SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> 1737B (DuBarry (vintage slips))

Viewed 517 times 
Reviewed by:MagpieJen
photo

 
 
About MagpieJenstar
CANADA
Member since: 2/22/05
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/25/08 7:36 PM
Last Updated:7/28/08 4:34 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahler said...
Magpie Jen, I thouth I had written a comment for your dress and I realized today I did not... shame on me. The minute you post it, I thought of Kim Basinger in LA Confidential. This is a g-r-e-a-t dress. That yellow is daring and so European chic.
8/17/08 9:59 PM
XandraReynolds said...
This is smashing-right down to dying the fabric yourself! I too, wanted the gown Mrs. Coulter wore!
8/6/08 11:32 PM
sewtime said...
WoW!! You look incredible, beautiful dress. You look so glamorous
7/30/08 9:19 PM
AuntieBat said...
Jean Harlow in the flesh! And I love your daemon. :) Very interesting bust construction; I've never a double side dart like that on lingerie.
7/30/08 1:31 PM
cindyann said...
Lovely! A perfect recreation of that garment.
7/29/08 10:26 AM
KathleenS said...
Great outfit. You do look the part although I haven't seen the film. I've made the Folkwear Intimacies slip pattern and it's an interesting comparison. It's very similar to this but easier, judging from your description. The bust inset seams on that are straighter, there's no bust dart (I found that interesting with yours because it's a surprise that the Folkwear one is okay without it) and no side closure. Bias will usually narrow as it hangs so the amount of ease on this may be reasonable (although of course it depends on the desired fit).
7/29/08 1:03 AM
Speech girl said...
Simply stunning dress.
7/28/08 11:00 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
You nailed it. Beautifully crafted.
7/28/08 9:44 PM
MWsews said...
Beautiful dress
7/28/08 8:58 PM
Linda F said...
Gorgeous outfit. It looks absolutely fabulous on you.
7/28/08 6:55 PM
sewgramma said...
BEAUTIFUL!!! You did a fabulous job choosing your fabric to complement your coloring & pattern style. Oh, & your construction looks flawless too! I love these old patterns & kudos to you for doing justice to it.
7/28/08 5:03 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW...terrific job. You could wear this formally, and not as a costume, it is THAT lovely. The color is just perfect for you and you look very much "Nicoleish" as well! :)
7/28/08 4:52 PM
cleandirty said...
Love it! This turned out beautifully.
7/28/08 1:44 PM
carolynw said...
This is really beautiful and fits you like a glove - you are totally gorgeous in the outfit.
7/26/08 8:42 AM
BillieJean said...
Awesome outfit!!!
7/26/08 6:33 AM
Annette1 said...
You look like a siren out of a Hollywood movie! What a BEAUTIFUL dress, and you're just GORGEOUS wearing it. Such care you took in the construction, and it really shows! That's one lucky little monkey -- ha!
7/26/08 1:52 AM
mastdenman said...
Fabulous dress.
7/25/08 10:49 PM
JenSews2 said...
Fabulous! What a great way to modify a pattern to suit your needs!
7/25/08 10:19 PM
Heatherrique said...
You look marvelous and mesmerizing! You absolutely should be Mrs. Coulter in "The Golden Compass: The Sequel"!
7/25/08 9:27 PM
Lady_Mame said...
I recognized the costume right way, so you are definitely doing things right. I'm very impessed.
7/25/08 9:13 PM
Peacock Chic said...
OMG you did a wonderful job!! I love it and it loks just like the movie in design if not completely in color. Also thanks for giving us context as I was looking at the stuffed animal saying "wow she could have moved her kids toy for the pic" hee hee. Love it!
7/25/08 9:11 PM
Dei said...
You are a vision of loveliness. You have to be pleased with how it all turned out.
7/25/08 9:07 PM
Tiner W said...
That is gorgeous! I love the yellow--even if it isn't the shade you intended. So glamorous!
7/25/08 9:07 PM
Athene said...
A very enchanting look and your hairstyle completes the look beautifully.
7/25/08 8:56 PM
marykpfist said...
Wow! You look INCREDIBLE! What a great job!
7/25/08 8:26 PM
chacha45 said...
Amazing! More than gorgeous!
7/25/08 8:22 PM
DorothyK said...
Wow!
7/25/08 7:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 7854

photo
by: lamstu

Review
No Pattern Used none

photo
by: Learn To S...

Review
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

More Info
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

More Info