Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda Plus Fashion Magazine: 02-2008-418 (Blouse/Jacket) - Type:Plus    printable version
Viewed 559 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 181 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/29/08 10:19 PM
Last Updated:7/29/08 10:28 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Petite 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dee2 said...
Beautiful blouse--the fabric is very pretty & the fit looks great. . As usual, your review is informative & entertaining (I especially love the peacock in heat reference).
7/29/08 10:38 PM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE the lines of this top, especially in the back. You did a superb job of fitting, as usual. It may feel too loose, but it certainly doesn't look it. VERY pretty, especially in that print!
7/29/08 11:23 PM
michellep74 said...
Very pretty blouse! I love your fabric--it was well worth it. And with your changes, I like your version better than the one in the magazine.
7/29/08 11:55 PM
msladyj said...
This blouse is lovely. I love the fabric.
7/30/08 0:39 AM
o3b said...
Those "did it look like the photo" comments are hysterical!!
7/30/08 3:23 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely fabric and a fantastic blouse!
7/30/08 10:00 AM
nicegirl said...
A lot of work, but you definitely ended up with a pattern worthy of your Italian cotton. It's gorgeous!
7/30/08 10:02 AM
Babe B said...
A luscious creation, and a superb review! Thank you!
7/30/08 11:59 AM
tr1c14 said...
Wow, that's a lot of work you did to get to a lovely finished product! The concerns you pointed out about the design for a plus-petite are really important and I'm going to definitely take them into consideration before I decide whether to include it in my mini-wardrobe.
7/30/08 12:13 PM
OP Gal said...
What a lot of work, but the result is beautiful. I agree with your comments about the original design elements being unflattering for plus sizes. What were they thinking? Isn't it wonderful to sew a fabric you bought on vacation that reminds you of that place every time you wear it?
7/30/08 6:27 PM
Kathi R said...
Sounds like you worked hard for this one -- nice job, thanks for the review.
7/31/08 4:03 PM
Heatherrique said...
Delightful Italian chic, Sherril! I admire you for your perseverance, artistry, and resourcefulness for transforming an ill-drafted pattern into a very flattering and stylish one! I'm so glad and grateful that you took the time to review this pattern. Now I'm having second thoughts about this one! I can imagine that your closet has lots of cool things to wear each and every day! I also enjoy your blog! ;-}
8/1/08 3:01 PM
Steffie said...
Wow, that was a LOT of work... but your finished product is great! You get an A+ for perseverance, too!
8/2/08 11:02 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful blouse. What a lot of work to get it to fit, but it paid off. Your pattern training did indeed pay off! Great save with the patten piecing. It would have been a crime if you hadn't been able to finish the garment for lack of fabric because it is beautiful fabric. I'll bet it feels wonderful to the hand, too. Thanks for the details on how you problem solved.
11/14/08 5:15 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Vogue Patterns 2676
photo
Review by arianamani... on 6/19/09
Read Review

Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5847 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 5847 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5594
photo
Review by andread on 2/23/07
Read Review

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us