Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3688 (1940's Retro Wardrobe) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1045 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:MagpieJen
photo
Friend of PR
About MagpieJenstar
CANADA
Member since: 2/22/05
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/08 1:28 AM
Last Updated:6/28/08 1:34 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    Plus    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
moggy said...
What fantastic trousers! It is still seemingly impossible to buy pants that come up to the waist - and these ones look suitably vintage (which is always a good thing in my opinion).
6/28/08 2:58 AM
delirium said...
I've been meaning to try these for ages, I'd like a pair of Kat Hepburn style trousers. Your review was really helpful. Btw, are you the same MagpieJen that used to post on TORC? I used to post there in a previous life. Alison.
6/28/08 6:15 AM
Tiner W said...
These are so elegant on you! Beautiful!
6/28/08 8:51 AM
dbsewer said...
Wow, three pairs of great fitting pants and I can't even manage one. Your review is inspiring so you may have given me the nudge I needed to get brave. All three look great on you and you're right, they make your waist look teeny. Lovely pants.
6/28/08 9:15 AM
Kbenco said...
Great pants are sewing gold in my opinion. These look terrific on you in every version.
6/28/08 9:41 AM
SewingSusan said...
Great review and amazing trousers!! What's a pants slip?
6/28/08 9:49 AM
MagpieJen said...
Alison/delirium - I am! I used to love TORC so much! Nice to see you here :) SewingSusan: They're just like a slip - same silky material - but made with legs so you can wear them under trousers. I got mine at a department store. Thank you everyone for your kind words!
6/28/08 11:07 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive and sleek fitting pants! Glamourous photo of you! You definitely resurrected 40's chic and make it so wearable for the present! You convinced me to add this my list! I also like that bright furry model in the corner!
6/28/08 12:17 PM
EveS said...
Fabulous retro pants!!! I've always loved this style!
6/28/08 12:35 PM
Birgitte said...
That is an absolute sublime picture... straight out of a 40's movie reel. If I had a waist I'd be sewing these as I type. Fantastic.
6/28/08 12:43 PM
ladybirdlove said...
Beautiful!! Hooray for high-rise pants (honestly, will the low-rise trend ever leave?)!!! I'm going to pay more attention to the retro patterns now...
6/28/08 12:59 PM
Darla in PA said...
Great job on the trousers (pants). I'm not sure that I'm ready for the high-waisted pants as I prefer the mid-rise on pants but they look very good on you.
6/28/08 3:51 PM
Athene said...
I love all three pairs of pants - you look very attractive in each one. Thank you for the good review.
6/28/08 5:02 PM
phthooey said...
So elegant and classic! And with a matching cat to boot. :)
6/29/08 9:48 AM
layla said...
Beautiful work ...you look so Bacall in this style ..love the look on you.
6/29/08 9:49 AM
Stitchcakes said...
These are stunning on you! On me? Gross! That's why I hope some day ALL pant rises can learn to co-exist in peace and not prove to be trends that 'go away'. These aren't for everybody, but they are definitely for you!! BTW, LOVE your orange cat - mine's name is Jake!
7/6/08 2:56 PM
3KillerBs said...
Wow. I bought this for the jacket and skirt but I might go ahead and try a pair of those pants. I've hardly ever seen a pair of pants more flattering, feminine, and shapely in the back.
10/26/08 5:50 PM
Lana E said...
Your review is great. I appreciate all the small details you've included about fitting. Your pants are lovely, I especially like the beige pair.
11/17/08 1:57 PM
Cynthia Peacock said...
I have this pattern forever, but haven't made it yet. You have inspired me!
11/21/11 12:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Simplicity 3845 Threads
photo
Review by Tearsa on 12/11/07
Read Review

McCalls 6758 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6758 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6480 Pattern
New Look 6480 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket Plaza Jacket
photo
Review by SueV on 2/27/07
Read Review

MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $3.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us