SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4287 (Threads Boys & Mens Shirts)

8 more reviews
Viewed 652 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 196
Favored by: 394 people
patterns reviewed: 183
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/08 10:36 PM
Last Updated:8/9/08 0:01 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Debbie, these shirts are great. Thanks for your review. I really need to convince DH that these will look good on him and them make him one :)
10/3/08 2:24 PM
AnneM said...
Great shirts! You are always such an inspiration.
9/10/08 9:14 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I can't believe that's a double knit! It's got a nice sheen to it, and looks very retro. I love it! Great idea, too, the way you've handled the collar and the yoke. :o)
8/10/08 2:47 AM
RLL said...
Another great looking shirt. You son will love wearing it knowing no one else has one like it. I love the re-styling and chevron of the back yoke and then flipping the collar giving the chevron effect there also. Gotta love that collar method!
8/9/08 1:57 PM
indiaw said...
Great looking shirt. It's so hard to find patterns for the guys, when you do, hang on to them for dear life. I love the express collar and use it all the time.
8/9/08 9:47 AM
Peterborough Stitch said...
This shirt rocks! Your DS will have something that no-one else in class will be able to match, that's for sure. Fabulous fabrics and you did such a nice job of matching up the pattern on the back; very professional. Way to go!
8/9/08 9:30 AM
marykpfist said...
incredible! Thanks for the collar tip- I will definitely try it. :-)
8/9/08 9:16 AM
ITAdmin said...
Good looking shirt. I recently bought this after seeing positive reviews of it. I, too, was disappointed and a little baffled that it's OOP. Seems to be a good pattern with some great options.
7/30/08 2:36 PM
MasoumaRose said...
Great job! Lovely
7/29/08 9:54 PM
OP Gal said...
Spiffy shirt! Personally, I like Goofy Model Pose #1. I think DS looks very debonair. He looks swell in the other photos, too. Thanks for the detail in the review, Debbie.
7/29/08 7:14 PM
PVA said...
Thanks, Debbie -- what a great review! Your DS is a terrific model, even when he's being goofy! Your topstitching always look so neat, even & straight! I especially like it that you always include the things you would do differently with a different kind of fabric and/or etc.
7/29/08 5:58 PM
Annette1 said...
Great shirt! It is indeed quite slimming. You've got one good-looking boy there (love his hair). :o) I suspect you'll be maknig some more of these. :o) I may look for this one on eBay. I bet my dad would like it too, although his wardrobe is MINIMAL, to say the least, and that's teh way he likes it. I have made him shirts though, and he likes them. On the other hand, he wore the same khakis for a good 20 years, so you see what I mean. :o) Great review!
7/29/08 1:54 PM
CatMukai said...
wow, are you interested in adopting? Good job!
7/29/08 1:33 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That is the coolest shirt I've seen in a long time! Your DS does look nice in it.
7/29/08 12:02 PM
cindyann said...
Cool shirt! Great pattern. You did your usual excellent job. I sooo wish I could get my boys to wear a shirt with a collar.
7/29/08 10:21 AM
Zip said...
Your work is great as usual. Nice details. Thanks for the links as well. Now I'm just hoping I can find the pattern!
7/29/08 10:20 AM
carolynw said...
Really nice lookign shirt Debbie and thanks for the great review - have the pattern and it's on "my "to do" list for DH - soon.
7/29/08 9:57 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Great job on the shirt! And the retro bowling shirt colors look great on him too. You're right--it's very slimming. I can't believe he's that much of a manly size. And as to the photos, boys will be boys! I have one too.
7/29/08 7:59 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I noticed the nice topstitching on the blog. The special thread was a great effect. It is the pits that with as few offerings as there are for men and boys,this one has gone oop. I think this is a really nice looking pattern sewed up. They've got to be kidding about the handstitching when the wonderful machines and threads are available today. I would hate to see what dh and grandsons would do to handstitching. They would need the triple topstitch more than likely.
7/29/08 7:52 AM
cut a hole in it again said...
Thanks Debbie - I have this pattern somewhere! I am going to dig it out and give it a whirl with some stashed knit. TG for stashes! I like the topstitching, I wonder if it actually needs the back yoke though? Another great job.
7/29/08 7:50 AM
Darla in PA said...
Great shirt! The style is very nice.
7/29/08 6:30 AM
McFeather said...
What a great shirt! Love the details, too.
7/29/08 6:14 AM
MissCelie said...
Ok, DS is a big boy! But, that shirt give him the perfect, cool, retro vibe. Great shirt.
7/29/08 5:54 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fantastic shirt! This is a great style for your DS and it fits so nicely. Great idea about the choice of fabric too!
7/29/08 0:20 AM
Speech girl said...
Wonderful shirt and it seems to really suit your ds. It's a great style.
7/28/08 10:55 PM
Elona said...
Great shirt, Debbie! It really does fit your kid, and I love the color choice and the buttons, too. It's true that this is a very body-conscious shirt. I'm depressed to learn that Simplicity has discontinued it, because it's the only such pattern I have ever found. Darn it. Simp HAS proved themselves responsive to emails, so maybe they'd listen to complaints from customers.
7/28/08 10:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Buy Now