Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3838 (Misses Tunic) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 349 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:heathercampbell29
photo
About heathercampbell29star
Member since: 5/23/08
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/08 3:05 PM
Last Updated:7/8/08 3:10 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kjcaron said...
Very pretty and flattering top! I will be adding this one to my wish list.
7/8/08 3:28 PM
JeanM said...
Your top looks great! Neat looking fabric, too. Do the FBA, it's not that hard once you've done one or two! Patterns usually assume a B-cup; I find I usually get a better fit through the neck & shoulders using my high bust to choose the size and doing the FBA. I usually trace off my pattern and do my adjustments on my tracing - if I mess it up, I still have the original pattern (swedish tracing paper, or on the pattern grid from JoAnn's, interfacing section). I use the Fit for Real People book as a guideline but there are other sources available.
7/8/08 3:37 PM
sb1280 said...
It looks great, I really like the fabric. Fitting is always a challenge, but you did a terrific job!
7/8/08 4:20 PM
mis_priss said...
nice Job! very nice blouse, glad you got it to fit so nicely.
7/8/08 4:20 PM
sew42mom said...
I think this is the first tunic that I have ever liked! You and the top look great!
7/8/08 4:23 PM
Amanda S. said...
Great blouse! Looks like you got a perfect fit, too.
7/8/08 5:15 PM
Annette1 said...
Geez, I hadn't even noticed this pattern, but yours looks GREAT. All of your fitting expertise has really paid off on a lovely, perfectly fitted top. You have a beautiful complexion, by the way. :o)
7/8/08 5:39 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
I love your blouse - it's a great fit and the fabric is so pretty.
7/8/08 5:55 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
hey, thanks everyone for the lovely compliments! having worn this now for half a day, I'm actually thinking next time I will cut a 16 for the neck area as it is a bit "gap-y" there. I'm not sure how to do an FBA when there are no darts, but I'm going to do McCalls 5661 next and that is a palmer/pletch learning pattern so hopefully that will lead me in the right direction. And Annette - my beautiful complexion is thanks to MAC perfect finish foundation - which I normally don't wear except for special occasions but those undereye circles were really bad!
7/8/08 6:20 PM
Charlene McGill said...
Congrats on your FBA! Your top looks great.
7/8/08 8:16 PM
phthooey said...
Cute top! And cute haircut, too! :)
7/8/08 11:00 PM
Annette1 said...
Hey, Heather, go to this site here, and you'll learn OH SO MUCH about full bust adjustments. It's our own Debbie Cook's site, and she's REALLY good with her alterations and tutorials. Here's the link: http://www.cedesign.com/familyphotos/sewing/info/index.html
7/10/08 1:00 AM
Tonyasrb said...
This looks great on you.
5/26/09 9:57 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 3199
photo
Review by Jali on 6/24/11
Read Review

McCalls 6599 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6599 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3246 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3246 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8805 Misses Dress
photo
Review by DKG on 1/7/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Couch Caddy
Couch Caddy

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us