Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4675 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 297 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:kjcaron
photo
About kjcaronstar
CT USA
Member since: 6/7/07
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/08 5:26 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kbenco said...
Don't be discouraged, you have done so many things right, and worked out a lot of what you need to change. The shape and style of this dress look very nice on you. In the thumbnail it looks terrific.You have picked the pattern really well. It takes fortitude to show off the places you are not happy with, you will learn to fix them! I do think you need to nut out a FBA. This would fix a lot of the fitting issues, and hopefully avoid all the taking in, which may have lead to the puckering at the waist. With the neckline, have you clipped the seams with enthusiasm? Pattern instructions are not very good about telling you to do this, and it is so hard not to be a "chicken clipper". I would love to see your next version of this dress.
6/29/08 6:06 PM
misscoleen said...
Hi, Glad to see you finished your dress. It is a really pretty style dress for you and i love the fabric choice. I think you did really well and you only need to practice the techniques and it will become second nature to you...well at least that is what i keep telling myself :)
6/29/08 6:56 PM
christea said...
You were very brave to take on that pattern as a self-proclaimed beginner! And, you finished it. Trust me, the next time it will be so much easier. Go back to something more simple to build your confidence back up. Even with the "wadders" you're still learning so it's worth it-it's fortunate you were using discount fabric if you're not happy with the result. I think it looks pretty good, though!
6/29/08 9:29 PM
kjcaron said...
Thank you all for the nice words and helpful hints!
6/30/08 1:22 PM
bananaoil said...
Keep playing at it, you can't break anything. This dress has to hang from your shoulders so you're right, getting the shoulders right and adjusting for the bust is the way to go. Find a basic book on fitting whose instructions appeal to you. Keep sewing!
6/30/08 4:37 PM
Larkin said...
I agree - this is ambitious for a beginner, but you deserve a big pat on the back. You've tackled pleats, a zipper, set-in sleeves and you've got something that looks much better than a lot of ready-to-wear. You've got a perfect attitude - give it another shot. If you were able to get through this one, I think you're gonna love this addiction!
6/30/08 4:41 PM
wvsher said...
I think it looks very nice on you!
7/1/08 4:29 PM
Athene said...
Congratulations on persevering and finishing the dress and showing pictures of the things you are not happy with. It is a pretty style that suits you and I think if you try making it again in the future that it will be easier for you to make more fine tuning adjustments.
7/3/08 0:06 AM
AnneM said...
The dress looks pretty good in the picture. It does sound like a smaller size w/ a FBA would serve you well, since you ended up taking in some of the dress. Remember not to be too critical of your attempts also. After all, how many dresses do you buy off the rack that fit perfectly?
7/5/08 1:35 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice dress. Don't be discouraged as you did a great job and I can tell you learnt a lot. I think you did really well. Sizing is difficult for everyone and it takes a while to understand how to make something fit. Great job and keep on sewing!
7/10/08 6:52 PM
kellymailinglist said...
Aw, I don't think the fit's bad at all. We all tend to be most critical of our own work. And those little wrinkles and folds? They're hardly noticeable. Instead, what we notice is the overall loveliness of the design, how the neckline flatters you, and how great you look in the dress.
7/21/08 8:07 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Vogue Patterns 8328
photo
Review by Natasha B on 8/18/08
Read Review

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sadie Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sadie Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6802
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 7/4/10
Read Review

Jalie 2921 Pattern
Jalie 2921 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1558 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1558 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us