SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4918 (Retro Butterick '52)

8 more reviews
Viewed 980 times 
Reviewed by:SewingQueenKym
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SewingQueenKymstar
United States
Member since: 11/19/07
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/08 3:05 PM
Last Updated:7/26/08 7:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewingQueenKym said...
Connie, When you make the dress, post a review and pictures, so we can see what you've created! SQKym
9/3/08 4:01 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Just the perfect review! I wanted to use the bodice of this dress to create pretty well what you made. Timely! Thanks.
9/1/08 8:54 AM
firsthays said...
Looks wonderful, I'm off to ebay to find myself a copy! :)
7/29/08 1:06 AM
firsthays said...
Looks wonderful, I'm off to ebay to find myself a copy! :)
7/29/08 1:05 AM
SewingQueenKym said...
Miss Ga America: she won scholarships, but in her estimation is too opinionated to win. Her friends have won - and she cheers them on! You can read about her reasons for getting into pageants at her website: http://www.chantelle-wright.com/my_experience.htm
7/28/08 4:25 AM
BeckyC said...
Wow! The dress is stunning! And your daughter looks beautiful in it. I loved how you changed the style to work with the fabric, it is awesome. BTW how did your DD do at the Miss Georgia America pagent?
7/27/08 9:46 PM
SewingQueenKym said...
Thanks for the notes. The flickr page doesn't hold enough, so I've put them on my website. You can click on the link above (in my review) or go to: http://www.kymwright.com/butterick_4918.htm
7/27/08 6:51 PM
AnitaJJ said...
I'd love to see the pic of this dress but the link takes me to a red dress.
7/27/08 3:11 PM
papago said...
Beautiful!! I love your reviews and look forward to more of them!! Laura
7/27/08 2:39 PM
DorothyK said...
What ingenuity! I love your choice of fabric and how you worked around all the various problems. Your daughter looks stunning.
7/27/08 12:11 PM
kerrynw said...
Kym I was interested to see your lovely dress as I have just made a very similar dress for my daughter for her formal ball. I could not find a pattern at the time so adapted one. I will try to post a review soon.
7/27/08 10:53 AM
SewingQueenKym said...
Thanks for the kind comments. It was such an easy dress to make, and the fabric and colors brought it up a few notches. I should add that I had to tack the bodice under the wrap - the crinkly stuff wanted to "hang down" and I wanted it to stay put!
7/27/08 3:37 AM
mistygirl902 said...
This dress is fantastic and your daughter looks so cute in it! Your review brought back memories of my mother making me a dress for the junior prom, and then making a different bodice to go with the skirt for the senior prom back in the 1960's.
7/27/08 0:01 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Wonderful!
7/26/08 11:00 PM
anncie1 said...
Absolutely Beautiful!!! When I grow up I wonna make dresses like you!
7/26/08 10:41 PM
Dei said...
Beautiful dress on a beautiful young lady. Your creativity is something else. Absolutely love this fabric and your use of just 1 yard of it!
7/26/08 8:21 PM
ElizabethK said...
What a marvelous adaptation of a vintage pattern! You are definitely a sewing queen!
7/26/08 8:19 PM
Athene said...
I love your version and of course your daughter looks so lovely in it - what a great mom you are.
7/26/08 7:29 PM
clare said...
I love how you have embraced the challenge of making a dress out of just a yard of fabric! It looks fab!
7/26/08 4:31 PM
Mahler said...
Needless to say that I would love to have one !!!! This fabric is fabulous. What a wonderful dress. Your daughter look magnificent. Bravo !
7/26/08 3:30 PM
Ann Smith said...
A delightful dress. I love how the colors come and go around the dress. The bubble hem was a great idea to solve the hemming problem.
7/26/08 3:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Burda 7489

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
Simplicity 2146

photo
by: Alice Wang

Review
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

More Info
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

More Info