Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Amy Butler: AB036BI (Birdie Sling) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 446 times 43 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Avienndha
photo
About Avienndhastar
CT USA
Member since: 2/4/07
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/08 6:38 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
christea said...
I'm about to sew this myself. Thanks for review-also, where did you get those lovely fabrics you used in both your projects?
7/10/08 7:55 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Absolutely adorable!!! I love the fabrics you used with it too - it makes me want to sew my pattern up!
7/10/08 7:56 PM
Avienndha said...
Thank you! I got both at Joann Fabrics. All the linen was 60% off, couldn't pass it up!
7/10/08 9:00 PM
Deborah K said...
Crazy question, but, would this bag work well as a grocery bag? (I would probably leave out the lining, except for the top part. What do you think?
7/11/08 1:40 AM
Darla in PA said...
Very cute bag! The fabrics are really cute.
7/11/08 7:08 AM
Avienndha said...
Deborah, I would say yes to the grocery bag if you're only popping in for a few items. It's huge honestly! I often throw a few items in there when at the store rather than using a bag. Maybe line it with oil cloth so you can wipe it out? Thanks for the comment!
7/11/08 8:47 AM
Annelisa said...
This is such an adorable bag, great choice of fabric combination. This one is on my to do list as well.
7/12/08 2:16 AM
roxierocks said...
Lovely. I just bought the pattern and can't wait to make it. What I do about keys: make a long skinny "handle" out of your scrap material that is left over and purchase one of those lobster claw hooks and sew it on the end. Take out your side seam about 4 or so inches from the top side, insert the raw end of the "handle or belt" and sew it in by re-seaming what you opened. Make sure the end will rest on the bottom of the bag or with the weight of your keys attached itt will cause the top to flop over. Problem solved. Works great every time. Then, just grab the belt, pull it up to you and there are your keys. Good luck.
9/29/08 7:21 PM
crazygrad said...
Nice bag! Love that fabric!
10/18/08 4:09 PM
arlo said...
@roxierocks: great suggestion - I'm going to use this!
7/20/10 6:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Vogue Patterns 1027 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by imsewcrazy on 6/5/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4033 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4033 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2569 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 2569 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Bullard Design Go On & Knit
photo
Review by SueV on 8/17/08
Read Review

Simple Things The Hobo Bag Digital Pattern
Simple Things The Hobo Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern
SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us