SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> Singlet Style Shopping Bag 

4 more reviews
Viewed 767 times 
Reviewed by:JenSews2
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JenSews2star
CA USA
Member since: 2/21/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:7/25/08 9:34 PM
Last Updated:1/16/09 1:24 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marykpfist said...
I've been testing different fabrics and agree with adding the extra loop-- if you try them in the U-scan lane, you'll see this is an important addition!
7/25/08 11:03 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Jen, I love your bags. I really liked my PR bag too and yours look just like them.
7/26/08 2:37 PM
Jane S said...
Great ideas and great gift idea too. Thanks for such a useful review.
7/26/08 10:57 PM
Rustybobn said...
They look great! I really want to make some of the rolling rip stop bags like yours. Thanks for the review!
7/28/08 10:12 AM
Bernie R. said...
Wow! Who knew "green" could get greener? I have enough stash to create grocery bags for my entire town....Now THERE'S an idea!!!
7/28/08 10:19 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Awesome! I wanted to make the canvas shopping bags for which there is a very nice tutorial on emblibrary.com for Christmas gifts this year, but I think I'll make mostly these from ripstop with one or two of the canvas ones for heavy/glass bottle items thrown in, too! Going green is funnnnn! Thanks for this.
7/28/08 3:46 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Can you add a photo of your pattern? I love the new smaller ones for grocery shopping. I have a dozen canvas bags that I use and they are very, very bulky. I've been using them for about 6 years now from back when taking your own bags wasn't a fashion statement. It may be time to upgrade.
1/16/09 10:27 AM
Jacqui315 said...
I've been wanting to make my own and this is defintely the ones I want to make. I love the elastic tab! Thanks for sharing all your hints!
1/16/09 10:51 AM
Ody said...
Great bags and I agree about posting the pattern.
1/16/09 5:53 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
I have a pile of rip-stop that I need to use up. Thank you for the idea/plans. You did a great and green job
1/16/09 7:50 PM
Doctor Sister said...
I never thought of using Ripstop. I think I have some around here. Great idea.
1/17/09 1:12 PM
JenSews2 said...
I've added a link to a pic of my bag patterns. I just cut apart a grocery sack and straightened the edges, then added a seam allowance.
1/17/09 8:18 PM
tlmck3 said...
The loop and elastic are great ideas. Lightweight poly makes a pretty small bag, too--though not as compact as ripstop--which rules in the real world of BYOB.
1/18/09 4:25 PM
marec said...
*Another* great use for the rainflys that get thrown out when a tent is ruined. Wonderful use of the fabric!!
1/31/09 8:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Butterick 4609

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now