SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 509-1007 (Dress Form from Dress Pattern)

Viewed 857 times 
Reviewed by:Miss Fairchild
photo

 
 
About Miss Fairchildstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 82
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/08 4:50 PM
Last Updated:7/10/10 9:38 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JillyBe said...
MissF you are amazing! I will feel incredibly lucky if I can make my vintage Queen work w/ the FF shell & padding....but if I have any issues I'll know who to turn to! ;-D
12/17/10 12:20 PM
katie lynne said...
Well, this is just a fantastic solution! What a great job you did, on the form and explaining your process. You've helped me immensely, as I have been vacillating as to what course to take. This really seems to be the best solution as there wouldn't be the added dimension that the various tapes would inherently provide.
12/28/08 7:37 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Hi Jean! Your idea of putting it on an already existing dress form is a good one, however, for me, it didn't work. What I found with dress forms, no matter how small they are is that the bust is a standard cup size (fuller than me) and higher than me (most of my bust measurement comes from my back, which rolls forward). When I had my first DTD made, I put it over a Dritz form and this is where I found the problem. I didn't mention that when I made this particular form that's reviewed here, I put it over my antique Acme dress form (adjustable form from the 40's to 50's) and found that the shoulders didn't fit (the shoulders on the Acme were longer than the ones on my form). Also, one side of my body rolls forward much more than the other, and that didn't work either. But if you don't have those kinds of problems, go for it! It does save time, and you can take the fitting shell off and put another (for someone else) on over your form, making it very interchangeable.
12/5/08 8:26 AM
jeanharville said...
Beth, Your information is very helpful. Do you think it would work to make the shell, put it on a My Twin form (that's too small) and then stuff it with the batting or foam to fill it out. If this would work, it would be easier to make. What do you think. jean
12/4/08 2:25 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Well, thank you, Lily. I enjoy your reviews and to receive a compliment from you is an honor!
9/5/08 10:01 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Great, great inspiring review, Beth, proving once again that "necessity is the mother of invention" and you have invented a perfect solution to your dressform solution. How proud you must feel of yourself; this is quite an achievement! It's lovely, Lily
9/5/08 2:13 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Thanks for the update! I've been collecting bags of polyfill from the thrift store, so I just need to dive in and DO IT! And another thanks for giving me the courage....
9/5/08 11:14 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Luckylibbet, it's pure fluff (what's in the form). I used about three bags to fill it, and it still needs a little more fluff on the shoulders because the piping made them too stiff. I see I didn't add what I used to fill it, so I'll edit the review. Thank you for pointing this out!
9/5/08 8:26 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thanks, Mufffet!
9/5/08 8:23 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Good looking form! Can you tell me what is underneath - kinda looks like your duct tape form? or did you stuff it with batting/polyfill? I've been attempting the same thing and getting stuck on the fill. Also for cre8tv - you'll LOVE the book! Excellent directions.
9/4/08 10:22 AM
Mufffet said...
Beth! Great review of the process. Your quest for the form has turned out very well. :)
9/4/08 9:52 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Review is finished. Note the hat...
9/3/08 4:49 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thank you! I'm still waiting for the stand, and when I get this, I'll finish the review.
7/23/08 11:57 AM
Athene said...
I love this type of review - thank you for sharing - your dress form looks really good.
7/22/08 7:45 PM
Cre8tv said...
"European Cut" by Elizabeth Allemong. It is self published. There are two book reviews on this site plus a pattern review for the skirt. It's a college level course that I am planning to start once my kids are back in school this fall.
7/21/08 11:18 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
A sloper is a sort of flat pattern that is used to create other patterns, including a fitting shell. It has no ease or design details. I'm curious as to the name of your book.
7/19/08 11:38 AM
Cre8tv said...
Thanks for sharing your dress form quest. Is the shell the same as a "sloper"? I just purchased a book on making slopers and wondered if this would do the trick also. Thanks
7/18/08 10:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Cutting Line Designs 50112

photo
by: marthamyer...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

More Info