SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Stretch & Sew> F828 (Misses' Tank Swimsuit)

Viewed 474 times 
Reviewed by:tucci4me
photo

 
 
About tucci4mestar
CA USA
Member since: 5/22/07
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/08 12:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
tucci4me said...
Hi Folks, thanks for all the lovely compliments. It makes it worth actually posing for the photo. Oh, and yes Lisa, I did put in the bandeau (shelf bra) lining and it seems to be adequate support. I skipped the bra cups because the suit I was copying didn't have them either.
7/14/08 11:41 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Well done - this looks fabulous on you - love the fabric.
7/14/08 10:08 AM
Jolet said...
Hi, what a challenge! I've never tried to make a swimsuit. But with your review and suggestions I might try it!!
7/12/08 2:56 PM
Peggy L said...
Great suit. I really like the fabric you used. Stretch & Sew always have great directions.
7/12/08 8:38 AM
Darla in PA said...
Beautiful swimsuit! It looks wonderful on you.
7/12/08 7:40 AM
Karen8320 said...
Fantastic work, Ann, and thanks for modelling your swimsuit. You look terrific in it!!! You've done a great job in modifying your pattern to give you a look you wanted. Well done!
7/12/08 6:15 AM
Cre8tv said...
Great looking suit! I like how you modified based on a well-loved suit. Is there any *reinforcement* for the bust area?
7/12/08 0:16 AM
sewbehind said...
You would long and hard before you found a suit like this. Congratulations! You look great by the way.
7/11/08 6:14 PM
tucci4me said...
Hi kellyt, the pattern has a chart that explains what length elastic to use for each size. At the bottom of each chart for neckline, arms and leg elastic it gives you a ratio, for instance the neckline is a 1:1 ratio minus 2 inches. I just turned my measuring tape on edge and measured the outside edge of each pattern piece. Then I subtracted the seam allowances and used their suggested ratios and it worked out great.
7/11/08 4:54 PM
JuliaS said...
That is a fantastic swimsuit! I've been mulling trying out swimwear myself and it is so helpful to see great examples like yours.
7/11/08 3:57 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Great-looking suit! With the small amount of fabric required to make a suit like this, it's a wonder we all haven't tried making one (or more). A real cost-savings and fantastic fit can't be beat! Nice job!
7/11/08 2:20 PM
Lynngray said...
Wow, it looks great on you. Great Job
7/11/08 1:28 PM
kellyt said...
Your suit came out great! How did you figure out the elastic length for your alterations?
7/11/08 1:28 PM
Jatman said...
Your suit looks like dynamite on you! Nice job!
7/11/08 1:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now