SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda Plus Fashion Magazine> 02-2008-418 (Blouse/Jacket)

Viewed 562 times 
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/29/08 10:19 PM
Last Updated:7/29/08 10:28 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dee2 said...
Beautiful blouse--the fabric is very pretty & the fit looks great. . As usual, your review is informative & entertaining (I especially love the peacock in heat reference).
7/29/08 10:38 PM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE the lines of this top, especially in the back. You did a superb job of fitting, as usual. It may feel too loose, but it certainly doesn't look it. VERY pretty, especially in that print!
7/29/08 11:23 PM
michellep74 said...
Very pretty blouse! I love your fabric--it was well worth it. And with your changes, I like your version better than the one in the magazine.
7/29/08 11:55 PM
msladyj said...
This blouse is lovely. I love the fabric.
7/30/08 0:39 AM
o3b said...
Those "did it look like the photo" comments are hysterical!!
7/30/08 3:23 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely fabric and a fantastic blouse!
7/30/08 10:00 AM
nicegirl said...
A lot of work, but you definitely ended up with a pattern worthy of your Italian cotton. It's gorgeous!
7/30/08 10:02 AM
Babe B said...
A luscious creation, and a superb review! Thank you!
7/30/08 11:59 AM
tr1c14 said...
Wow, that's a lot of work you did to get to a lovely finished product! The concerns you pointed out about the design for a plus-petite are really important and I'm going to definitely take them into consideration before I decide whether to include it in my mini-wardrobe.
7/30/08 12:13 PM
OP Gal said...
What a lot of work, but the result is beautiful. I agree with your comments about the original design elements being unflattering for plus sizes. What were they thinking? Isn't it wonderful to sew a fabric you bought on vacation that reminds you of that place every time you wear it?
7/30/08 6:27 PM
Kathi R said...
Sounds like you worked hard for this one -- nice job, thanks for the review.
7/31/08 4:03 PM
Heatherrique said...
Delightful Italian chic, Sherril! I admire you for your perseverance, artistry, and resourcefulness for transforming an ill-drafted pattern into a very flattering and stylish one! I'm so glad and grateful that you took the time to review this pattern. Now I'm having second thoughts about this one! I can imagine that your closet has lots of cool things to wear each and every day! I also enjoy your blog! ;-}
8/1/08 3:01 PM
Steffie said...
Wow, that was a LOT of work... but your finished product is great! You get an A+ for perseverance, too!
8/2/08 11:02 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful blouse. What a lot of work to get it to fit, but it paid off. Your pattern training did indeed pay off! Great save with the patten piecing. It would have been a crime if you hadn't been able to finish the garment for lack of fabric because it is beautiful fabric. I'll bet it feels wonderful to the hand, too. Thanks for the details on how you problem solved.
11/14/08 5:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

My Image Magazine IW1005

photo
by: miausiau

Review
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Buy Now
Towne Purse

Towne Purse

Buy Now