SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1056 

6 more reviews
Viewed 1137 times 
Reviewed by:3kids1036
photo

 
 
About 3kids1036starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 10/10/06
Reviews written: 254
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 208 people
patterns reviewed: 254
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/7/08 10:46 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Susan J. said...
I was wondering about the suggested lining of this knit dress with china silk. It seemed odd to have a stretch fabric lined with something that didn't.
9/20/09 11:20 AM
AuntieShel said...
Way to go, girl, I was so impressed that you must have rushed out to buy and make this new pattern. I'm sorry it didn't work for you, your clothes are always beautiful on you. Looking at your photo, I'm wondering if the matte jersey was part of the problem. I made something out of a poly matte jersey recently that also ended in the trash. I thought, oh, jersey...soft, drapey. Not so! After I started working with it, it seemed so industrial strength, I'm sure NASA could have used it in their rockets. I'm going to show my age here, but I am SOOO a fan of wool jersey and it seems to be a dinosaur these days.
8/9/08 2:38 PM
fryman said...
some garmets just look better on the hanger, or in this case, on the pattern jacket. It LOOKS like it has a lot going for it but your appreciated bold review demonstates otherwise. Good luck on your next project.
8/9/08 11:24 AM
nancy2001 said...
The fabric is lovely, but Vogue should be ashamed of itself for issuing this pattern. Thanks for your very helpful review.
8/8/08 8:38 PM
cecelia said...
Wow, I almost bought this pattern the other day. Thanks for the heads up. I don't think it would look good on me either, so you've saved me some time and money!
8/8/08 8:31 PM
avancleve said...
I cannot see the seam in the pattern photo either. I wonder how they hid it so well?
8/8/08 6:32 PM
lostinvegas0 said...

8/8/08 4:17 PM
lostinvegas0 said...
I will say this. I did not like the pattern picture, but I think your dress is cute. Sorry it did not work out.
8/8/08 4:14 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks for the review, Adrienne. Sorry this style does not work for you. It looks good on the dress form though.
8/8/08 11:35 AM
trinicity said...
great review, it looks really well made, I think its a beautiful dress but not for me.
8/8/08 8:28 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
OK How about cutting away the fabric right at the top of the shoulder / arm area? that would lighten the heavy look and be a dressy look. I like the twist tie business in the front and could see it in a neat T-dress. I can't think of a way to eliminate the center front seam and still have the design above. marec is right... use the fabric in the dress for something else. Pretty dress sorry it didn't work for you.
8/8/08 7:59 AM
petro said...
nice neckline, does anyone else think it needs to be on a sleeveless long dress, possibly with a bit of a plunge at the back neck. ?
8/8/08 2:57 AM
Elona said...
Thanks for the interesting reiew. The pattern was kind of eye-catching, wasn't it? But I also found myself kind of stopped by the combination of that sophisticated twist and the peasant-blouse type sleeves.
8/8/08 2:15 AM
Vonnevo said...
Thanks for your review Adrienne :) Great attitude to Bin-It and move on to something else. I am looking forward to seeing your next success now ... your garments always look so fabulous.
8/8/08 1:13 AM
greenandlilac said...
Thanks for the review. I was on the fence about this pattern and now I won't be getting it.
8/8/08 0:52 AM
marec said...
Sorry the pattern didn't work for you-isn't it interesting what we like in personal fashion? I looked at the pattern and thought "OMG that neckline would overwhelm me, but the sleeves, they are sweet." :-) Don't toss the fabric; you can salvage it for some little top.
8/8/08 0:38 AM
geeklite said...
I had the same reaction to this pattern, but I worried about that neckline - thanks for heads up. Can you recycle the fabric - it's a gorgeous color.
8/7/08 11:34 PM
HLT said...
Wow!!! Thanks for this review. I was just about to go out and pick up this pattern tomorrow at JoAnn's. I think this pattern is on hold for now, on my Vogue list. I do like the neckline, but the sleeves will probably look bad on me too...very broad shoulders! Like the color!!!
8/7/08 11:30 PM
3kids1036 said...
Thanks Kaitlinnegan, but I want no parts of this dress lol. I will buy some more of the fabric because I love the color lol.
8/7/08 11:01 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Thanks for your review! I like the neckline on this pattern, but I thought the sleeves wouldn't work for me either. Now I have more motivation to redraft them if I attempt this pattern. Maybe you could salvage the dress by taking in the sleeves? It does look lovely. :)
8/7/08 10:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Butterick B4958

photo
by: material e...

Review
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

More Info