SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Downloadable> 002 (Alison Swimsuit)

9 more reviews
Viewed 815 times 
Reviewed by:Kitty Couture
photo

 
 
About Kitty Couturestarstar
NA FRANCE
Member since: 3/16/04
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 59 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:7/24/08 8:45 AM
Last Updated:7/25/08 5:41 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 23 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kay Y said...
This looks EXTREMELY cute on you! Congrats on proving to yourself you can sew anything (and make it not only work but look great).
7/24/08 8:51 AM
MissCelie said...
I love what you did with the leg bindings. I saw something quite similar at Urban Outfitters recently and it adds such nice punch. You suit looks too good to get wet!
7/24/08 9:01 AM
dbsewer said...
Isabelle this suit looks absolutely adorable on you. You look like you just stepped off the runway and are headed to the Riviera. Great job. Salut.
7/24/08 9:29 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Oh, my goodness! You look so sophisticated in your suit! I would have never thought to add bindings to the legs to make them longer. Brilliant!
7/24/08 9:29 AM
nicegirl said...
Oh my goodness that is TOO cute! I love that you added binding on the legs. The lower leg definitely adds to the vintage feel and makes me like the suit so much more.
7/24/08 9:35 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Wow! This suit suits you perfectly! Your subtle changes and fabric choice make this swimsuit the most stylish I have ever seen! I was viewing the pattern yesterday, but I feared I'd get lost without adequate instructions. I'll download the pattern and wait for your instructions to be posted on your blog, but I wouldn't mind if you posted them on this PR review, too. Thanks for taking on this project; you're a dear for doing so.
7/24/08 9:36 AM
Karen6790 said...
This is just fabulous. I love the vintage aspect of it, and the way you played with the stripes. It looks great on you, so yes, if you can make a bathing suit that looks and fits that good, you can make just about anything.
7/24/08 9:42 AM
LauraLo said...
This is purely gorgeous, Isabelle ma belle et tu es splendide!
7/24/08 10:07 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Fabulous retro suit, Isabelle!! I love this on you (and you've solved the "photos in a swimsuit?" issue perfectly!)! Thanks for the honest opinion about the instructions. I think BurdaStyle really need to separate the patterns that are reprints made in Germany (good instructions and sanity-checked pieces) and the ones made in New York, which seem to be just uploaded on a whim, despite the professional looking photoshoots...
7/24/08 10:12 AM
Amanda S. said...
Great suit! I have the same goal as you, to make everything I wear except for underwear and leatherwear.
7/24/08 10:43 AM
Anabolina said...
Awesome. I so want this now.
7/24/08 11:23 AM
TrixieD said...
Wonderful. I'll check the blog or here for detailed instructions. Your work is terrific and I'm inspired to try my luck with this Burda pattern for swimwear, since nothing I've tried on makes me want to go to the beach. Y
7/24/08 11:26 AM
piffle said...
Wow! This is fantastic!
7/24/08 11:34 AM
Rita K said...
Looks great on you. Love your fabric & the use of it for style interest. Well done!
7/24/08 11:42 AM
michellep74 said...
Wow! You look so glamorous in this! What a fabulous swim suit!
7/24/08 11:51 AM
Twinset said...
Oh la la! You created such a unique and wonderful bathing suit that is really flattering! Impressive!
7/24/08 12:29 PM
Arbicuswoo said...
Another winner, Isabelle! It's so cute and stylish!
7/24/08 1:21 PM
Lori V said...
This looks fantastic on you. It is a great suit and thanks for all the information.
7/24/08 1:54 PM
KrystalL said...
Oh my goodness, what a great looking suit! You look gorgeous and ready to hit the beach!
7/24/08 1:57 PM
tourist said...
Funny - I was just contemplating taking apart and old favourite suit to make a new one and up popped your review, which looks very much like the suit I have! I'm not entirely sure I am ready for such a challenge, but it is great to see it is possible. Thanks!
7/24/08 2:12 PM
Athene said...
You look lovely - this suit has such a nice vintage look to it.
7/24/08 7:43 PM
Cre8tv said...
Very cute and how nice to modify to your liking! Very vintage and unique!
7/24/08 11:23 PM
SusiM said...
Great looking suit!! And thank you so much for all the tips about the pattern. I am definitely going to try this one.
7/25/08 0:15 AM
merteuil said...
Beautiful swimsuit and great review!
7/25/08 2:42 AM
Karen8320 said...
Isabelle, you look so glamorous in this swimsuit! What a fabulous job you've done with this pattern and big thumbs up to you as well for modelling the finished suit. I'm really, really impressed by everything you've done here and impressed as well that you make almost everything you wear. Great stuff!!!
7/25/08 6:59 AM
nellc said...
Fabulous swimsuit, I love the retro styling it looks so glamorous.
7/25/08 7:59 AM
Tiner W said...
Wow! I love your suit! It is truly glamorous!
7/25/08 9:26 AM
Cowtown Karen said...
Beautiful swimsuit. You did an aweome job!
7/25/08 10:01 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Oh this look soooo good! Now I want one too.
7/25/08 11:31 AM
Dei said...
Could you or the suit look any more fabulous! I commend anyone willing to post a pic of themselves on the web and you have done it with elegance and style. The suit is so flattering and your care in construction shows.
7/25/08 1:15 PM
Carolyndh said...
I love the way you modeled your designer swim suit! Beautiful style and colors and you have the figure to show it off well!
7/25/08 3:08 PM
moushka said...
Magnifique, ma chère! Tu fais très védette dans un maillot adorable. You look like a movie star. Fantastic job with an iffy pattern. Congratulations on producing such a glamorous swimsuit. I can't imagine how it could look better. Sue
7/25/08 4:36 PM
Annette1 said...
Isabelle, this is the CUTEST, the CLASSIEST, the most GLAMOROUS swimming suit I've seen all season. You're BEAUTIFUL in it. YES, I'm jealous -- ha!
7/25/08 9:40 PM
Kitty Couture said...
Wow, thanks ladies... I am truly blown away! Merci !!
7/30/08 4:13 AM
Marji said...
This is just fabulous, and thank you for all the pics and the detailed review. I'm going to attempt my own version of this, with some variation, but doubt I'll have the courage you do to photograph myself in it.
8/13/08 8:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Other Sew News Oct. 06

photo
by: SewEccentr...

Review
brerrabbit.com Dove Fitted T

photo
by: ZoSews

Review
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now