Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1036 thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1193 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 43 people   
Reviewed by:Shannon Gifford
photo
About Shannon Giffordstar
GA USA
Member since: 3/20/02
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/08 5:22 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Amanda S. said...
This looks really nice. I had considered this pattern as well, glad to see your review and that it's boxy. I think I'll pass now. But yours is really pretty. How did you apply the cording to the topstitching?
7/10/08 5:29 PM
Winifred said...
This is beautiful and I can see what a great deal of work it must have been. Thanks for a very helpful review.
7/10/08 5:31 PM
Shannon Gifford said...
Amanda, I applied the cord by hand. I tested a zigzag stitch, but it caused a pucker in the fabric. Hand-stitching was the only viable option:)
7/10/08 6:22 PM
Caitycat said...
Beautiful job - what a stunnig jacket! Love the detail on the sleeves. Thanks for the review, I've been eyeing off this pattern too.
7/10/08 6:32 PM
papago said...
Really pretty jacket. Beautiful detail.
7/10/08 6:40 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful jacket -- I love the way you set off the topstitching with the contrast rayon cording. That must have taken forever! Thanks for the closeup of the gorgeous sleeve detail.
7/10/08 6:49 PM
Terri Smith said...
Beautiful work, lovely jacket.
7/10/08 7:02 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful jacket! I love how you did the cording. I've been wanting to sew this pattern but after your review now I'm not so sure. I wanted a jacket with a lot of shape. Thanks for the informative review. It will be very helpful if I do decide to go ahead with this pattern.
7/10/08 7:07 PM
Karen8320 said...
Shannon, it's wonderful to see your work! Thanks for sharing your insights of this pattern. You've really done a fabulous job here. The thought of a jacket in ivory raw silk is very appealing. I love what you've done with the cord trim. It really gives this garment a very couture look. It's beautiful!
7/10/08 9:18 PM
lmg said...
Just a lovely jacket!!!. The cording is fabulous. I too had trouble with the back waistband but thought it was just me. And it is a bit boxy, but I love the details.
7/10/08 9:27 PM
Karen6790 said...
Shannon, that sleeve detail photo is just beautiful. I love the cording and and applaud your patience for sewing it on by hand. It makes all the difference. Wonderful jacket.
7/10/08 9:34 PM
MaryBeth said...
Thx for a great review. This pattern is on my list and I would have done the subtle color topstitching you did. You've saved me a ton of work!
7/10/08 10:12 PM
goldenthreads said...
Beautiful jacket. Your topstitching is flawless.
7/11/08 4:54 AM
carolynw said...
Excellent job - your jacket looks lovely - all your hard work has sure paid off
7/11/08 8:22 AM
AuntieShel said...
Oooooh, absolutely fabulous jacket!!!
7/11/08 8:38 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Really neat stitching!
7/11/08 9:17 AM
Lisa Laree said...
I've got this pattern mentally matched w/some stashed wool for a fall/winter outfit (maybe this fall/winter...maybe not...); I really appreciate your tips!!!
7/11/08 9:47 AM
Karine said...
Thanks for the helpful review. Your jacket is just incredible!
7/11/08 10:01 AM
cindyann said...
Just lovely! The rayon cording is perfection. Thank you for the excellent review.
7/11/08 10:33 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Very informative review - you include the exact details others need to know. Your version is lovely - the contrast rayon cording is brilliant!
7/11/08 12:17 PM
VtMartha said...
Hmm! I can't open the photos. They begin to open in FoPR and then switch to a photobucket site of family pix. I'd love to see as it sounds wonderful.
7/11/08 2:50 PM
moushka said...
Mmmm, boxy works for me, lol, so now this is a contender where I thought it wouldn't be. I'm really into 'essence of waist,' with just a tiny nip-in about an inch above where my waist should be. Counteracts the four-square look of the real thing. I really think Sandra designs for the more mature figure that is spreading a bit in the middle so I'm glad to see the sleeve detail. You've really taken this jacket to another level with the silk fabric and cording, Shannon. Beautiful job. I think this is worth doing, especially if you have fabulous hands to show off.
7/11/08 3:26 PM
VtMartha said...
Picture glitch seems to have resolved. This is gorgeous!
7/11/08 5:07 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Your jacket looks beautiful - I love love love the sleeve detail!
7/12/08 1:43 AM
Dei said...
Detail heaven. Your accomplished skills shine.
7/12/08 6:48 AM
blue mooney said...
Not boring to me - looks very "Ladies who lunch"! Thanks for your insights.
7/13/08 9:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Pate Meadows Cuff-top valance
photo
Review by halleyscom... on 6/15/08
Read Review

Vogue 1383 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1383 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2215 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2215 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns V8507
photo
Review by MaryBeth on 8/13/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us