Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Folkwear: 240 (Rosie the Riveter) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 961 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/6/08 12:08 PM
Last Updated:2/16/09 4:05 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crisford said...
What a great photo! THe difference in seam allowance should be noted on the pattern pieces. But you could also write your own reminder on them with a bright color. Usually it's easier to work with a smaller SA on the collar pieces. They should come out more accurate, with less trimming.
7/6/08 1:23 PM
Aixoise said...
Great shirt in that fabric. If you want to experiment with an alternative, try Cutting Line Designs Town and Country shirt pattern. I've made several of these campshirts and the construction is magical. The line drawing looks exactly like the shirt you made.
7/6/08 2:04 PM
elanor said...
Love it! I've started toying with the idea of cutting all the seam allowances off my patterns after working with Burda WOF. I just draw the seam line on with a washable marker. Makes for accurate sewing. And I really appreciate your action shot. It's nice to see clothes in their natural environment. I've liked this shirt for a while. Have you tried the pants?
7/7/08 9:29 AM
elanor said...
Oops...tried to fix a spelling mistake. Still love your shirt!
7/7/08 9:30 AM
HeyJane said...
Great looking shirt, and a nice photo of it "in action"!
7/7/08 10:16 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks all for your comments and suggestions. No, I haven't tried the Rosie the Riveter pants, although I certainly like the style.
7/7/08 10:02 PM
dbsewer said...
Love your shirt and the fabric is great. FYI, the sa is an issue on most of the Folkwear patterns. I keep the pattern handy to remind myself, but these patterns are fun to make otherwise, with period details included in the historic ones.
1/9/09 9:18 AM
birdmcfarland said...
Excellent photo! And I love the shirt! I just ordered my first Folkwear pattern, but I may have to do this shirt also.
1/9/09 10:12 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I have extreme trouble remembering different seam allowances myself too - much better to trim after sewing the usual. Why don't you just trace the affected pieces, draw a regular allowance around them (or add whatever to it if you don't have seamlines) and use these pieces instead (big "NO' on the old ones). It'd take you 15mn, and spare you the grief for many future shirts. This is a really nice shirt, no point in looking elsewhere, it's worth a bit of time to make it all yours..
1/10/09 2:42 AM
Kellie R. said...
I love your shirt! I love fun fabrics, tropical fabrics and fun garments - your lovely shirt fits all of these descriptions. Great job!
2/16/09 4:24 PM
fourkid said...
This is a great pattern - I loved your pictures wearing it. And you choose such beautiful fabrics!!!
2/16/09 6:16 PM
Christas said...
Very cute!
2/16/09 10:09 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Vogue Patterns 7013 Misses' Blouse
photo
Review by Margaret on 7/30/12
Read Review

McCalls 5894 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 5894 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8814 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8814 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1328 Misses Dress
photo
Review by MissMarnie on 1/22/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Madeline Tutu Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madeline Tutu Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Newsie Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Newsie Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us