SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB036BI (Birdie Sling)

44 more reviews
Viewed 447 times 
Reviewed by:Avienndha
photo

 
 
About Avienndhastar
CT USA
Member since: 2/4/07
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/08 6:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
christea said...
I'm about to sew this myself. Thanks for review-also, where did you get those lovely fabrics you used in both your projects?
7/10/08 7:55 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Absolutely adorable!!! I love the fabrics you used with it too - it makes me want to sew my pattern up!
7/10/08 7:56 PM
Avienndha said...
Thank you! I got both at Joann Fabrics. All the linen was 60% off, couldn't pass it up!
7/10/08 9:00 PM
Deborah K said...
Crazy question, but, would this bag work well as a grocery bag? (I would probably leave out the lining, except for the top part. What do you think?
7/11/08 1:40 AM
Darla in PA said...
Very cute bag! The fabrics are really cute.
7/11/08 7:08 AM
Avienndha said...
Deborah, I would say yes to the grocery bag if you're only popping in for a few items. It's huge honestly! I often throw a few items in there when at the store rather than using a bag. Maybe line it with oil cloth so you can wipe it out? Thanks for the comment!
7/11/08 8:47 AM
Annelisa said...
This is such an adorable bag, great choice of fabric combination. This one is on my to do list as well.
7/12/08 2:16 AM
roxierocks said...
Lovely. I just bought the pattern and can't wait to make it. What I do about keys: make a long skinny "handle" out of your scrap material that is left over and purchase one of those lobster claw hooks and sew it on the end. Take out your side seam about 4 or so inches from the top side, insert the raw end of the "handle or belt" and sew it in by re-seaming what you opened. Make sure the end will rest on the bottom of the bag or with the weight of your keys attached itt will cause the top to flop over. Problem solved. Works great every time. Then, just grab the belt, pull it up to you and there are your keys. Good luck.
9/29/08 7:21 PM
crazygrad said...
Nice bag! Love that fabric!
10/18/08 4:09 PM
arlo said...
@roxierocks: great suggestion - I'm going to use this!
7/20/10 6:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 4444

photo
by: Kiwi Natio...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now