Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5391 (Misses Shorts) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 467 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:ElizabethK
photo
About ElizabethK
TX
Member since: 3/28/08
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/20/08 9:02 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Fictionfan said...
Very nice job on these shorts! They look great on you, very flattering. Regarding the instructions: I haven't looked at this particular pattern, but I'm guessing that the fly front is like all the other big4 mock fly front instructions. The usual instructions would have told you to sew up the front seam to a large dot, or something. This leaves the top of the seam, where the zipper will go, open for work. You then install the zipper, keeping most of the work flat if you can. Sandra Betzina has a video tutorial on the threads magazine website on installing a fly zipper, and there are a few tutorials on PR as well. Check out Debbie Cook's tutorial, or the sewing divas blogsite for lots of help. Congratulations on your first review! Nicely done (the shorts and the review ;-0 .)
7/20/08 9:39 PM
frame said...
Nice work on your shorts. Great fit.
7/20/08 10:39 PM
CatMukai said...
they look versatile and great for summer-good job!
7/20/08 10:49 PM
Natasha B said...
These shorts look great - your fabric choice and topstitching really makes them look RTW.
7/20/08 11:27 PM
donna mel said...
great fit! maybe i will try to make a pair myself!
7/21/08 7:12 AM
Kim12469 said...
Thank you for the review! I have the material laid out for a pair of these. We are built similiar with not much of a waist and the way you describe these is exactly how I like my pants to fit. They look wonderful. I really like the topstitching.
7/21/08 8:02 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
These looks great on you. And the length looks to be perfect. Another piece well done.
7/21/08 10:31 AM
Nancywin said...
I was looking for a shorts pattern a while back and somehow missed this one. These look great!
7/21/08 10:54 AM
SewLil said...
Great job! I am really happy with mine too and wear them all the time. When I made them, I thought that them not having you take out the zipper stitches was what a "mock fly" was LOL! Debbie Cook enlighted me however. I used the video tutorial by Sandra Betzina on the Threads website for the zip application.
7/21/08 11:58 AM
JMarie1962 said...
These look great on you and you did a really nice job. I picked this pattern up on sale a few weeks ago and also have some of J's lightweight black twill. Great minds think alike! :) Thanks for your review!
7/22/08 6:13 PM
LizBa said...
Thanks for mentioning that these are low rise. I am tall and low-rise pants/shorts rarely work for me.
1/29/10 11:31 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by MissParayi... on 2/21/13
Read Review

Simplicity 2468 Pattern( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2468 Pattern( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6100 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6100 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1886 Misses Top
photo
Review by Sewlful on 8/20/12
Read Review

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us