SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2772 

15 more reviews
Viewed 2070 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 355
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 292 people
patterns reviewed: 255
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/17/03 8:34 PM
Last Updated:7/17/03 8:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Shorts    Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryBeth said...
Deepika: this is a beautiful blouse and will surely be a powerful building block in your wardrobe.
7/17/03 8:38 PM
Lou. said...
At last someone reviewed this shirt! I have this Deepika and now I want to make it!!! I love it!!
7/17/03 8:46 PM
Pam Z said...
I'm glad you didn't give up Deepika. This is a very flattering style & color on you & beautiful fit. Congrats. to you.
7/17/03 8:46 PM
Jeanine said...
Umm, WOW!! You did a fantastic job! I like the looks of this pattern, adding to the wish list...
7/17/03 8:47 PM
KarenP said...
I love your blouse - you really got a good fit. Your blouse looks better than the pattern drawing.
7/17/03 8:48 PM
LauraS said...
Beautiful Blouse! I can't wait to hear a pants review... I have been debating getting this pattern or KS 2924, I was looking for the pants pattern, but love your top!
7/17/03 9:06 PM
e_e_thomas said...
I want one ... That picture is wonderful inspiration, Deepika! You did an excellent job.
7/17/03 9:15 PM
Deepika said...
Laura, if you click on 1 more review, you can see Lou's pants review of the same pattern. Thanks everyone for such nice comments.
7/17/03 9:36 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Beautiful job, Deepika. I love how it looks on you. Next up: silks! -Ann
7/17/03 9:47 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice; I really like this pattern!
7/17/03 9:52 PM
jlg said...
Very smart looking. Great job.
7/17/03 9:57 PM
Meredith P said...
As always, your results are great! Very inspiring. I wouldn't have picked this pattern from the "art", but now I've got to have it. Beautiful job!
7/17/03 10:09 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Deepika, when did you find time to whip this one up? It looks wonderful. If you had found one like it in RTW, I bet you would have bought it; it's too perfect to pass up. You are making some of us look really, really bad: buying a pattern and makingit up in the same month. I'm hanging my head in shame.....
7/17/03 10:29 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Very flattering blouse! Looks just like a magazine photo!
7/17/03 11:33 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Geez, I go out to dinner and look what happens! Great top, D! I've been waiting for Cynthia's to get this back in because I want to make the pants with the contoured band. Hopefully I'll be able to add a review of my own soon. :-)
7/18/03 0:14 AM
Gina Marie said...
Now you are going to make me work... I know I have that pattern, now I will have to find it. I've made the pants and loved them !!
7/18/03 0:55 AM
katharin said...
This blouse fits you very well! It is beautifully made and the fabric looks very good! You mention shortening patterns from the armhole area. It works well for me (high narrow bust, forward narrow shoulders). It may be worth a try.
7/18/03 9:50 AM
Deepika said...
Katharin, when I lift my arms or move them around I feel a tug in the upper check area, which is why I think shortening might help. yes? to shorten it do you just fold a pleat horizontally in the armhole area?
7/18/03 9:57 AM
Alliekat said...
The sleeves are awesome and make the shirt unique.
7/18/03 11:20 AM
gabrielle said...
Deepika, you shirt looks great, way more inspiring than either the KS photo or illustration. They just have too many great patterns--I have like ten more I want, and this goes on the list too. Anyway, FWIW, their armscye is too low for me in general, and I raise it by doing a horizontal pleat across the chest, back, and sleevecap. Then I drop the bust point/full bust area because it's usually too high. HTH, I don't know it it's "correct" but it seems to work:)
7/18/03 2:09 PM
Deepika said...
Thanks Gabrielle, I'll try that too nex time. Alliekat I forgot to mention in my review that the sleeves are set in the 'round' It's been a while since I did that but they say that the sleeves set in this way are better. Can't figure out why. Can someone educate me?
7/18/03 4:22 PM
Skymom said...
Nice work, Deepika. I was looking over your unsuccessful Burda review, and thinking about the difference...for one thing, polyester can be really rotten to sew on, esp. the cheap kind. It doesn't ease well (making princess seams tricky), is slippery, and the shine brings out even the most minor irregularities. So switching to linen, on top of finding a pattern that looks so great on you, was a good move. I'd suggest you now go back to the Burda pattern (which is in my stash too, BTW!) and try the sleeveless view in a natural fiber fabric. Bet you love that, too!
7/18/03 4:49 PM
katharin said...
Deepika, yes, like Gabrielle I fold a pleat horizontally. It also makes the sleeve cap shallower, and as an effect lifting one's arms is less likely to lift the whole garment at the same time. That is, because a shallower cap attaches the sleeve more horizontally to the body. (You can find a good description of how sleeves work in David Coffin's book "Shirtmaking") - I started shortening across the chest/back/(sleeve cap) after noticing that my bra *always* shows under the arm of sleeveless patterns. I almost gave up sleeveless tops and sewing tops altogether. That was a clue. - Anyway, your blouse looks so good!
7/19/03 3:59 AM
Mustang Sally said...
Fabulous shirt! So far, only made a mock-up of this shirt, to see if it fits. Do you think this shirt pattern could be lengthened into an above-the-knee dress? Thank you, Deepika for the wonderful reviews and website.
7/19/03 1:40 PM
Deepika said...
Kathrin, yeah I just bought David's book, have to go back and check. Sally I see no reason why this cant be lengthened into a dress. What a great idea!
7/19/03 9:12 PM
msbillie said...
Deepkia, this is a lovely blouse. You did a wonderful job! I love princess seams --very flattering.
8/11/03 10:37 PM
Diane E said...
Hey, one of the PR features I really love is the "previous review by" ... I don't know how this one squeaked by me. I love this blouse! It looks really lovely. I'm glad you didn't give up on princess seams (and wovens). This is a beautiful silhouette.
9/18/03 5:27 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Lovely blouse! Thanks for the Sandra Betzina tip. I'm adding it to my wish list!
9/19/03 3:18 AM
layla said...
Love your Blouse !! Perfect Fit !! I must try this one...thanks Layla
9/19/03 9:49 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks Layla and Katherine. Can you believe that this shirt already has started looking old! I've only worn and washed it a few times and the black looks rather faded. I am never making a dark linen garment again :(
9/19/03 4:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 52562-1000

photo
by: SusiM

Review
McCall's 5114 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now