SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8096 (Vogue Men shirts)

3 more reviews
Viewed 276 times 
Reviewed by:Beech FiveEight
photo

 
 
About Beech FiveEightstar
MA USA
Member since: 5/29/08
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/13/08 4:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
frame said...
Nice job. I really like the fabric you used. Thanks for the helpful review.
7/13/08 5:20 PM
Beek said...
Great looking shirt and pants. I always felt that mens' clothing is SO much more difficult and time consuming than womens' clothing. So my hat is off to you!
7/13/08 5:24 PM
Fictionfan said...
WOW! This is a great looking shirt! Beautiful job on the felled seams.
7/13/08 5:57 PM
Lynngray said...
Great job. I just got this pattern also. I'm hoping I will be able to do it. Thanks for the great review.
7/13/08 6:16 PM
Kay Y said...
IMO the collar & stand is one of the trickiest things to sew in the entire world and your results look very professional. Superb.
7/13/08 8:41 PM
Karen8320 said...
Fantastic work!!! You have done such a great job on that collar and on the felled seams. I am really impressed by your work. This is a seriously smart looking shirt!
7/13/08 9:02 PM
Annette1 said...
Man, you look like a million bucks in this outfit! Very classy. :o) Look how PEREFCTLY the lines on your pocket line up with the lines on the shirt. Is this trick photography? Ha! I do envy you being in Boston with (I would imagine) lots of wonderful fabrics from which to choose.
7/13/08 11:20 PM
Margie T said...
Congratulations on a great shirt.
7/14/08 2:57 AM
Athene said...
Definitely very impressive results - I appreciate just how much time it takes to make a good looking mens shirt.
7/14/08 4:27 AM
Bernadette W said...
Beautiful work--you rock!
7/14/08 10:31 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - you did a great job.
7/14/08 10:48 AM
Kbenco said...
I have this pattern but am unbelievably chicken about making a shirt for my husband. I think mens' clothing looks really tricky to sew. You have done a fantastic job. Thank you for your very helpful review.
7/15/08 5:48 AM
Beech FiveEight said...
I want to thank you all for your kind comments. You all are really great. I have been thinking about what y'all are saying about men's wear being difficult to make. I think I feel the same way about making clothes for DW. You just have a horse-sense of what works and what doesn't. Not having this just puts you outside of your comfort zone. I think dresses are hard!!! So the one thing that gives me the comfort zone when I sew women's clothing is to measure meticulously. I keep a ruler (in metric!) at the sewing table, and another one at the ironing board-just like having a pair of clippers at each sewing machine. You don't want to have to go looking for something when you need it so often. Anyhoo, this was my crutch, might work for you. Mark Zieg
7/15/08 7:46 PM
EveS said...
Great shirt!! I'm one of the "odd" ones that likes to make men's shirts...lots of straight lines and cooperative fabric. A refreshing change from darts, gathers, zippers, sheers,........ Nice work and helpful review!
9/25/08 11:55 PM
MaryBeth said...
I love making men's shirts, have used this pattern and appreciate your review and photos. Nice to get a stitching man's view point. Your fabric photographs well. It is hard to find good men's shirtings but MichaelsFabrics.com gets some nice ones in (Zegna). Also Margaret Islander has a DVD you can rent now (!) on attaching the band to the collar and it is a technique I find very helpful. Hope to see more from you!
10/23/08 11:29 AM
Mufffet said...
WOW...great sewing! I like the fabric and the detailing is excellent! It pays to let your little ones use that sewing machine. They grow up sewing!
12/1/08 8:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Butterick 5247

photo
by: Byrdie

Review
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Buy Now