SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Shapes> Plus One Tunic (Plus One Tunic)

3 more reviews
Viewed 773 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 182 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/08 10:29 AM
Last Updated:8/21/08 11:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
VtMartha said...
Barbara, I would love to see this but your pictures are teeny tiny on my screen. Can you make them larger?
8/21/08 10:35 AM
Barbara V said...
Thanks for the note MtMartha. I'm working frantically to enlarge the images. Please stand by. I really need some education here. :-)
8/21/08 10:43 AM
Barbara V said...
Ladies, are the images large enough now? I used my highend camera with plenty of pixels amd quality, but don't understand why I cannot generate large images even after resizing each one. I will need to read up on this.
8/21/08 10:53 AM
maryfrana said...
I like the collar a lot and the color of the fabric really suits you. I've been interested in Sewing Workshop for a while and this makes me want to look again. Thanks for the review.
8/21/08 11:02 AM
marthamyers said...
Wonderful result. Thanks for sharing. It looks great on you, especially with the belted waist. BTW, resizing a JPG compresses it and so reduces its size. You might try going with the original size, just to see what happens.
8/21/08 11:47 AM
sewtime said...
Looks great! But do wish the pictures were bigger. But beautiful job!
8/21/08 11:48 AM
nicegirl said...
Interesting garment! I like the color, too.
8/21/08 3:07 PM
Karendee said...
I would love to see this in a larger picture, but the color and general outline looks lovely on you.
8/21/08 5:13 PM
DorothyK said...
The dress looks terrific. That certainly is an interesting pattern. I too would love to see bigger pictures.
8/21/08 6:54 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you ladies for your kind comments and I have been working on this all day, changing cameras, adjusting the camera image size settings, getting all dressed again, snap, snap, upload, upload, but I continue to get small images on my review. I know it is not this difficult for everyone, but it remains a mystery to me! I shall keep working on it, but for now I need a major break!
8/21/08 7:23 PM
Patti B said...
It looks lovely and it's nice that the collar is versatile. The fabric looks more like a linen than a jersey -- good to know that a knit will work for the pattern. Glad you solved the photo problem.
8/22/08 0:37 AM
Amanda S. said...
Ha, ha, I'm laughing at all your technical difficulties, only because it reminds me so much of myself. Glad to see you finally got it figured out!
8/22/08 1:54 AM
missytexas said...
This dress looks really cute on you. I like the color on you, too. And may I just say that I am intrigued with the beautiful cabinet you are standing in front of. It looks like the bottom part can be converted; is it a sewing cabinet, and does it hold your machine down there?! I am just curious, because I like beautiful furniture almost as much as beautiful garments :)
8/22/08 4:25 AM
Darla in PA said...
What a great looking dress! The color is very flattering on you. Love the asymetric collar. Great job!
8/22/08 7:04 AM
carolynw said...
This is beautiful - looks reaslly great on you and nothing at all like the line drawing on the Shapes web site!!
8/22/08 8:38 AM
Karine said...
What a great dress! I've only seen this pattern made as a tunic worn over pants. It looks like a super comfortable dress that you will love to wear in warm weather. And so much better than the pattern illustrations would suggest!
8/22/08 8:43 AM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful dress and very flattering on you. I've never heard of these patterns before so thank you for the great introduction.
8/22/08 8:49 AM
Barbara V said...
missytexas, the hutch is not converted to hold my sewing machine although that is a great idea; however, it is perfect to hold my interfacings and linings in the lower bins, buttons, zippers, tools & notions in the middle section drawers, books at the back of the table top and finally fabrics in the upper shelves. It is a special piece in my sewing room. Thanks
8/22/08 9:23 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Interesting dress - the collar options make it versatile! Love that color on you, it's so flattering!
8/22/08 11:20 AM
marec said...
Barbara, I follow your reviews closely and love your choice of clothes. This one is TOPS!! You look fabulous-chic *and* relaxed, which is a difficult combination to achieve. :-)
8/22/08 11:31 AM
VtMartha said...
Barbara, thanks for resizing the photo - unfortunately I had no advice. The dress is gorgeous! I have this collection of patterns but I haven't sewn this one yet.
8/22/08 11:42 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
A graceful and beautiful design that looks fabulous on you.
8/22/08 12:12 PM
CypGrl said...
So elegant on you! I found some information about the Shapes patterns on the Sewing Workshop website after reading your review.
8/22/08 7:55 PM
Athene said...
A fabulous look in that gorgeous drapey knit.
1/25/09 6:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Buy Now