SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Stretch & Sew> F828 (Misses' Tank Swimsuit)

Viewed 472 times 
Reviewed by:tucci4me
photo

 
 
About tucci4mestar
CA USA
Member since: 5/22/07
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/08 12:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
tucci4me said...
Hi Folks, thanks for all the lovely compliments. It makes it worth actually posing for the photo. Oh, and yes Lisa, I did put in the bandeau (shelf bra) lining and it seems to be adequate support. I skipped the bra cups because the suit I was copying didn't have them either.
7/14/08 11:41 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Well done - this looks fabulous on you - love the fabric.
7/14/08 10:08 AM
Jolet said...
Hi, what a challenge! I've never tried to make a swimsuit. But with your review and suggestions I might try it!!
7/12/08 2:56 PM
Peggy L said...
Great suit. I really like the fabric you used. Stretch & Sew always have great directions.
7/12/08 8:38 AM
Darla in PA said...
Beautiful swimsuit! It looks wonderful on you.
7/12/08 7:40 AM
Karen8320 said...
Fantastic work, Ann, and thanks for modelling your swimsuit. You look terrific in it!!! You've done a great job in modifying your pattern to give you a look you wanted. Well done!
7/12/08 6:15 AM
Cre8tv said...
Great looking suit! I like how you modified based on a well-loved suit. Is there any *reinforcement* for the bust area?
7/12/08 0:16 AM
sewbehind said...
You would long and hard before you found a suit like this. Congratulations! You look great by the way.
7/11/08 6:14 PM
tucci4me said...
Hi kellyt, the pattern has a chart that explains what length elastic to use for each size. At the bottom of each chart for neckline, arms and leg elastic it gives you a ratio, for instance the neckline is a 1:1 ratio minus 2 inches. I just turned my measuring tape on edge and measured the outside edge of each pattern piece. Then I subtracted the seam allowances and used their suggested ratios and it worked out great.
7/11/08 4:54 PM
JuliaS said...
That is a fantastic swimsuit! I've been mulling trying out swimwear myself and it is so helpful to see great examples like yours.
7/11/08 3:57 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Great-looking suit! With the small amount of fabric required to make a suit like this, it's a wonder we all haven't tried making one (or more). A real cost-savings and fantastic fit can't be beat! Nice job!
7/11/08 2:20 PM
Lynngray said...
Wow, it looks great on you. Great Job
7/11/08 1:28 PM
kellyt said...
Your suit came out great! How did you figure out the elastic length for your alterations?
7/11/08 1:28 PM
Jatman said...
Your suit looks like dynamite on you! Nice job!
7/11/08 1:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

More Info
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

More Info
Simplicity 9819OOP

photo
by: mscstone

Review