SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Other> 1737B (DuBarry (vintage slips))

Viewed 517 times 
Reviewed by:MagpieJen
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MagpieJenstar
CANADA
Member since: 2/22/05
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/25/08 7:36 PM
Last Updated:7/28/08 4:34 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DorothyK said...
Wow!
7/25/08 7:53 PM
chacha45 said...
Amazing! More than gorgeous!
7/25/08 8:22 PM
marykpfist said...
Wow! You look INCREDIBLE! What a great job!
7/25/08 8:26 PM
Athene said...
A very enchanting look and your hairstyle completes the look beautifully.
7/25/08 8:56 PM
Tiner W said...
That is gorgeous! I love the yellow--even if it isn't the shade you intended. So glamorous!
7/25/08 9:07 PM
Dei said...
You are a vision of loveliness. You have to be pleased with how it all turned out.
7/25/08 9:07 PM
Peacock Chic said...
OMG you did a wonderful job!! I love it and it loks just like the movie in design if not completely in color. Also thanks for giving us context as I was looking at the stuffed animal saying "wow she could have moved her kids toy for the pic" hee hee. Love it!
7/25/08 9:11 PM
Lady_Mame said...
I recognized the costume right way, so you are definitely doing things right. I'm very impessed.
7/25/08 9:13 PM
Heatherrique said...
You look marvelous and mesmerizing! You absolutely should be Mrs. Coulter in "The Golden Compass: The Sequel"!
7/25/08 9:27 PM
JenSews2 said...
Fabulous! What a great way to modify a pattern to suit your needs!
7/25/08 10:19 PM
mastdenman said...
Fabulous dress.
7/25/08 10:49 PM
Annette1 said...
You look like a siren out of a Hollywood movie! What a BEAUTIFUL dress, and you're just GORGEOUS wearing it. Such care you took in the construction, and it really shows! That's one lucky little monkey -- ha!
7/26/08 1:52 AM
BillieJean said...
Awesome outfit!!!
7/26/08 6:33 AM
carolynw said...
This is really beautiful and fits you like a glove - you are totally gorgeous in the outfit.
7/26/08 8:42 AM
cleandirty said...
Love it! This turned out beautifully.
7/28/08 1:44 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW...terrific job. You could wear this formally, and not as a costume, it is THAT lovely. The color is just perfect for you and you look very much "Nicoleish" as well! :)
7/28/08 4:52 PM
sewgramma said...
BEAUTIFUL!!! You did a fabulous job choosing your fabric to complement your coloring & pattern style. Oh, & your construction looks flawless too! I love these old patterns & kudos to you for doing justice to it.
7/28/08 5:03 PM
Linda F said...
Gorgeous outfit. It looks absolutely fabulous on you.
7/28/08 6:55 PM
MWsews said...
Beautiful dress
7/28/08 8:58 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
You nailed it. Beautifully crafted.
7/28/08 9:44 PM
Speech girl said...
Simply stunning dress.
7/28/08 11:00 PM
KathleenS said...
Great outfit. You do look the part although I haven't seen the film. I've made the Folkwear Intimacies slip pattern and it's an interesting comparison. It's very similar to this but easier, judging from your description. The bust inset seams on that are straighter, there's no bust dart (I found that interesting with yours because it's a surprise that the Folkwear one is okay without it) and no side closure. Bias will usually narrow as it hangs so the amount of ease on this may be reasonable (although of course it depends on the desired fit).
7/29/08 1:03 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely! A perfect recreation of that garment.
7/29/08 10:26 AM
AuntieBat said...
Jean Harlow in the flesh! And I love your daemon. :) Very interesting bust construction; I've never a double side dart like that on lingerie.
7/30/08 1:31 PM
sewtime said...
WoW!! You look incredible, beautiful dress. You look so glamorous
7/30/08 9:19 PM
XandraReynolds said...
This is smashing-right down to dying the fabric yourself! I too, wanted the gown Mrs. Coulter wore!
8/6/08 11:32 PM
Mahler said...
Magpie Jen, I thouth I had written a comment for your dress and I realized today I did not... shame on me. The minute you post it, I thought of Kim Basinger in LA Confidential. This is a g-r-e-a-t dress. That yellow is daring and so European chic.
8/17/08 9:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now