SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8387 (Lined dresses one shoulder)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1491 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 106
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/17/08 1:00 AM
Last Updated:9/11/08 2:19 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
I couldn't post on your blog for some reason. Wanted to let you know the bodice has a great flow. It is a wonderful design- what a great friend you are. That's ALOT of work. I hope you are enjoying the process.
7/16/08 9:09 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks for the feedback. Any thoughts are appreciated! I checked my blog and found my settings were causing people (non-members of blogger) to not be able to post. I changed that now and so thanks for bringing that to my attention:-) Thanks a bunch for the input!!!!
7/16/08 9:26 PM
squirrellypoo said...
wow. I had to do a double-take that the pattern you linked to was the one for that dress! Thanks for all the details in construction - I'm still in the planning stages of my dress but I've got over a year to go... :)
7/17/08 6:19 AM
nancy2001 said...
The tulle skirt looks wonderful, and the gown will be magnificent. To answer the question you posted on your blog, I would definitely curve the short, straight bodice seam so it mirrors the longer one on the other side. I think the asymmetry should stop at the neckline and not extend to the bust. Also, a curved seam would flow with the curve of the neckline and seems much more appropriate in a romantic, ultrafeminine dress like this one.
7/17/08 6:52 AM
Lori V said...
This is such a beautiful gown.
7/17/08 7:12 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Wow that looks amazing - 12 layers and 50 yards? what a great friend (and brave sewer!) you are.
7/17/08 8:26 AM
ryansmumAria said...
I had a second thoght about your bodice. I recall when making a prom dress that the client was torn between two bodices. I quickly made 2 test outs and immediately she knew which was the right one. I spent minimal time on both. HOwever, I do love the lines on this bodice. It's unusual. Good luck
7/17/08 11:46 AM
Athene said...
I will continue to watch your updates with fascination. This gown design looks so beautiful and inspiring.
7/17/08 3:14 PM
Re Becca said...
That looks like it will be fabulous. I don't envy you working with all that tulle! Keep us up to date.
7/17/08 3:22 PM
Terri A said...
The bride is visiting out of town for an extended time (her wedding is in September). Maybe I should do a muslin of each and send her photos. One thing worrying me is that her size fluctuates a lot from like a pattern size ten to a twelve and then back. I had done all this work and made the muslin had fittings used a dressform and thought I covered all the bases:-) haha ----but then when she came over the "real thing" that was interlined and everything was too tight. I pointed out the importance of wearing what you plan to wear for undergarments at the wedding etc... I have to start all over on this bodice and make it bigger and then I wonder will it be too big? After all the work on the skirt I needed a break and made the green dress for my daughter and the ottobre toddler dresses for my friend for fun, just to get my head out of the process and color for awhile. I am learning a lot but I am not a professional and I had sort of thought I was home-free after the skirt was done - but now I am thinking the bodice is the most critical thing. Thanks for all your help and input. This is a new experience for me. The other wedding dress I did was very easy and a different construction altogether. My fav part is when the dress is done and the bride looks happy and proud in her dress!
7/17/08 3:32 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Terri, If there is enough time I would mail her the bodice muslins and have someone pin it on her. I'd include some instructions. Remember to add and EXTRA 1" side seams (a la Sandra Betzina) This means side seams are 1 5/8 inch wide. I'm sure you have learned so much from this project and will emerge a wiser seamstress! I tell myself this each and everytime I sew up a miss and it really is true! I know what NOT to do....
7/17/08 4:26 PM
Terri A said...
I will do that - thanks so much:-) Yes, I am definitely learning what *not* to do each time I sew something! LOL
7/17/08 4:43 PM
indiaw said...
I am in awe of all the layers of tulle you worked with in the skirt. Very lovely. And I agree with nancy about curving the short seam too. Great job.
7/17/08 6:30 PM
Bernadette W said...
