SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4675 

5 more reviews
Viewed 299 times 
Reviewed by:kjcaron
photo

 
 
About kjcaronstar
CT USA
Member since: 6/7/07
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/08 5:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kellymailinglist said...
Aw, I don't think the fit's bad at all. We all tend to be most critical of our own work. And those little wrinkles and folds? They're hardly noticeable. Instead, what we notice is the overall loveliness of the design, how the neckline flatters you, and how great you look in the dress.
7/21/08 8:07 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice dress. Don't be discouraged as you did a great job and I can tell you learnt a lot. I think you did really well. Sizing is difficult for everyone and it takes a while to understand how to make something fit. Great job and keep on sewing!
7/10/08 6:52 PM
AnneM said...
The dress looks pretty good in the picture. It does sound like a smaller size w/ a FBA would serve you well, since you ended up taking in some of the dress. Remember not to be too critical of your attempts also. After all, how many dresses do you buy off the rack that fit perfectly?
7/5/08 1:35 PM
Athene said...
Congratulations on persevering and finishing the dress and showing pictures of the things you are not happy with. It is a pretty style that suits you and I think if you try making it again in the future that it will be easier for you to make more fine tuning adjustments.
7/3/08 0:06 AM
wvsher said...
I think it looks very nice on you!
7/1/08 4:29 PM
Larkin said...
I agree - this is ambitious for a beginner, but you deserve a big pat on the back. You've tackled pleats, a zipper, set-in sleeves and you've got something that looks much better than a lot of ready-to-wear. You've got a perfect attitude - give it another shot. If you were able to get through this one, I think you're gonna love this addiction!
6/30/08 4:41 PM
bananaoil said...
Keep playing at it, you can't break anything. This dress has to hang from your shoulders so you're right, getting the shoulders right and adjusting for the bust is the way to go. Find a basic book on fitting whose instructions appeal to you. Keep sewing!
6/30/08 4:37 PM
kjcaron said...
Thank you all for the nice words and helpful hints!
6/30/08 1:22 PM
christea said...
You were very brave to take on that pattern as a self-proclaimed beginner! And, you finished it. Trust me, the next time it will be so much easier. Go back to something more simple to build your confidence back up. Even with the "wadders" you're still learning so it's worth it-it's fortunate you were using discount fabric if you're not happy with the result. I think it looks pretty good, though!
6/29/08 9:29 PM
misscoleen said...
Hi, Glad to see you finished your dress. It is a really pretty style dress for you and i love the fabric choice. I think you did really well and you only need to practice the techniques and it will become second nature to you...well at least that is what i keep telling myself :)
6/29/08 6:56 PM
Kbenco said...
Don't be discouraged, you have done so many things right, and worked out a lot of what you need to change. The shape and style of this dress look very nice on you. In the thumbnail it looks terrific.You have picked the pattern really well. It takes fortitude to show off the places you are not happy with, you will learn to fix them! I do think you need to nut out a FBA. This would fix a lot of the fitting issues, and hopefully avoid all the taking in, which may have lead to the puckering at the waist. With the neckline, have you clipped the seams with enthusiasm? Pattern instructions are not very good about telling you to do this, and it is so hard not to be a "chicken clipper". I would love to see your next version of this dress.
6/29/08 6:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Lutterloh 2005-14

photo
by: Mufffet

Review
Au Bonheur des Petites Mains 0134152

photo
by: Dilliander

Review
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Buy Now