (honestly, will the low-rise trend ever leave?)!!! I'm going to pay more attention to the retro patterns now...
6/28/08 12:59 PM
Birgitte said...
That is an absolute sublime picture... straight out of a 40's movie reel. If I had a waist I'd be sewing these as I type. Fantastic.
6/28/08 12:43 PM
EveS said...
Fabulous retro pants!!! I've always loved this style!
6/28/08 12:35 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive and sleek fitting pants! Glamourous photo of you! You definitely resurrected 40's chic and make it so wearable for the present! You convinced me to add this my list! I also like that bright furry model in the corner!
6/28/08 12:17 PM
MagpieJen said...
Alison/delirium - I am! I used to love TORC so much! Nice to see you here :) SewingSusan: They're just like a slip - same silky material - but made with legs so you can wear them under trousers. I got mine at a department store. Thank you everyone for your kind words!
6/28/08 11:07 AM
SewingSusan said...
Great review and amazing trousers!! What's a pants slip?
6/28/08 9:49 AM
Kbenco said...
Great pants are sewing gold in my opinion. These look terrific on you in every version.
6/28/08 9:41 AM
dbsewer said...
Wow, three pairs of great fitting pants and I can't even manage one. Your review is inspiring so you may have given me the nudge I needed to get brave. All three look great on you and you're right, they make your waist look teeny. Lovely pants.
6/28/08 9:15 AM
Tiner W said...
These are so elegant on you! Beautiful!
6/28/08 8:51 AM
delirium said...
I've been meaning to try these for ages, I'd like a pair of Kat Hepburn style trousers. Your review was really helpful. Btw, are you the same MagpieJen that used to post on TORC? I used to post there in a previous life. Alison.
6/28/08 6:15 AM
moggy said...
What fantastic trousers! It is still seemingly impossible to buy pants that come up to the waist - and these ones look suitably vintage (which is always a good thing in my opinion).
6/28/08 2:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Butterick 4609

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: twotoast

Review
Towne Purse

Towne Purse

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

Buy Now