Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1056 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1133 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:3kids1036
photo
About 3kids1036starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 10/10/06
Reviews written: 240
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 192 people
patterns reviewed: 240
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/7/08 10:46 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kaitlinnegan said...
Thanks for your review! I like the neckline on this pattern, but I thought the sleeves wouldn't work for me either. Now I have more motivation to redraft them if I attempt this pattern. Maybe you could salvage the dress by taking in the sleeves? It does look lovely. :)
8/7/08 10:53 PM
3kids1036 said...
Thanks Kaitlinnegan, but I want no parts of this dress lol. I will buy some more of the fabric because I love the color lol.
8/7/08 11:01 PM
HLT said...
Wow!!! Thanks for this review. I was just about to go out and pick up this pattern tomorrow at JoAnn's. I think this pattern is on hold for now, on my Vogue list. I do like the neckline, but the sleeves will probably look bad on me too...very broad shoulders! Like the color!!!
8/7/08 11:30 PM
geeklite said...
I had the same reaction to this pattern, but I worried about that neckline - thanks for heads up. Can you recycle the fabric - it's a gorgeous color.
8/7/08 11:34 PM
marec said...
Sorry the pattern didn't work for you-isn't it interesting what we like in personal fashion? I looked at the pattern and thought "OMG that neckline would overwhelm me, but the sleeves, they are sweet." :-) Don't toss the fabric; you can salvage it for some little top.
8/8/08 0:38 AM
greenandlilac said...
Thanks for the review. I was on the fence about this pattern and now I won't be getting it.
8/8/08 0:52 AM
Vonnevo said...
Thanks for your review Adrienne :) Great attitude to Bin-It and move on to something else. I am looking forward to seeing your next success now ... your garments always look so fabulous.
8/8/08 1:13 AM
Elona said...
Thanks for the interesting reiew. The pattern was kind of eye-catching, wasn't it? But I also found myself kind of stopped by the combination of that sophisticated twist and the peasant-blouse type sleeves.
8/8/08 2:15 AM
petro said...
nice neckline, does anyone else think it needs to be on a sleeveless long dress, possibly with a bit of a plunge at the back neck. ?
8/8/08 2:57 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
OK How about cutting away the fabric right at the top of the shoulder / arm area? that would lighten the heavy look and be a dressy look. I like the twist tie business in the front and could see it in a neat T-dress. I can't think of a way to eliminate the center front seam and still have the design above. marec is right... use the fabric in the dress for something else. Pretty dress sorry it didn't work for you.
8/8/08 7:59 AM
trinicity said...
great review, it looks really well made, I think its a beautiful dress but not for me.
8/8/08 8:28 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks for the review, Adrienne. Sorry this style does not work for you. It looks good on the dress form though.
8/8/08 11:35 AM
lostinvegas0 said...
I will say this. I did not like the pattern picture, but I think your dress is cute. Sorry it did not work out.
8/8/08 4:14 PM
lostinvegas0 said...

8/8/08 4:17 PM
avancleve said...
I cannot see the seam in the pattern photo either. I wonder how they hid it so well?
8/8/08 6:32 PM
cecelia said...
Wow, I almost bought this pattern the other day. Thanks for the heads up. I don't think it would look good on me either, so you've saved me some time and money!
8/8/08 8:31 PM
nancy2001 said...
The fabric is lovely, but Vogue should be ashamed of itself for issuing this pattern. Thanks for your very helpful review.
8/8/08 8:38 PM
fryman said...
some garmets just look better on the hanger, or in this case, on the pattern jacket. It LOOKS like it has a lot going for it but your appreciated bold review demonstates otherwise. Good luck on your next project.
8/9/08 11:24 AM
AuntieShel said...
Way to go, girl, I was so impressed that you must have rushed out to buy and make this new pattern. I'm sorry it didn't work for you, your clothes are always beautiful on you. Looking at your photo, I'm wondering if the matte jersey was part of the problem. I made something out of a poly matte jersey recently that also ended in the trash. I thought, oh, jersey...soft, drapey. Not so! After I started working with it, it seemed so industrial strength, I'm sure NASA could have used it in their rockets. I'm going to show my age here, but I am SOOO a fan of wool jersey and it seems to be a dinosaur these days.
8/9/08 2:38 PM
Susan J. said...
I was wondering about the suggested lining of this knit dress with china silk. It seemed odd to have a stretch fabric lined with something that didn't.
9/20/09 11:20 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 4014 Dress and Coat
photo
Review by usbeckers on 12/30/12
Read Review

McCalls 3274 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 3274 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1595 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1595 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8529
photo
Review by Blooms on 9/6/10
Read Review

Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts
Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us