Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 3197 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 4546 times 27 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/02 0:30 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $6.71  List Price: $8.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Just curious, but how much did you turn under on the neckline, and what stitch did you use? It looks great, by the way!
3/7/02 7:57 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
chocobar, ideally I should have used the double stitching using the twin needle, but I was too lazy to do that, so I just used the zigzag stitch (2.5mm lenghth, .5mmwidth). I turned 5/8" under. In the velour fabric, because of the structure of the fabric itself, the stitching does not even show so its looks very neat.
3/7/02 10:32 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very cute! I may have to start adding to my stash of Burda patterns!
3/7/02 11:36 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
The fit looks perfect. I have been meaning to try this patern too. I use a turned under hem like this for most neck edges on knits. The bound edge is nice too, but I like it best in fine gauge knits.
3/7/02 1:14 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
That is such a cute top! Do your measurements match up with the Burda sizing chart? Or are they off kilter like the big 4? The fit looks really good, and that had to be a really fast top.
3/7/02 3:17 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Your top looks great! Try reducing the seam allowances on the armscye and sleeve cap to 1/4", the sleeve will go in very easily then.
3/7/02 5:41 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, your top is beautiful! That fabric is really pretty, too!
3/8/02 0:00 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very cute top, D, you did a great job!!
3/8/02 0:25 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks Sue, not as good as yours though. I want to learn how to do the bound neckline like you did on yours.
3/8/02 0:33 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I have made a lot of t-shirts and I'm really impressed with the way this one looks on. Better than the pattern envelope!you
4/12/02 4:56 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks Tessa, I used a fabric with a lot of stretch that is why its so loose. Next time I want to try it in a fabric with a less stretchier fabric.
4/12/02 5:02 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
e_e_thomas said...
Do you think this would be a good first pattern? I'm putting together a "New Sewer's Sewing Kit" as a Christmas present, and thought of including this pattern ....
11/20/02 12:22 PM
Deepika said...
hi Elizabeth. What a nice thing to give as a christmas present. Yes definitely this and burda 3216 (one seam pants) with a textile studio basic dress maybe. All you need is a simple pull on skirt pattern to complete the wardrobe basics. Might want to look into Kwik Sew for that. That way whoever you are giving this to will get a 'flavor' of different pattern companies also.
11/20/02 12:29 PM
e_e_thomas said...
Have you tried Christine Johnson's Basewear Two? That might work well to provide a skirt, and the independent pattern companies are supposed to have very clear instructions. The only thing that worries me is that CJ's pattern seem very specifically designed for her expensive fabric ($18/yd!)
11/20/02 5:02 PM
e_e_thomas said...
Maybe I should just get her the new Kwik Sew book ....
11/20/02 7:21 PM
Deepika said...
Eli KS books sounds like THE PERFECT GIFT! I agree about independent patterns being expensive and all. You might still want to throw the burdas even with the ks book. That way she will atleast know where to start.
11/20/02 7:25 PM
Nancy K said...
The top is lovely and I am envious. I have been sewing for years, but knits continue to come off looking very homemade. I just trashed a top out of expensive rayon lycra even after I made a chep muslin. The neck was so stretched out from just turning and top stitching that I vowed to never do that again!
6/21/06 7:19 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Self Drafted Pattern 9151-1013
photo
Review by Ody on 12/4/08
Read Review

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cutting Line Designs Fun with Fabrics
photo
Review by 2 Airedale... on 5/20/12
Read Review

Mini Miranda Bag
Mini Miranda Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4136 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 4136 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4646 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 4646 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us