Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2003-115 (Jacket - princess line seams) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 515 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 144
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 132 people
patterns reviewed: 139
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/13/08 10:04 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
Impeccable fit--endless style! Great review that will be most helpful to me and others. You look great in your jacket.
7/13/08 10:14 AM
QuiltersFan said...
As always I enjoyed you review and the details you provide. The jacket is lovely. I am a fan of this style of jacket as well.
7/13/08 10:23 AM
Winifred said...
Super jacket! You mentioned that you interfaced the seams. Can you explain this technique or is it fusible stay tape?
7/13/08 10:44 AM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful jacket, well executed. I agree with you about the BWOF patterns that are classic and timeless. Well done.
7/13/08 10:57 AM
papago said...
Just beautiful on you!!
7/13/08 11:13 AM
cindyann said...
Exceptional work! That's really lovely fabric.
7/13/08 11:49 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Really a beautiful jacket outside and inside!
7/13/08 12:01 PM
Kay Y said...
Your jacket is gorgeous! I too constantly refer to the Singer book on tailoring.
7/13/08 12:22 PM
Charlene McGill said...
Your jacket is beautiful and fits very well.
7/13/08 12:37 PM
nancy2001 said...
Absolutely stunning jacket with beautiful workmanship. I'm going to order a copy of the Singer book.
7/13/08 12:52 PM
Heatherrique said...
A classic that never goes out of style! You created such a beautiful and chic jacket! Thanks for a very informative review!
7/13/08 1:12 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful details and workmanship! The jacket is gorgeous.
7/13/08 1:24 PM
Peggy said...
lovely jacket!
7/13/08 2:57 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful jacket, Sigrid !
7/13/08 3:37 PM
Puppy said...
Ohhhh! I'm salivating over this. That is a wonderful jacket! It looks like very high end RTW. You do beautiful work. I love the pattern (I'm a fool for mandarin collars) and the fabric is yummy.
7/13/08 3:46 PM
MissCelie said...
The *library*?? Sigrid, not only do you have us jealous with your amazing sewing skills, you've got to make us imagine a world where the library carries BWOF?? Lovely jacket. I have this issue and the jacket I want to make is in it too.
7/13/08 4:08 PM
nellc said...
Beautiful jacket, and a wonderfully detailed review.
7/13/08 4:27 PM
Sigrid. said...
Thank you all for your positive comments. Winifred: I take ca. 4 cm of fusible interfacing that I fuse on the hemline. Upper side cut with pinking shears to avoid a straight line. This is not in the book mentioned, but something I learned long ago. !Comment and review edited to change the word seam to hem! I did not interface all seams. Translation mistake.
7/13/08 4:55 PM
Squeezylemon said...
A stunning jacket! Makes me glad I've kept all my BWOF magazines even though it's tempting to have a clear out now and again!
7/13/08 6:27 PM
mClones said...
Beautiful fit. Excellent jacket.
7/13/08 10:21 PM
Annette1 said...
This jacket is PURE PERFECTION, Sigrid. It fits you beautifully in every respect (I suppose due to that whole muslin thing, huh :O)? I REALLY like your "unofficial" method of doing the FBA. I'm going to try that, too. (Just bookmarked "Sigrid's Boucle Jacket.") Five years old, perhaps, but a true classic NEVER goes out of style. Whenever I'm looking at a stand-up collar, I always look for that curved collar piece just as this jacket has. The collar lays so nicely then. I LOVE THIS! Oh, yeah, and the book looks like a great reference, too. I'd better see if it's on Amazon. :o) Excellent review!
7/14/08 0:23 AM
Laurasews said...
Gorgeous jacket. And from the picture, I would not have noticed it. This pattern is very flattering to you.
7/14/08 0:27 AM
Fran G said...
Lovely jacket, Sigrid!You do beautiful work!
7/14/08 6:43 AM
Jane S said...
Fabulous jacket, terrific review, a joy to see on you and a mini-tailoring class in your comments.
7/14/08 8:08 AM
Mahler said...
Oh la la ! This is classy and chic and yet you can wear it with jeans. Prachtig ! Your review is excellent, a real exemple to follow. Thank you for taking the time to write all those informations and take those pictures.
7/14/08 11:18 AM
marjenann said...
Magnifico!!! -Annette
7/14/08 2:32 PM
Marji said...
Sigrid this turned out fabulously well. You have a gorgeous and timeless jacket that you should be able to wear for years. As always, your construction and your details are impeccable. Thank you for the great job of documenting your process here.
7/14/08 3:20 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very beautiful jacket and the fit is perfect. Lovely Sigrid!
7/17/08 0:11 AM
BeckyMc said...
Absolutely beautiful! You inspire me to get busy on a jacket of my own.
7/23/08 1:33 AM
pdiddly said...
what a beautiful jacket - I am tryig to improve my tayloring techniques too so have ordered the book it looks great. Have never made a burda pattern from the magazine after seeing such lovely garments must give it a try.
3/10/11 2:59 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Other Baby Couture - headband
photo
Review by Sandi S on 10/31/08
Read Review

Kat Strapless Dress
Kat Strapless Dress

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 7872
photo
Review by Lhan on 4/28/06
Read Review

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5545 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
Butterick 5545 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7614 Pattern
Burda 7614 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us