SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> Singlet Style Shopping Bag 

4 more reviews
Viewed 768 times 
Reviewed by:JenSews2
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JenSews2star
CA USA
Member since: 2/21/04
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:7/25/08 9:34 PM
Last Updated:1/16/09 1:24 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
*Another* great use for the rainflys that get thrown out when a tent is ruined. Wonderful use of the fabric!!
1/31/09 8:20 PM
tlmck3 said...
The loop and elastic are great ideas. Lightweight poly makes a pretty small bag, too--though not as compact as ripstop--which rules in the real world of BYOB.
1/18/09 4:25 PM
JenSews2 said...
I've added a link to a pic of my bag patterns. I just cut apart a grocery sack and straightened the edges, then added a seam allowance.
1/17/09 8:18 PM
Doctor Sister said...
I never thought of using Ripstop. I think I have some around here. Great idea.
1/17/09 1:12 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
I have a pile of rip-stop that I need to use up. Thank you for the idea/plans. You did a great and green job
1/16/09 7:50 PM
Ody said...
Great bags and I agree about posting the pattern.
1/16/09 5:53 PM
Jacqui315 said...
I've been wanting to make my own and this is defintely the ones I want to make. I love the elastic tab! Thanks for sharing all your hints!
1/16/09 10:51 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Can you add a photo of your pattern? I love the new smaller ones for grocery shopping. I have a dozen canvas bags that I use and they are very, very bulky. I've been using them for about 6 years now from back when taking your own bags wasn't a fashion statement. It may be time to upgrade.
1/16/09 10:27 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Awesome! I wanted to make the canvas shopping bags for which there is a very nice tutorial on emblibrary.com for Christmas gifts this year, but I think I'll make mostly these from ripstop with one or two of the canvas ones for heavy/glass bottle items thrown in, too! Going green is funnnnn! Thanks for this.
7/28/08 3:46 PM
Bernie R. said...
Wow! Who knew "green" could get greener? I have enough stash to create grocery bags for my entire town....Now THERE'S an idea!!!
7/28/08 10:19 AM
Rustybobn said...
They look great! I really want to make some of the rolling rip stop bags like yours. Thanks for the review!
7/28/08 10:12 AM
Jane S said...
Great ideas and great gift idea too. Thanks for such a useful review.
7/26/08 10:57 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Jen, I love your bags. I really liked my PR bag too and yours look just like them.
7/26/08 2:37 PM
marykpfist said...
I've been testing different fabrics and agree with adding the extra loop-- if you try them in the U-scan lane, you'll see this is an important addition!
7/25/08 11:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Buy Now