Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2804 (Empire crossover top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2045 times 43 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:6/29/08 7:40 PM
Last Updated:9/12/09 7:00 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
okie2thdoc said...
I've really been wanting to try this pattern. Thanks for the advice on the up-sizing. I had read the sleeves are tight too. This looks great and I love the idea to use an old t-shirt- fab!
6/29/08 8:01 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great top!
6/29/08 8:20 PM
Olivia Sews said...
I just got this pattern in the mail. I have been wanting it awhile. This is the first time I have bought a Jalie pattern. It's a little confusing with the girls sizes and a maternity top?? I like the paper they use and it is really a cute style. Thanks for a great review!
6/29/08 8:20 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
I always enjoy reading your reviews. You have such a fun style and these tops are great. I think it's so fun you used an old t-shirt. I'll have to try that sometime.
6/29/08 8:41 PM
Kim12469 said...
I just traced this out tonight. I can't wait to cut it out. Thanks for the tips. Actually, I really like the old T-shirt one too!
6/29/08 10:05 PM
Amanda S. said...
You crack me up! Nice top, too.
6/29/08 10:32 PM
Gelbean said...
Very entertaining review. Your top is great. I haven't tried this pattern yet but I'm thinking I might.
6/30/08 2:00 AM
anetJay said...
pretty top , Dawn :)
6/30/08 4:50 AM
craftygamma said...
I am not planning to make this top, but thanks for the old T-shirt idea! I have trouble finding lightweight knits for summer PJ's for the grandbabies at a reasonable price! I can't wait to go looking at Goodwill now.
6/30/08 7:59 AM
Annette1 said...
Great review, and a great top, as well -- even the sausage casing! :o) You wear it well. I really like the idea of the elastic in the modesty panel.
6/30/08 7:54 PM
Athene said...
Thanks for the great review. If the size P is too tight on you, it tells me it will probably fit my petite DD>
6/30/08 8:05 PM
nancy2001 said...
Very cute top.
7/1/08 10:35 AM
Larkin said...
This looks like a great versatile pattern! Thanks for the details - I love the reused T-shirt!
7/1/08 4:42 PM
Ann's Fashion Studio said...
Great review and the idea of re-using a t-shirt is a wonderful idea. The top does look very good on you. I plan on buying this pattern, I love the style.
7/28/08 8:59 AM
Elke said...
Cute top! I like your fun ideas.
8/16/08 6:21 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great color and great style.
8/17/08 10:16 AM
Peggy L said...
Love your latest verstion. One of my favorite colors.
8/18/08 4:16 PM
Winifred said...
Lovely top and super colour on you too.
8/18/08 7:03 PM
nannykk said...
Wonderful
8/31/08 12:51 PM
Karendee said...
Great dress and tops; you look great in all of them.
8/31/08 2:23 PM
Morisot said...
Your top-turned-dress is cute and trendy! Nice.
8/31/08 5:00 PM
shesflipped said...
This looks fantastic as a dress, and is super flattering on you! Love, love, love the look with the purple tights!
9/1/08 8:33 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love your dress!!
9/2/08 11:50 AM
Barbara3 said...
Wonderful, thoughtful review. Thanks for bringing this great pattern to our attention!
1/19/09 1:19 AM
Lori V said...
Great job on the refashion, darling top and perfect for your trip.
1/19/09 7:13 AM
Renren said...
Interesting on the elastic in the strap--just read last week at Tips&Techniques about putting elastic in the straps to keep them from slipping off shoulders. Also, the mini-ruching you did at the shoulders adds a really nice designer touch. My daughter's tops from Calvin Klein (and some others whose names escape me) almost always have these little details that kick the top up a notch. Also, what are those figure 8 objects for in your scavenged notions pile? Oh, by the way, nice shirt!!!
1/19/09 8:18 AM
angie.a said...
This one almost snuck by me! Great save! Ok, can I just say that was an ugly dress? Much better use of the fabric! :D
1/20/09 7:24 AM
marec said...
Fun review, and a cute top. I love that marine blue color.
1/31/09 8:05 PM
AnitaJ said...
Another great version of this top! Love that purple fabric!
9/12/09 8:55 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Dawn, I like your latest top, plus all the others. The cheesy kid photo is priceless. :) Thanks for the really helpful review too. Your review has helped me a lot. I'd like to make this pattern one day.
9/12/09 9:11 PM
Coastal Connie said...
I love the latest version...definitely a keeper for the wardrobe. I think I'd make this pattern...it looks very cute and flattering.
9/12/09 11:23 PM
Coastal Connie said...
I love the latest version...definitely a keeper for the wardrobe. I think I'd make this pattern...it looks very cute and flattering.
9/12/09 11:23 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very snazzy - a great top. It certainly does flatter you and fits to perfection as well.
9/13/09 4:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Kwik Sew 2191
photo
Review by Chris Brya... on 5/14/11
Read Review

Pattern Runway Gathered Sundress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Gathered Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Young Image Magazine Y1258 Coat Coat
photo
Review by velosewer on 5/23/13
Read Review

Newport Tote
Newport Tote

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6903 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6903 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1620 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1620 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us