Terri-First of all, amazing work on all of these dresses! To give you feedback on the dress bodice--I would agree with nancy2001 about curving both sides of the bodice seams--I found it odd that Vogue used two different seam treatments in the dress pattern that you are using as the basis for this gown. The other point that I would like to address is the issue of size fluctuations so typical of brides. One of my teachers in apparel design classes designed custom wedding gowns--and she finally had to incorporate sizing "rules" into her contracts. Any measurement changes greater than 1/2" up or down after the final fitting would require x-amount per hour of rework time and x amount doubles or triples on an emergency basis! So many brides either pack weight on or lose it due to stress, or decide to go on a strict diet four weeks before the wedding, and hand beading, lace placement and the designer's life all get disrupted. This is harder for the friend/seamstress, with a personal investment in long term bride happiness. I have experienced this first-hand. The one work-around that I can offer that will minimize YOUR stress levels, is to incorporate a lacing or buttoning feature in the back of the bodice which will allow fine tuning ON THE WEDDING DAY. See Vogue 2810 http://www.voguepatterns.com/item/V2810.htm??tab=evening_bridal_includes_designer&page=5 as one example of this treatment. This is unobtrusive, and will be covered by her wedding veil anyway.
7/18/08 1:37 AM
Terri A said...
What great tips - thanks! Yeah - since I am just doing this as a friend and not for profit I am sort of stuck in that regard ... and she isn't planning to wear a veil! No where to hide for me:-) I am learning a lot and I think you are right - it's just brilliant to have en enclosure that can adjust (like lacing) to weight changes! I think lacing is very very elegant too.
7/18/08 2:06 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Terri, I am fascinated to learn that you figured out the differenc cup sizes. That never would have occurred to me! Not only are you learning massive amounts but now you are teacher- hahah. Can't wait to see it done. Too bad that design didn't work-I loved it!
7/22/08 5:29 PM
frogs2 said...
Terri - Great job on redrafting the bodice. The new lines help emphasize the bust curve and the taper at the waist too - I really like this! Nice job!
7/22/08 5:48 PM
Terri A said...
Well, I think it would work especially in the casual dress it was meant for. You could make it a bit loose and it would never show. However, I think the blame lies in the narrow choices for a one shoulder bodice of any kind... and then trying to put in in a tight fitted bodice application, right? I really appreciate everyone's comments. Thanks for the help.
7/22/08 5:51 PM
chacha45 said...
That skirt is breathtaking, like a fairytale princess would wear!
7/22/08 8:38 PM
nancy2001 said...
I love the modified bodice. It's very feminine and blends perfectly with the tulle skirt.
7/22/08 9:10 PM
Puppy said...
Oh, NICE, really, really nice!
8/28/08 9:19 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh my gosh, I LOVE looking at formal dresses, and this gown is STUNNING: the tulle, the buttons, the bodice, the satin, everything single thing about it. :o) The BACK is so pretty. :o) BRAVO!
8/29/08 0:56 AM
Terri A said...
That just makes my whole year:-) Thanks!
8/29/08 1:14 AM
senaSews said...
this is a stunning dress. it looks absolutely fabulous. wow
8/29/08 2:10 AM
Lori V said...
Terri, this dress is stunning. You do such incredible work.
8/29/08 7:11 AM
cindyann said...
That is so beautiful! Very nicely done.
8/29/08 8:14 AM
amy in mpls said...
Yowzas!Great work....such a beautiful dress. She is going L O V E it!
8/29/08 8:46 AM
michellep74 said...
Wow--what a gorgeous dress and an inspiration to those of who someday might choose to sew a wedding dress!
8/29/08 11:14 AM
celeste said...
congrats! what a professional job you did on such a difficult dress! any bride would be proud to wear it.
8/29/08 12:19 PM
Nancy Anne said...
How breathtaking! I am having a hard time trying to envision any bride being anything but thrilled with such a stunning creation! (And by the way, that is no longer a Vogue pattern- I don't even think it qualifies as the essence of Vogue 8387 anymore.)
8/29/08 8:02 PM
nancy2001 said...
What a stunning gown -- fit for a fairy princess. I love the redrafted bodice -- it's exactly right. Congratulations.
8/29/08 10:30 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks for your help in the making of it:-) Really appreciated it!
9/5/08 7:20 PM
alisono said...
Such a beautiful dress. I'm not surprised she's happy -- she will look stunning.
9/11/08 4:37 AM
carolynw said...
This is just so beautiful - you did an extraordinary piece of work here - bride should be totally happy with the end result - truly beautiful
9/11/08 9:09 AM
Em's Summer said...
You worked hard on this and it turned out beautifully!
9/11/08 11:07 AM
MagpieJen said...
*swoon* It's like she's walking on the clouds or something. Truly a work of art.
9/11/08 12:25 PM
Karendee said...
Amazing work! Beautiful.
9/11/08 12:39 PM
Mufffet said...
What a beautiful dress!! WOW...it looks so professional. I like that photograph - it looks professional as well!
9/11/08 5:05 PM
nancy2001 said...
The dress you made looks stunning on the radiant bride. It really is magnificent.
9/11/08 7:52 PM
Heatherrique said...
Breathtakingly beautiful, Terri! Thanks for sharing your sewing journey!
9/12/08 5:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

McCall's 6503

photo
by: charwith

Review
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Buy Now
McCall's 6139

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review