SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 240 (Rosie the Riveter)

Viewed 987 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 160
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 117
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/6/08 12:08 PM
Last Updated:2/16/09 4:05 PM


Folkwear: 240 by FreyaStark  Folkwear: 240 by FreyaStark  
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crisford said...
What a great photo! THe difference in seam allowance should be noted on the pattern pieces. But you could also write your own reminder on them with a bright color. Usually it's easier to work with a smaller SA on the collar pieces. They should come out more accurate, with less trimming.
7/6/08 1:23 PM
Aixoise said...
Great shirt in that fabric. If you want to experiment with an alternative, try Cutting Line Designs Town and Country shirt pattern. I've made several of these campshirts and the construction is magical. The line drawing looks exactly like the shirt you made.
7/6/08 2:04 PM
elanor said...
Love it! I've started toying with the idea of cutting all the seam allowances off my patterns after working with Burda WOF. I just draw the seam line on with a washable marker. Makes for accurate sewing. And I really appreciate your action shot. It's nice to see clothes in their natural environment. I've liked this shirt for a while. Have you tried the pants?
7/7/08 9:29 AM
elanor said...
Oops...tried to fix a spelling mistake. Still love your shirt!
7/7/08 9:30 AM
HeyJane said...
Great looking shirt, and a nice photo of it "in action"!
7/7/08 10:16 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks all for your comments and suggestions. No, I haven't tried the Rosie the Riveter pants, although I certainly like the style.
7/7/08 10:02 PM
dbsewer said...
Love your shirt and the fabric is great. FYI, the sa is an issue on most of the Folkwear patterns. I keep the pattern handy to remind myself, but these patterns are fun to make otherwise, with period details included in the historic ones.
1/9/09 9:18 AM
birdmcfarland said...
Excellent photo! And I love the shirt! I just ordered my first Folkwear pattern, but I may have to do this shirt also.
1/9/09 10:12 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I have extreme trouble remembering different seam allowances myself too - much better to trim after sewing the usual. Why don't you just trace the affected pieces, draw a regular allowance around them (or add whatever to it if you don't have seamlines) and use these pieces instead (big "NO' on the old ones). It'd take you 15mn, and spare you the grief for many future shirts. This is a really nice shirt, no point in looking elsewhere, it's worth a bit of time to make it all yours..
1/10/09 2:42 AM
Kellie R. said...
I love your shirt! I love fun fabrics, tropical fabrics and fun garments - your lovely shirt fits all of these descriptions. Great job!
2/16/09 4:24 PM
fourkid said...
This is a great pattern - I loved your pictures wearing it. And you choose such beautiful fabrics!!!
2/16/09 6:16 PM
Christas said...
Very cute!
2/16/09 10:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2012-118

photo
by: twinkle72

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Butterick 5497

photo
by: SewRusty

Review