Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 07-2008-108 (tunic) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 887 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 267
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/08 1:14 AM
Last Updated:5/11/09 0:44 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
inkstain said...
Nancy, this is a very helpful review. I'll look to see what BWOF suggests for the pockets, since your method sounds like the traditional Vogue method I'm used to. Anything else sounds weird. Overall this style interested me because it looked sleek in black. I'll look for your dress with interest Thanks!
7/31/08 3:39 AM
Karin Mantefors said...
I had to check the magazine for the pockets description and I canīt find anything odd with them, but I learned to sew with Burda...and I have the swedish translation.
7/31/08 4:13 AM
Kbenco said...
I would like to make this dress for my daughter, so I would be very interested in your version. It is good to know you can leave out the zipper. Thanks for a very helpful review.
7/31/08 5:18 AM
BillieJean said...
This is cute. I've been eying this since the mag came out.
7/31/08 5:39 AM
Karen6790 said...
Nancy, thanks for doing such a helpful review. I'm planning on making the dress version of this fairly soon - I bought a beautiful moss-green eyelet at Kashi's last week - and you've probably answered all my questions before I asked them. Cute top, can't wait to see your dress.
7/31/08 10:11 AM
LornaJay said...
Wonderful look (at least in my opinion) and I can see why you like the yoke!
5/11/09 4:37 AM
Sic said...
Your new version looks lovely on you!
5/11/09 8:44 AM
Elke said...
Very pretty on you!
5/11/09 9:47 AM
Renren said...
This is just exquisite!
5/11/09 10:47 AM
Annette1 said...
VERY pretty, Nancy. This blouse has such a lovely drape.
5/11/09 11:44 AM
Knitters Delight said...
I looked at this pattern all the way to Vegas! I am making this one for sure. Yours is gorgeous!
5/11/09 11:55 AM
21wale said...
What a fun variation of this tunic!
5/11/09 1:20 PM
Re Becca said...
WOW! I would never have thought of this is silk! This is such an elegant statement!
5/11/09 1:22 PM
eugenia123 said...
This pattern is on my to-do list so I was really interested in your review. Your version is absolutely gorgeous - I love it.
5/11/09 1:25 PM
Em's Summer said...
WOW!!! This top is gorgeous! I especially love your meticulous print placement! What a great border!
5/11/09 1:26 PM
LindsayT said...
Very snazzy tunic, Nancy!
5/11/09 2:01 PM
Izzie said...
Beautiful top! The fabric is gorgeous!
5/11/09 5:34 PM
Judy Wentz said...
This is a fabulous top. jw
5/11/09 6:35 PM
nicegirl said...
GORGEOUS in your silk charmeuse. It gives a whole different look to this pattern.
5/15/09 11:01 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2005-18 Tunic
photo
Review by Christas on 1/21/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1778
photo
Review by rachellea7... on 3/20/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1303 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1303 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1796 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1796 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us