SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3737 (Misses Petticoat and Panties)

5 more reviews
Viewed 315 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 101
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/9/08 11:14 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
A fabulous petticoat - thank you for the tip about the confusing gather instructions. Is the netting sandwiched between two layers of fabric or is it just two layers - the top fabric and then the netting underneath?
7/10/08 2:04 AM
Terri A said...
I just ran and looked at it but it is under a wedding gown in construction - so I dug under there hope I looked at it correctly.... but on this petticoat there are two layers attached to a yoke. The under/inside layer of the petticoat is the one that has net and it (the net) doesn't show from the outside of the garment. At the bottom tier, of the inside layer: Instead of a single layer of fabric as you did with the others you just put the net tier on top of the crinoline tier and you handle it as one. Clear as mud? And here I am complaining about the instructions that come with the pattern - hahaha:-)
7/10/08 2:36 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful petticoat, thanks for the tips.
7/10/08 8:07 AM
nancy2001 said...
What a wonderful petticoat.
7/10/08 7:15 PM
AuntieShel said...
OMG, what a lot of WORK. But it looks absolutely fabulous, what a good friend you are. You're so right about the instructions to gather being confusing for a beginner and your alternate suggestion is so much more accurate.
7/11/08 8:48 AM
Janie Viers said...
take a strong white thread-crosheen or dental floss or similar item and zig zag OVER the thread making sure not to catch the underthread with the needle. When you go to gather you just pull the floss! No breakage. I have also used 1/8" baby elastic. Additionally, I use tape to cover the split front of the presser foot so the blasted #(&#$^@#^$ net doesn't catch on the foot! (I have done crinoline petticoats several times and each time I swear I would rather walk naked to church than do another one!) I have solved the problem of scratch by making a straight tricot underslip to wear with the petticoat.
7/11/08 10:06 AM
Terri A said...
Wow! Great tips thanks!
7/13/08 11:25 AM
droxy said...
Yes! LOTS of gathering. I like how full yours turned out!
11/17/09 10:39 AM
BrynnBB said...
Hi Terri A! Many years after you have constructed this pattern but by your comments, you seem to be the person for me to ask. I'm considering buying this pattern on ebay (which it is now $$$) so I wanted to ask you if you think that it would be appropriate as a very full skirt made from cotton and no net/tulle involved? Wanting to make a very full patch skirt and this pattern is definitely full, but are the instructions suitable for cotton fabric? Hate to spend $35 on a pattern just to make a tulle petticoat ~ Thank You!
8/31/13 4:17 PM
Terri A said...
I don't see why you couldn't do it in cotton. If I recall correctly, the pattern is just long rectangles :( you could use any tiered pattern on the market and make it as full as you want by just adding length to the rectangle. Cotton is heavier so it will pull on the top part significantly. You could use any pattern with the waistband You preferred and just make your own rectangles to gather as full as you wanted. There is another skirt pattern McCalls 5812 that would make a full skirt that might suit your purposes. I don't recall if it is OOP or not... It runs $5-$8 on etsy.
9/1/13 12:00 PM
Terri A said...
It does have a zipper in the back, I think it would work in cotton just omit the tulle :) There is one on etsy for $10 - very cheap compared to the ebay offerings. I checked my stash and The copies I had were of a McCalls petticoat after all, not the one you are after. As a final note the pattern uses four pieces: a rectangular waistband, one front yoke, one back yoke, and one large rectangle cut repeatedly to comprise the skirt tiers. You have 26 tier sections cut of fabric. Tier #1 has two sections. Tier #2 has four sections. Tier #3 has eight sections. Tier #4 has four sections. Tier #5 is a double layer consisting of eight sections each - of fabric and net.
9/1/13 12:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

McCall's 5319

photo
by: canyonlady...

Review
Vogue Patterns 2899

photo
by: Sweetiebop

Review
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now