SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> WK-MTAD (Weekender Monaco Top & Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 615 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/08 12:46 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jent said...
What a disappointment! It looks like it should be so cute too. I was going to try this one too - but I guess I'll look for something else. Thanks for the warning.
7/4/08 1:04 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
Thanks for the review. i have this pattern and have been wanting to try it, but I think I'll just pass. Simplicity 2942 is similar looking with the bib and v neckline that myself & others have had success with. I'll post a review.
7/4/08 1:07 PM
SansSouci572 said...
Oh! I wanted it too! Maybe you could ask for a refund? I wonder if they would...
7/4/08 1:17 PM
Leora said...
I have this one too. Maybe someday I'll get to it but, er, maybe not. Sorry it didn't work out for you. How frustrating to have 2 baddies in a row! You need some new shoes to cheer you up!!!
7/4/08 1:20 PM
Kitty Couture said...
Aw, what a shame! I'm sure your next project will be a flamboyant success from beginning to end :)
7/4/08 2:14 PM
michellep74 said...
Wow, thanks for the helpful, informative review. It's always good to read about *why* a pattern doesn't work, rather than just the fact that it didn't work.
7/4/08 4:22 PM
Winifred said...
What a shame ! And how frustrating for you - I dont think I've ever heard such a long list of errors and I've seen a few in my time. I hope you will take the time to put Hot Patterns right on these points - they need to get their act together and check properly before issueing for sale and causing endless time and frustration. Now...... find some really lovely fabric in your stash and an equally loved TNT or the like and settle to make a "WOW" for us all to drool over!! ( By the way, I did just that many years ago(complained loudly)when Weldon patterns were around and I had them grovelling at my feet - I was only 15 and so chuffed about it. Go girl )
7/4/08 5:51 PM
librarylady said...
Whew! Thanks for the warning... I was thinking of this but you saved me.
7/4/08 6:18 PM
Nancy K said...
There are some Hot Patterns that I love, and then there are those like yours that just don't work! It is a lovely style in the drawing, a shame that it was so badly designed.
7/4/08 7:56 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I have not tried this pattern but some HP patterns have not worked at all for me. Many people have good success with them. I unfortunately have not. I do like the cover looks on their patterns, so up to date and trendy looking.
7/5/08 7:58 PM
wisechick said...
Wow! I love the illustrations on hot patterns (yes they do look hot!) and have been very tempted to go for it, but everything I read is negative. The latest was a blogger (who also reviews here) who is an expert sewer and she had trouble with the jeans. She ended up having to get help from the owner of hot patterns. While that's really nice that owner helped, it does not bode well for the product. A pattern should be self explanatory. Especially to an expert sewer. Hot Patterns, if you're reading this, every one of these reviews is costing you a customer: ME. I'm so glad I read your review squirrelypoo. Thanks for taking the time to give so many details. And I'm sorry you had an unpleasant experience. Like you, I really, really want to like hot patterns. Of every thing in their line, this looks like most interesting dress and I really want it. (The dress in the illustration,t hat is.) The marketing for hot patterns is great. It seems like they need to really, really work on their product. PS I specifically searched for this review, because i wanted to make this dress. I will now be passing on it.
7/8/08 1:45 AM
Nancywin said...
I was just going to order this pattern. I'm glad I read your review first!
7/16/08 11:58 AM
said...
And to think I just ordered this pattern! Hope I can cancel it.
4/3/09 3:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 1115

photo
by: Carolyn.S

Review
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Buy Now
Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now