Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2139 (Misses Swimsuits) - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 326 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Tonya
photo
About Tonyastarstar
SC USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/27/08 3:02 PM
Last Updated:7/27/08 3:04 PM


See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
tucci4me said...
Tonya, thanks for posing in your suit. Swimsuits cry out to be filled instead of photographed on a hanger. I also found the Kwik Sew swimsuit sizing to be a little short despite my length measurements matching the pattern exactly. This might attribute to your fabric standing away at the back as well as some squashing of the bust in front. There are a bunch of other swimsuit patterns out there so I look forward to seeing another suit in the same fabric. Nicely done!
7/27/08 6:06 PM
fuzzygalore said...
KwikSews are too short for me too, I'm 5'8''. I agree too short would do both of the weird side things. But you could try Jalie, they fit well and their instructions are good. Or you could try the latest burdastyle 'allyson', which is retro but lots more interesting.

That said I like this one, but I like kind of utilitarian swimsuits myself ;-). And I like the color, it'd make it easier to find the body/harder to hit with the jetski?? Seriously, most swimsuit fabrics are nylon, very easy to dye with acid dyes - a pinch of ecru and a squirt of vinegar would tone that right down. Hate those net-related color surprises...
7/27/08 6:27 PM

Arline said...
Nicely done! Re: your complaint about the flattening of the bustline, I'd definitely buy those bust cups (I've bought mine from Joanne's) that are quite firm and therefore project the bust outward and won't squish the ta-ta's. They can be just tacked inside. I use them in RTW suits because virtually all bathing suits now have almost NO bust support - sometimes a flimsy "shelf bra" that is worthless. Bigger girls like me need the projection of the bust to balance out the figure a little bit. It made a world of difference in my last purchased RTW suit. Do consider it; you may be more pleased with your end result of this suit!
7/27/08 6:42 PM
MelC said...
Tonya, I so appreciate your swimsuit review. It is a very basic suit but I think you did a great job. Your fabric choice is wonderful!
7/27/08 9:42 PM
TrixieD said...
Thanks for the review. I purchased material to make my first bathing suit and you have provided valuable info to consider. Well done.
7/27/08 9:51 PM
Karen8320 said...
Tonya, big props to you for posing in your swimsuit!!! The only way the rest of us can tell how a swimsuit looks is to see it on a REAL woman. Thanks so much for your review. I recently made up KS2962 for a swimming friend of mine. I lengthened the body by about 3 inches and my friend swears that it's the best fitting swimsuit she's ever worn. I will look forward to seeing what you come up with next.
7/28/08 4:00 AM
SewingQueenKym said...
Great color. Great sewing. Swimsuits are fun to sew, aren't they? And, now you know the adjustments to make for the next one fit well. I hope you get lots of use out this one after all of your hard work!
7/28/08 4:32 AM
Tonya said...
Thanks for all the kind comments! I agree with you all: I think a increased length adjustment is in order for the next one I make from KS.

Fuzzy, I completely forgot about Jalie! And I did find that BurdaStyle suit in my google search - I think I'm going to try that one next. I actually don't mind the color, it takes attention away from my painfully white skin, lol.

Arline, bust cups are a good idea. They're better at covering the nips than 2 layers of fabric too. I think I'll add them to rescue this suit. :)
7/28/08 9:15 AM

Stitchcakes said...
First of all, you are my hero for posing in your swimsuit! Second, I second the bust cups. They would give better proportion. Also, I really like the color. I might try the contrast side panels myself for the slimming effect and for added interest. Keep on plugging away til you get that perfect suit! Don't wait 12 more years! :-)
7/28/08 10:57 AM
sewmom3 said...
I think you suit looks great! You might want to try a pattern with a center back seam to elminate some of the excess fabric. I made a Kwik Sew girl's racerback pattern for my daughter and it worked out great to customize it for her tiny waist and larger hips.
7/28/08 3:19 PM
Sewingmi said...
Very helplful review, and I really admire you for posing in your suit - which made the review so helpful. I think it looks nice on you. You're right - some pattern designer could really do well making a good swimsuit pattern!
7/29/08 7:26 PM
Mufffet said...
Very nice. I like the color, and I wouldn't worry about the bust flattening - it happens in a lot of swim suits, but the cups may make a more comfy fit as well. :)
8/4/08 2:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Simplicity 4225
photo
Review by Vineta77 on 2/10/10
Read Review

Fanny Pack or Purse
Fanny Pack or Purse

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Light White
PerfectFuse Light White

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4889
photo
Review by tanny76 on 1/6/10
Read Review

Vogue 8821 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8821 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )
McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us