SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8501 (Tunic)

4 more reviews
Viewed 539 times 
Reviewed by:EveS
photo

 
 
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/08 3:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rebecca H said...
I have this pattern on my sewing desk, and every time I see it, I think "I really have to make this!" It looks comfy but also stylish. Power to the people!
9/7/09 10:25 AM
arfeuse said...
thanks for the great review. I will be doing this asap. I also heart stay-stitching. Also, how do people ever manage without a loop turner?! I think they should be included in notions sections for all relevant patterns, otherwise at 1am when you're thinking "ok another ten minutes and I can finish this", you'll then spend 30 mins trying to turn yr straps over a circular knitting needle, failing miserably and going to bed swearing and annoyed. :-D
1/30/09 8:35 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Great tunic! I'm not sure about "doing the work of a paid writer," though -- I think these days cutting and pasting from a list is the preferred method of instruction writing. :b
12/17/08 12:07 PM
Cady said...
How cute, it's looks so comfy, I love the sleeves!!
8/21/08 1:36 PM
leapyfrog said...
Eve, This looks fabulous on you, and I am so pleased you found something that doesn't look like a bag, like tunics tend to be. Thanks for the review!
8/15/08 7:55 PM
Marji said...
Great Great review Eve. ;) Entertaining and enlightening. I can't wait for you to review a really intricate challenging project. Oh, sounds like you've got a gem of a store there too. You know, you've almost convinced me to make this top!
8/15/08 12:47 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That is a fantastic looking tunic! It has great shape - the fabric is lovely!
8/15/08 10:57 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Great tunic! I like your fabric choice and the shaping in the pattern is perfect, as Burda does so well.
8/15/08 4:52 AM
cathy45 said...
Too cute!
8/14/08 11:40 PM
Karen8320 said...
Lovely work, Eve. This looks terrific on you. I always worry about tunics looking like potato sacks, but I think yours has just the right amount of shaping and, yes, they are a cut above the standard T-shirt. I love it!
8/14/08 9:45 PM
cindy-lou said...
Oh Evie, you've done it again. I laughed, I cried, and I added this pattern to my must-have list-- all because of you. The tears were because I'm not as much of a perfectionist as you are, and wish I were. The must-have designation is because your tunic is GREAT, and your review makes me just drool to have this pattern in my stash for some lonely midnight (not that I ever get the must-sews either... ;) ) -- thanks for another great review!
8/14/08 8:16 PM
Natasha B said...
Your tunic is great - I think the fabric is gorgeous (voile is pretty much my all time favourite). Thanks for the cuff detail - I think that's a much better way of doing the cuff and your photo showed the fabric as well.
8/14/08 7:40 PM
jent said...
I love the more fitted shape of this tunic and your fabric is so pretty! Thanks for the info on The Fabric Gallery - it's only about an hour away - I think I could be in trouble!
8/14/08 6:07 PM
stitcheroo said...
I don't think it looks boho or hippie. It's lovely. It feels airy and bright.
8/14/08 5:30 PM
carolw said...
Very sweet tunic, I find that one of the few companies that give neck staystitching instructions is New Look, I've made a few of their tops with bias binding at the neck.
8/14/08 5:07 PM
Mufffet said...
Lovely! :)
8/14/08 4:58 PM
Ann from Maryland said...
Terrific review, and terrific tunic! This makes me want to try a Burda pattern. I usually would shy away from a tunic because they are too loose, but I love the shaping on this one. Thanks for posting!
8/14/08 4:26 PM
Twinset said...
Eve, your tunic is beautiful - relaxed yet elegant - and so is the fabric (very interesting details about it); and this lady at the store really knows what good customer service is! Thanks for the great review, and I think I'll put this pattern on my list (how come I didn't notice it??)
8/14/08 4:15 PM
shesflipped said...
I love that this tunic is semi-fitted, how cool is that?! The fabric is fantastic! Great looking top!
8/14/08 4:07 PM
shesflipped said...
I love that this tunic is semi-fitted, how cool is that?! The fabric is fantastic! Great looking top!
8/14/08 4:07 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
You never disappoint ~ another lovely garment AND a great review!
8/14/08 3:58 PM
sewtime said...
Love your blouse, and loved your review!
8/14/08 3:46 PM
annie11 said...
That looks very cool and comfy! I'm sure that you'll love wearing this one. Thanks for the great review!
8/14/08 3:34 PM
carolynw said...
I love this - must get the pattern - you are right - this tunic does add a bit more shape than many others. Great review - funny too!!
8/14/08 3:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
Candice

Candice

Buy Now