SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 3197 

27 more reviews
Viewed 4552 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 352
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 287 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/02 0:30 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Just curious, but how much did you turn under on the neckline, and what stitch did you use? It looks great, by the way!
3/7/02 7:57 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
chocobar, ideally I should have used the double stitching using the twin needle, but I was too lazy to do that, so I just used the zigzag stitch (2.5mm lenghth, .5mmwidth). I turned 5/8" under. In the velour fabric, because of the structure of the fabric itself, the stitching does not even show so its looks very neat.
3/7/02 10:32 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very cute! I may have to start adding to my stash of Burda patterns!
3/7/02 11:36 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
The fit looks perfect. I have been meaning to try this patern too. I use a turned under hem like this for most neck edges on knits. The bound edge is nice too, but I like it best in fine gauge knits.
3/7/02 1:14 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
That is such a cute top! Do your measurements match up with the Burda sizing chart? Or are they off kilter like the big 4? The fit looks really good, and that had to be a really fast top.
3/7/02 3:17 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Your top looks great! Try reducing the seam allowances on the armscye and sleeve cap to 1/4", the sleeve will go in very easily then.
3/7/02 5:41 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, your top is beautiful! That fabric is really pretty, too!
3/8/02 0:00 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very cute top, D, you did a great job!!
3/8/02 0:25 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks Sue, not as good as yours though. I want to learn how to do the bound neckline like you did on yours.
3/8/02 0:33 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I have made a lot of t-shirts and I'm really impressed with the way this one looks on. Better than the pattern envelope!you
4/12/02 4:56 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks Tessa, I used a fabric with a lot of stretch that is why its so loose. Next time I want to try it in a fabric with a less stretchier fabric.
4/12/02 5:02 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
e_e_thomas said...
Do you think this would be a good first pattern? I'm putting together a "New Sewer's Sewing Kit" as a Christmas present, and thought of including this pattern ....
11/20/02 12:22 PM
Deepika said...
hi Elizabeth. What a nice thing to give as a christmas present. Yes definitely this and burda 3216 (one seam pants) with a textile studio basic dress maybe. All you need is a simple pull on skirt pattern to complete the wardrobe basics. Might want to look into Kwik Sew for that. That way whoever you are giving this to will get a 'flavor' of different pattern companies also.
11/20/02 12:29 PM
e_e_thomas said...
Have you tried Christine Johnson's Basewear Two? That might work well to provide a skirt, and the independent pattern companies are supposed to have very clear instructions. The only thing that worries me is that CJ's pattern seem very specifically designed for her expensive fabric ($18/yd!)
11/20/02 5:02 PM
e_e_thomas said...
Maybe I should just get her the new Kwik Sew book ....
11/20/02 7:21 PM
Deepika said...
Eli KS books sounds like THE PERFECT GIFT! I agree about independent patterns being expensive and all. You might still want to throw the burdas even with the ks book. That way she will atleast know where to start.
11/20/02 7:25 PM
Nancy K said...
The top is lovely and I am envious. I have been sewing for years, but knits continue to come off looking very homemade. I just trashed a top out of expensive rayon lycra even after I made a chep muslin. The neck was so stretched out from just turning and top stitching that I vowed to never do that again!
6/21/06 7:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 311422-1000

photo
by: lala47

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now