SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2753 (Issey Miyake)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1842 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/03 7:11 PM
Last Updated:8/2/03 1:51 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Skymom said...
Ann, you look fantastic in that dress! I loved the pattern sketch but couldn't even bring myself to buy it, knowing I'd never have time to get to it...and I always hesitate about the one-shoulder look, though this is completely successful. But what I like about seeing your work is the happy, bright smile you wear in all your pictures--makes me think you really do enjoy all these terrific projects of yours!
8/8/03 5:45 PM
Alana Robson said...
This is definitely WTW when you have slim arms and nicely shaped shoulders, Ann! Also the draped and wrapped effect is very flattering.
8/3/03 10:32 PM
e_e_thomas said...
The outfit looks great! It really reminds me of this exhibit: http://www.metmuseum.org/special/se_event.asp?OccurrenceId=%7B9B8FB8DB-AE97-11D6-945F-00902786BF44%7D If anyone has a chance to go to the Metropolitan Museum of Art by tomorrow, this exhibit is wonderful.
8/2/03 8:27 PM
gabrielle said...
You do look like a goddess in this outfit--surely the WNTW ladies would exempt the divine from their rules:) I looked at your description of the pattern pieces and instructions and just cringed. I'm so impressed you can put things like this together so beautifully. It's lovely, and the pieces work well as seperates too.
8/2/03 2:37 PM
Ann Smith said...
Rebecca: I, too, need to wear a bra and have never found a strapless that works on a D cup. So my solution is a convertible bra with one strap attached on the covered shoulder side. Then I fold under the unstrapped side. This works fine on this dress but doesn't work if the top is smooth because there are funny lumps created by the folding. p.s. I think I fixed the photo link.
8/2/03 2:04 PM
Rebecca D said...
Ann, you rock! What a gorgeous outfit. This is a very personal question, but are you wearing a strapless bra underneath? I would love to try a top with a shoulder exposed, but my middle-aged bust needs some help. Just wondering...
8/2/03 1:24 PM
Shoiley said...
Harriet, I'm getting a blank-ish page that says "Ann's Sewing Projects." Click on "View & edit albums," and then the "Ann's Sewing Projects" album...where you can see all of Ann's beautiful projects.
8/2/03 3:37 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
I'm so glad to have read this. I have bought the pattern, but have not even opened yet, so these comments will be useful, to say the least, BUT, Anne, the picture isn't appearing in your photo album: I've gone in from two ways and still comes up blank. Would you please submit again? As usual, I really appreciate your comments about the beautiful clothes you make. Glad to know about the armhole: I'm 5'7", so I'll be sure to keep your notes nearby when I finally cut this out.
8/1/03 5:39 PM
Mariko said...
I love this dress! It is nice to be able to wear separately like that. I also love your fabric.
8/1/03 12:36 PM
Tee Jay said...
Ann--You are such an adventurous, creative and accomplished sewing artist. I am living vicariously through your work. I am especially thrilled you are petite because I am and I always seem to nix patterns thinking they wouldn't work on shorter people--but obviously--The DO!
8/1/03 11:54 AM
Ann Smith said...
Wow, thanks for all the comments! Georgene: it didn't take very long, maybe 5 hours. It seemed as though I spent more time puzzling than sewing. I might make it again, or at least the skirt, from some thin black jersey I have on hand. I think the details of the skirt would show up better in a solid. M+M: a stretch woven might work with zippers. It is very close fitting. Sue: the fabric is an onionskin (very sheer knit, probably polyester) from EmmaOneSock online. Oh, also, I meant 9 feet, not 9 yards.
8/1/03 4:04 AM
Snowblossom said...
That dress looks wonderful. I think that the texture of the onionskin and the different wrong side makes it more interesting. Its interesting how it gives a different effect on you than on the pattern envelope - you really do look like a goddess. What fun!
8/1/03 3:16 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Courage is a wonderful thing. This pattern is quite an accomplishment and it looks wonderful on you, as to all your creations. You already know WNTW you don't need someone else making rules for you. What a fabulous dress.
8/1/03 0:43 AM
maybbm said...
I looked at the instruction for the top. When I imagined a piece of long fabric hanging over my left shoulder, it helped me to understand it. The long rectangle is sort of folded up lengthwise, with the fold at the left shoulder. Imagine you are wearing it. The right side of the folded rectangle is partially stitched together to form a neck/right arm hole. The left side of the piece is eventually attached to the fitted body, which now has a big hole for head and right arm. In order to form a circle, it seems the left side of the folded rectangle is overwrapped a little, right next to the finished sections: i.e. the wrong side is placed on the right side. This is a fun top to make!!!
8/1/03 0:39 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Wow! That dress looks lovely. What an accomplishment!
8/1/03 0:12 AM
AnneM said...
So, what town are you painting in that outfit? Very nice, very elegant, very "I don't think I will attempt that pattern". ;)
7/31/03 11:00 PM
maybbm said...
Thank you, Ann, for this review. I was thinking of using an onion skin as well. Good to remember that the back side does show. Do you think it can be done with stretch woven, with a possible side zippers for both top and the bottom?
7/31/03 10:10 PM
jlg said...
I love your review Ann, and you do look like a goddess. You make all the problems with the pattern sound amusing and challenging rather than the nightmare that they would be if I attempted it.
7/31/03 9:19 PM
Georgene said...
Ann, what a beautiful adventure! Can't tell from the picture about the underside of the fabric, but I bet no one ever notices.....How long would you say this takes to put together? Do you think you would ever make it again?
7/31/03 9:17 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
What a great job! It looks awesome on you, and I (like the others) really like the top on it's own as well. This pattern sounds like something I would never *dare* to take on, but the result is truly gorgeous!
7/31/03 9:11 PM
els said...
Thanks Ann for reviewing this "new "miyake pattern .You look georgeous.I understand your "problem "with the backside of the fabric but there is not much to do about it just do not use a wide hem I suggest.
7/31/03 9:07 PM
Sue Anfang said...
Anne, this is tres, tres fabulous. You look great in it & I love the top on it's own too. What is the fabric? I am going to share this review with Miyake Group on Yahoo that I am a memeber of!! Sue
7/31/03 8:36 PM
MaryBeth said...
You made this pattern and lived to review. It really does look good on you and with the light color the back side of the onionskin isn't that jarring in the photos. I really like the top worn separately. Whew, what an accomplishment.
7/31/03 8:36 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Ann, who cares what the WNTW girls say, you look fantastic in that dress. I love Miyake's designs, and I find them to be rewarding challenges. Thank you for a great and informative review. -Ann
7/31/03 8:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2012-13

photo
by: ClaireEmil...

Review
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

More Info