SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5391 (Misses Shorts)

29 more reviews
Viewed 471 times 
Reviewed by:ElizabethK
photo

 
 
About ElizabethK
TX
Member since: 3/28/08
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/20/08 9:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LizBa said...
Thanks for mentioning that these are low rise. I am tall and low-rise pants/shorts rarely work for me.
1/29/10 11:31 AM
JMarie1962 said...
These look great on you and you did a really nice job. I picked this pattern up on sale a few weeks ago and also have some of J's lightweight black twill. Great minds think alike! :) Thanks for your review!
7/22/08 6:13 PM
SewLil said...
Great job! I am really happy with mine too and wear them all the time. When I made them, I thought that them not having you take out the zipper stitches was what a "mock fly" was LOL! Debbie Cook enlighted me however. I used the video tutorial by Sandra Betzina on the Threads website for the zip application.
7/21/08 11:58 AM
Nancywin said...
I was looking for a shorts pattern a while back and somehow missed this one. These look great!
7/21/08 10:54 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
These looks great on you. And the length looks to be perfect. Another piece well done.
7/21/08 10:31 AM
Kim12469 said...
Thank you for the review! I have the material laid out for a pair of these. We are built similiar with not much of a waist and the way you describe these is exactly how I like my pants to fit. They look wonderful. I really like the topstitching.
7/21/08 8:02 AM
donna mel said...
great fit! maybe i will try to make a pair myself!
7/21/08 7:12 AM
Natasha B said...
These shorts look great - your fabric choice and topstitching really makes them look RTW.
7/20/08 11:27 PM
CatMukai said...
they look versatile and great for summer-good job!
7/20/08 10:49 PM
frame said...
Nice work on your shorts. Great fit.
7/20/08 10:39 PM
Fictionfan said...
Very nice job on these shorts! They look great on you, very flattering. Regarding the instructions: I haven't looked at this particular pattern, but I'm guessing that the fly front is like all the other big4 mock fly front instructions. The usual instructions would have told you to sew up the front seam to a large dot, or something. This leaves the top of the seam, where the zipper will go, open for work. You then install the zipper, keeping most of the work flat if you can. Sandra Betzina has a video tutorial on the threads magazine website on installing a fly zipper, and there are a few tutorials on PR as well. Check out Debbie Cook's tutorial, or the sewing divas blogsite for lots of help. Congratulations on your first review! Nicely done (the shorts and the review ;-0 .)
7/20/08 9:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Simplicity 2315

photo
by: globalgran

Review
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Buy Now