SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2772 

15 more reviews
Viewed 2070 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 365
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 297 people
patterns reviewed: 263
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/17/03 8:34 PM
Last Updated:7/17/03 8:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Shorts    Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Thanks Layla and Katherine. Can you believe that this shirt already has started looking old! I've only worn and washed it a few times and the black looks rather faded. I am never making a dark linen garment again :(
9/19/03 4:42 PM
layla said...
Love your Blouse !! Perfect Fit !! I must try this one...thanks Layla
9/19/03 9:49 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Lovely blouse! Thanks for the Sandra Betzina tip. I'm adding it to my wish list!
9/19/03 3:18 AM
Diane E said...
Hey, one of the PR features I really love is the "previous review by" ... I don't know how this one squeaked by me. I love this blouse! It looks really lovely. I'm glad you didn't give up on princess seams (and wovens). This is a beautiful silhouette.
9/18/03 5:27 PM
msbillie said...
Deepkia, this is a lovely blouse. You did a wonderful job! I love princess seams --very flattering.
8/11/03 10:37 PM
Deepika said...
Kathrin, yeah I just bought David's book, have to go back and check. Sally I see no reason why this cant be lengthened into a dress. What a great idea!
7/19/03 9:12 PM
Mustang Sally said...
Fabulous shirt! So far, only made a mock-up of this shirt, to see if it fits. Do you think this shirt pattern could be lengthened into an above-the-knee dress? Thank you, Deepika for the wonderful reviews and website.
7/19/03 1:40 PM
katharin said...
Deepika, yes, like Gabrielle I fold a pleat horizontally. It also makes the sleeve cap shallower, and as an effect lifting one's arms is less likely to lift the whole garment at the same time. That is, because a shallower cap attaches the sleeve more horizontally to the body. (You can find a good description of how sleeves work in David Coffin's book "Shirtmaking") - I started shortening across the chest/back/(sleeve cap) after noticing that my bra *always* shows under the arm of sleeveless patterns. I almost gave up sleeveless tops and sewing tops altogether. That was a clue. - Anyway, your blouse looks so good!
7/19/03 3:59 AM
Skymom said...
Nice work, Deepika. I was looking over your unsuccessful Burda review, and thinking about the difference...for one thing, polyester can be really rotten to sew on, esp. the cheap kind. It doesn't ease well (making princess seams tricky), is slippery, and the shine brings out even the most minor irregularities. So switching to linen, on top of finding a pattern that looks so great on you, was a good move. I'd suggest you now go back to the Burda pattern (which is in my stash too, BTW!) and try the sleeveless view in a natural fiber fabric. Bet you love that, too!
7/18/03 4:49 PM
Deepika said...
Thanks Gabrielle, I'll try that too nex time. Alliekat I forgot to mention in my review that the sleeves are set in the 'round' It's been a while since I did that but they say that the sleeves set in this way are better. Can't figure out why. Can someone educate me?
7/18/03 4:22 PM
gabrielle said...
Deepika, you shirt looks great, way more inspiring than either the KS photo or illustration. They just have too many great patterns--I have like ten more I want, and this goes on the list too. Anyway, FWIW, their armscye is too low for me in general, and I raise it by doing a horizontal pleat across the chest, back, and sleevecap. Then I drop the bust point/full bust area because it's usually too high. HTH, I don't know it it's "correct" but it seems to work:)
7/18/03 2:09 PM
Alliekat said...
The sleeves are awesome and make the shirt unique.
7/18/03 11:20 AM
Deepika said...
Katharin, when I lift my arms or move them around I feel a tug in the upper check area, which is why I think shortening might help. yes? to shorten it do you just fold a pleat horizontally in the armhole area?
7/18/03 9:57 AM
katharin said...
This blouse fits you very well! It is beautifully made and the fabric looks very good! You mention shortening patterns from the armhole area. It works well for me (high narrow bust, forward narrow shoulders). It may be worth a try.
7/18/03 9:50 AM
Gina Marie said...
Now you are going to make me work... I know I have that pattern, now I will have to find it. I've made the pants and loved them !!
7/18/03 0:55 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Geez, I go out to dinner and look what happens! Great top, D! I've been waiting for Cynthia's to get this back in because I want to make the pants with the contoured band. Hopefully I'll be able to add a review of my own soon. :-)
7/18/03 0:14 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Very flattering blouse! Looks just like a magazine photo!
7/17/03 11:33 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Deepika, when did you find time to whip this one up? It looks wonderful. If you had found one like it in RTW, I bet you would have bought it; it's too perfect to pass up. You are making some of us look really, really bad: buying a pattern and makingit up in the same month. I'm hanging my head in shame.....
7/17/03 10:29 PM
Meredith P said...
As always, your results are great! Very inspiring. I wouldn't have picked this pattern from the "art", but now I've got to have it. Beautiful job!
7/17/03 10:09 PM
jlg said...
Very smart looking. Great job.
7/17/03 9:57 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice; I really like this pattern!
7/17/03 9:52 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Beautiful job, Deepika. I love how it looks on you. Next up: silks! -Ann
7/17/03 9:47 PM
Deepika said...
Laura, if you click on 1 more review, you can see Lou's pants review of the same pattern. Thanks everyone for such nice comments.
7/17/03 9:36 PM
e_e_thomas said...
I want one ... That picture is wonderful inspiration, Deepika! You did an excellent job.
7/17/03 9:15 PM
LauraS said...
Beautiful Blouse! I can't wait to hear a pants review... I have been debating getting this pattern or KS 2924, I was looking for the pants pattern, but love your top!
7/17/03 9:06 PM
KarenP said...
I love your blouse - you really got a good fit. Your blouse looks better than the pattern drawing.
7/17/03 8:48 PM
Jeanine said...
Umm, WOW!! You did a fantastic job! I like the looks of this pattern, adding to the wish list...
7/17/03 8:47 PM
Pam Z said...
I'm glad you didn't give up Deepika. This is a very flattering style & color on you & beautiful fit. Congrats. to you.
7/17/03 8:46 PM
Lou. said...
At last someone reviewed this shirt! I have this Deepika and now I want to make it!!! I love it!!
7/17/03 8:46 PM
MaryBeth said...
Deepika: this is a beautiful blouse and will surely be a powerful building block in your wardrobe.
7/17/03 8:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Other Mannequin Pin Cushion

photo
by: Holmar

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info