SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2003-115 (Jacket - princess line seams)

Viewed 516 times 
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 147
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 134 people
patterns reviewed: 142
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/13/08 10:04 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
Impeccable fit--endless style! Great review that will be most helpful to me and others. You look great in your jacket.
7/13/08 10:14 AM
QuiltersFan said...
As always I enjoyed you review and the details you provide. The jacket is lovely. I am a fan of this style of jacket as well.
7/13/08 10:23 AM
Winifred said...
Super jacket! You mentioned that you interfaced the seams. Can you explain this technique or is it fusible stay tape?
7/13/08 10:44 AM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful jacket, well executed. I agree with you about the BWOF patterns that are classic and timeless. Well done.
7/13/08 10:57 AM
papago said...
Just beautiful on you!!
7/13/08 11:13 AM
cindyann said...
Exceptional work! That's really lovely fabric.
7/13/08 11:49 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Really a beautiful jacket outside and inside!
7/13/08 12:01 PM
Kay Y said...
Your jacket is gorgeous! I too constantly refer to the Singer book on tailoring.
7/13/08 12:22 PM
Charlene McGill said...
Your jacket is beautiful and fits very well.
7/13/08 12:37 PM
nancy2001 said...
Absolutely stunning jacket with beautiful workmanship. I'm going to order a copy of the Singer book.
7/13/08 12:52 PM
Heatherrique said...
A classic that never goes out of style! You created such a beautiful and chic jacket! Thanks for a very informative review!
7/13/08 1:12 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful details and workmanship! The jacket is gorgeous.
7/13/08 1:24 PM
Peggy said...
lovely jacket!
7/13/08 2:57 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful jacket, Sigrid !
7/13/08 3:37 PM
Puppy said...
Ohhhh! I'm salivating over this. That is a wonderful jacket! It looks like very high end RTW. You do beautiful work. I love the pattern (I'm a fool for mandarin collars) and the fabric is yummy.
7/13/08 3:46 PM
MissCelie said...
The *library*?? Sigrid, not only do you have us jealous with your amazing sewing skills, you've got to make us imagine a world where the library carries BWOF?? Lovely jacket. I have this issue and the jacket I want to make is in it too.
7/13/08 4:08 PM
nellc said...
Beautiful jacket, and a wonderfully detailed review.
7/13/08 4:27 PM
Sigrid. said...
Thank you all for your positive comments. Winifred: I take ca. 4 cm of fusible interfacing that I fuse on the hemline. Upper side cut with pinking shears to avoid a straight line. This is not in the book mentioned, but something I learned long ago. !Comment and review edited to change the word seam to hem! I did not interface all seams. Translation mistake.
7/13/08 4:55 PM
Squeezylemon said...
A stunning jacket! Makes me glad I've kept all my BWOF magazines even though it's tempting to have a clear out now and again!
7/13/08 6:27 PM
mClones said...
Beautiful fit. Excellent jacket.
7/13/08 10:21 PM
Annette1 said...
This jacket is PURE PERFECTION, Sigrid. It fits you beautifully in every respect (I suppose due to that whole muslin thing, huh :O)? I REALLY like your "unofficial" method of doing the FBA. I'm going to try that, too. (Just bookmarked "Sigrid's Boucle Jacket.") Five years old, perhaps, but a true classic NEVER goes out of style. Whenever I'm looking at a stand-up collar, I always look for that curved collar piece just as this jacket has. The collar lays so nicely then. I LOVE THIS! Oh, yeah, and the book looks like a great reference, too. I'd better see if it's on Amazon. :o) Excellent review!
7/14/08 0:23 AM
Laurasews said...
Gorgeous jacket. And from the picture, I would not have noticed it. This pattern is very flattering to you.
7/14/08 0:27 AM
Fran G said...
Lovely jacket, Sigrid!You do beautiful work!
7/14/08 6:43 AM
Jane S said...
Fabulous jacket, terrific review, a joy to see on you and a mini-tailoring class in your comments.
7/14/08 8:08 AM
Mahler said...
Oh la la ! This is classy and chic and yet you can wear it with jeans. Prachtig ! Your review is excellent, a real exemple to follow. Thank you for taking the time to write all those informations and take those pictures.
7/14/08 11:18 AM
marjenann said...
Magnifico!!! -Annette
7/14/08 2:32 PM
Marji said...
Sigrid this turned out fabulously well. You have a gorgeous and timeless jacket that you should be able to wear for years. As always, your construction and your details are impeccable. Thank you for the great job of documenting your process here.
7/14/08 3:20 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very beautiful jacket and the fit is perfect. Lovely Sigrid!
7/17/08 0:11 AM
BeckyMc said...
Absolutely beautiful! You inspire me to get busy on a jacket of my own.
7/23/08 1:33 AM
pdiddly said...
what a beautiful jacket - I am tryig to improve my tayloring techniques too so have ordered the book it looks great. Have never made a burda pattern from the magazine after seeing such lovely garments must give it a try.
3/10/11 2:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 1160

photo
by: VirginiasD...

Review
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now