Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 509-1007 (Dress Form from Dress Pattern) - Type:Other    printable version
Viewed 850 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Miss Fairchild
photo
Friend of PR
About Miss Fairchildstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 82
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/08 4:50 PM
Last Updated:7/10/10 9:38 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cre8tv said...
Thanks for sharing your dress form quest. Is the shell the same as a "sloper"? I just purchased a book on making slopers and wondered if this would do the trick also. Thanks
7/18/08 10:36 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
A sloper is a sort of flat pattern that is used to create other patterns, including a fitting shell. It has no ease or design details. I'm curious as to the name of your book.
7/19/08 11:38 AM
Cre8tv said...
"European Cut" by Elizabeth Allemong. It is self published. There are two book reviews on this site plus a pattern review for the skirt. It's a college level course that I am planning to start once my kids are back in school this fall.
7/21/08 11:18 AM
Athene said...
I love this type of review - thank you for sharing - your dress form looks really good.
7/22/08 7:45 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thank you! I'm still waiting for the stand, and when I get this, I'll finish the review.
7/23/08 11:57 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Review is finished. Note the hat...
9/3/08 4:49 PM
Mufffet said...
Beth! Great review of the process. Your quest for the form has turned out very well. :)
9/4/08 9:52 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Good looking form! Can you tell me what is underneath - kinda looks like your duct tape form? or did you stuff it with batting/polyfill? I've been attempting the same thing and getting stuck on the fill. Also for cre8tv - you'll LOVE the book! Excellent directions.
9/4/08 10:22 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thanks, Mufffet!
9/5/08 8:23 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Luckylibbet, it's pure fluff (what's in the form). I used about three bags to fill it, and it still needs a little more fluff on the shoulders because the piping made them too stiff. I see I didn't add what I used to fill it, so I'll edit the review. Thank you for pointing this out!
9/5/08 8:26 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Thanks for the update! I've been collecting bags of polyfill from the thrift store, so I just need to dive in and DO IT! And another thanks for giving me the courage....
9/5/08 11:14 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Great, great inspiring review, Beth, proving once again that "necessity is the mother of invention" and you have invented a perfect solution to your dressform solution. How proud you must feel of yourself; this is quite an achievement! It's lovely, Lily
9/5/08 2:13 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Well, thank you, Lily. I enjoy your reviews and to receive a compliment from you is an honor!
9/5/08 10:01 PM
jeanharville said...
Beth, Your information is very helpful. Do you think it would work to make the shell, put it on a My Twin form (that's too small) and then stuff it with the batting or foam to fill it out. If this would work, it would be easier to make. What do you think. jean
12/4/08 2:25 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Hi Jean! Your idea of putting it on an already existing dress form is a good one, however, for me, it didn't work. What I found with dress forms, no matter how small they are is that the bust is a standard cup size (fuller than me) and higher than me (most of my bust measurement comes from my back, which rolls forward). When I had my first DTD made, I put it over a Dritz form and this is where I found the problem. I didn't mention that when I made this particular form that's reviewed here, I put it over my antique Acme dress form (adjustable form from the 40's to 50's) and found that the shoulders didn't fit (the shoulders on the Acme were longer than the ones on my form). Also, one side of my body rolls forward much more than the other, and that didn't work either. But if you don't have those kinds of problems, go for it! It does save time, and you can take the fitting shell off and put another (for someone else) on over your form, making it very interchangeable.
12/5/08 8:26 AM
katie lynne said...
Well, this is just a fantastic solution! What a great job you did, on the form and explaining your process. You've helped me immensely, as I have been vacillating as to what course to take. This really seems to be the best solution as there wouldn't be the added dimension that the various tapes would inherently provide.
12/28/08 7:37 PM
JillyBe said...
MissF you are amazing! I will feel incredibly lucky if I can make my vintage Queen work w/ the FF shell & padding....but if I have any issues I'll know who to turn to! ;-D
12/17/10 12:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8094
photo
Review by Fran G on 8/28/05
Read Review

McCalls 4675 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 4675 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $16.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1812 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1812 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1878
photo
Review by momsurfing on 5/19/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C
Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us