SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5193 (Misses Suit - Coordinates)

7 more reviews
Viewed 827 times 
Reviewed by:3kids1036
photo

 
 
About 3kids1036starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 10/10/06
Reviews written: 261
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 219 people
patterns reviewed: 261
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/20/08 9:24 AM
Last Updated:8/20/08 9:30 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
49 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewmytime said...
I know this review is almost if not three years old! However, this is my first time reading this review and seeing this jacket...It is STUNNING! Just had to share :)
5/13/11 9:12 AM
kathleencramer said...
Wow! Beautiful job on the jacket. It looks very professionally done. Great work!
1/5/09 2:13 PM
Hilary said...
Excellent sewing and fitting-your jacket looks perfect!
9/21/08 8:30 AM
blue mooney said...
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!!
9/7/08 9:47 AM
AnneM said...
One of the 1st things I noticed in your picture is that nice design detail seam that you added; I really like it. The jacket came out great. Glad to read that the pattern instructions were good.
9/3/08 8:39 AM
hongkongshopper said...
This is just fabulous! Not an easy fabric and it looks perfect! I can't believe that you have been sewing such a short time.
9/2/08 4:28 AM
CynthiaSue said...
you should be proud!! this is amazing. congratulations!
8/28/08 0:13 AM
amanda77 said...
That's amazing. I love the color, and I think the added seams are really neat.
8/27/08 9:30 AM
Marie67 said...
Beautiful jacket, superb construction and workmanship. I have this pattern in my stash, and this has inspired me to get it out and do something with it.
8/23/08 1:40 PM
Stitchcakes said...
I don't even WANT a jacket like this and your review and success with this pattern are making me want to put it in my wishlist! Why?? Why?? I agree that if a beautifully made, custom-altered lined jacket doesn't make you at least an intermediate sewer, what does? Please promote yourself already!
8/22/08 8:20 PM
piffle said...
OMG! I have been looking for just this kind of tailored suit jacket. I can't wait until I can start sewing again (must unpack first). This is totally on my list. Well done!
8/22/08 11:53 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Bravo! Bravo! Girl you did a fantastic job on this jacket!
8/21/08 5:15 PM
Woolygal said...
I am so happy for you., Isn't it satisfying when all works out? Congratulations.
8/21/08 4:48 PM
Rustybobn said...
Wow! Great job. You *should be* very pleased with it, 'cause that is nice!
8/21/08 10:00 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Stunning jacket- you have every right to be proud!
8/21/08 9:49 AM
CypGrl said...
Oops! Since I don't know how to delete the comment that I accidentally re-posted, I'll just add that I wondered if we'd started reviewing dress forms as I was certain that the jacket was ready-to-wear. :-)
8/21/08 9:20 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful jacket - all your efforts sure paid off
8/21/08 9:19 AM
CypGrl said...
Yes, you definitely need to change your sewing level on your profile -- and you have permission to skip a grade level or two.
8/21/08 9:19 AM
Karen8320 said...
Absolutely beautiful work! This is a very, very smart looking jacket and you should be exceptionally proud of yourself. Well done!
8/21/08 8:07 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket. You should be very proud! Great workmanship
8/21/08 5:33 AM
Athene said...
A gorgeous jacket. The beautiful front seam detailing was the first thing I noticed when I saw the picture. Also your lapels are so well done. Congratulations - I too think you have to promote yourself from advanced beginner.
8/21/08 1:18 AM
Natasha B said...
Great jacket and divine topstitching.
8/20/08 9:52 PM
Mahler said...
You have all the reasons in the world to be proud of that jacket. Congratulations for this exquisite piece of clothing. It is very business looking.
8/20/08 9:43 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Beautiful, very professional looking jacket. The fit looks great, the fabric perfect. What terrific work you did.
8/20/08 9:14 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Excellent jacket! You should be proud. I can see this jacket being in your wardrobe for many years to come.
8/20/08 7:42 PM
Ronda Rae said...
This jacket is AWESOME! Wow! Beautifully sewn.
8/20/08 7:30 PM
EveS said...
Very, very pretty. This one will last and last. You and I could race for last in topstitching speed...but it's worth every extra minute. :)
8/20/08 6:47 PM
FloraNature said...
Great jacket and tailoring! I love the extra seam, it was the first thing I noticed.
8/20/08 5:51 PM
michellep74 said...
Absolutely gorgeous jacket! I love the extra seam and all of the details that you added!
8/20/08 5:46 PM
Marji said...
Beautifully done Adrienne, and a v classic jacket that you should have for a long time.
8/20/08 4:27 PM
Kellie R. said...
You should be proud and pleased - you did a superb job! It's a stylish design with excellent workmanship. Congratulations!
8/20/08 2:39 PM
LindsayT said...
Nice job!! What an inspiration you are.
8/20/08 1:57 PM
Karendee said...
Beautiful jacket and so well tailored. I admire your work.
8/20/08 1:49 PM
tr1c14 said...
I am in awe of your topstitching.
8/20/08 1:48 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful jacket! The detailing is wonderful! Love the extra seam.
8/20/08 1:17 PM
Erica B. said...
Great jacket. I love the welt seams.
8/20/08 1:11 PM
Dei said...
You know I am so PROUD OF YOU! This is such a daunting project and you did fantastic! The jacket looks great and even better on you. Totally polished and RTW.
8/20/08 1:02 PM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful, classic jacket. Very sharp looking. I think you should promote yourself to intermediate.
8/20/08 12:43 PM
Beryl said...
That extra seam made this jacket really special. You did a fabulous job!
8/20/08 12:28 PM
Mary Sarah said...
What a beautiful jacket! You did an amazing job!!!
8/20/08 12:19 PM
goldenthreads said...
You deserve a pat on the back. This is superb workmanship. Congratulations
8/20/08 12:15 PM
shesflipped said...
You continue to amaze and inspire me! This jacket it beautifully crafted~very elegant! Bravo to you! 'Advanced Beginner?' I think not...You've just been promoted!
8/20/08 11:10 AM
merteuil said...
Beautiful jacket! Very elegant!
8/20/08 10:50 AM
Amy-may said...
You did a beautiful job on your jacket!
8/20/08 10:43 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Well done. This is absolutely stunning. The work you put into this really, really shows and I hope you wear this for a long time with great pride. You should because its brilliant work.
8/20/08 10:41 AM
wreninrome said...
very, very nice...excellent work
8/20/08 10:16 AM
unfinishedprojects said...
The first thing I noticed was the extra seam above the bust. What a great little detail to add!
8/20/08 9:53 AM
Opals Passions said...
Beautiful jacket and from the construction I can see you put your all into it.....It's just FAB........
8/20/08 9:42 AM
EleanorSews said...
Kudos for you! Your jacket turned out beautifully and looks lovely on. Clearly the time spent was well worth the effort.
8/20/08 9:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2005-102

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Buy Now
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now