SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1036 

13 more reviews
Viewed 1236 times 
Reviewed by:Shannon Gifford
photo

 
 
About Shannon Giffordstar
GA USA
Member since: 3/20/02
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/08 5:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 44 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PureJoy said...
6 years later, this review is helping me in 2014! I'm tissue fitting the pattern right now and all the detail in this review is priceless. Thank you for helping me to have a better outcome
5/31/14 7:28 PM
blue mooney said...
Not boring to me - looks very "Ladies who lunch"! Thanks for your insights.
7/13/08 9:08 AM
Dei said...
Detail heaven. Your accomplished skills shine.
7/12/08 6:48 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Your jacket looks beautiful - I love love love the sleeve detail!
7/12/08 1:43 AM
VtMartha said...
Picture glitch seems to have resolved. This is gorgeous!
7/11/08 5:07 PM
moushka said...
Mmmm, boxy works for me, lol, so now this is a contender where I thought it wouldn't be. I'm really into 'essence of waist,' with just a tiny nip-in about an inch above where my waist should be. Counteracts the four-square look of the real thing. I really think Sandra designs for the more mature figure that is spreading a bit in the middle so I'm glad to see the sleeve detail. You've really taken this jacket to another level with the silk fabric and cording, Shannon. Beautiful job. I think this is worth doing, especially if you have fabulous hands to show off.
7/11/08 3:26 PM
VtMartha said...
Hmm! I can't open the photos. They begin to open in FoPR and then switch to a photobucket site of family pix. I'd love to see as it sounds wonderful.
7/11/08 2:50 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Very informative review - you include the exact details others need to know. Your version is lovely - the contrast rayon cording is brilliant!
7/11/08 12:17 PM
cindyann said...
Just lovely! The rayon cording is perfection. Thank you for the excellent review.
7/11/08 10:33 AM
Karine said...
Thanks for the helpful review. Your jacket is just incredible!
7/11/08 10:01 AM
Lisa Laree said...
I've got this pattern mentally matched w/some stashed wool for a fall/winter outfit (maybe this fall/winter...maybe not...); I really appreciate your tips!!!
7/11/08 9:47 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Really neat stitching!
7/11/08 9:17 AM
AuntieShel said...
Oooooh, absolutely fabulous jacket!!!
7/11/08 8:38 AM
carolynw said...
Excellent job - your jacket looks lovely - all your hard work has sure paid off
7/11/08 8:22 AM
goldenthreads said...
Beautiful jacket. Your topstitching is flawless.
7/11/08 4:54 AM
MaryBeth said...
Thx for a great review. This pattern is on my list and I would have done the subtle color topstitching you did. You've saved me a ton of work!
7/10/08 10:12 PM
Karen6790 said...
Shannon, that sleeve detail photo is just beautiful. I love the cording and and applaud your patience for sewing it on by hand. It makes all the difference. Wonderful jacket.
7/10/08 9:34 PM
lmg said...
Just a lovely jacket!!!. The cording is fabulous. I too had trouble with the back waistband but thought it was just me. And it is a bit boxy, but I love the details.
7/10/08 9:27 PM
Karen8320 said...
Shannon, it's wonderful to see your work! Thanks for sharing your insights of this pattern. You've really done a fabulous job here. The thought of a jacket in ivory raw silk is very appealing. I love what you've done with the cord trim. It really gives this garment a very couture look. It's beautiful!
7/10/08 9:18 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful jacket! I love how you did the cording. I've been wanting to sew this pattern but after your review now I'm not so sure. I wanted a jacket with a lot of shape. Thanks for the informative review. It will be very helpful if I do decide to go ahead with this pattern.
7/10/08 7:07 PM
Terri Smith said...
Beautiful work, lovely jacket.
7/10/08 7:02 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful jacket -- I love the way you set off the topstitching with the contrast rayon cording. That must have taken forever! Thanks for the closeup of the gorgeous sleeve detail.
7/10/08 6:49 PM
papago said...
Really pretty jacket. Beautiful detail.
7/10/08 6:40 PM
Caitycat said...
Beautiful job - what a stunnig jacket! Love the detail on the sleeves. Thanks for the review, I've been eyeing off this pattern too.
7/10/08 6:32 PM
Shannon Gifford said...
Amanda, I applied the cord by hand. I tested a zigzag stitch, but it caused a pucker in the fabric. Hand-stitching was the only viable option:)
7/10/08 6:22 PM
Winifred said...
This is beautiful and I can see what a great deal of work it must have been. Thanks for a very helpful review.
7/10/08 5:31 PM
Amanda S. said...
This looks really nice. I had considered this pattern as well, glad to see your review and that it's boxy. I think I'll pass now. But yours is really pretty. How did you apply the cording to the topstitching?
7/10/08 5:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Butterick 5556

photo
by: Kiwi Natio...

Review

Pattern

HotPatterns 1121

photo
by: michellep7...

Review
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Buy Now