Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3584 (Jackets with Round Neckline) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 893 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 30 people   
Reviewed by:CynthiaSue
photo
Friend of PR
About CynthiaSuestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/11/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/08 0:40 AM
Last Updated:8/31/08 0:56 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lilyofthevalley said...
Brava, Cindy! You have taken a very nice jacket and turned it into a boutique designer piece. And each of your design additions (the sleeve peplums, the vertical ruffle, and the lining from the smashing fabric) enhances both the garment and your body type. You look smashing! And beautiful drafting/finishing of your lining. A future Coco Chanel, I think. Lovely, Lily
8/31/08 0:54 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Gorgeous jacket! I love the added ruffles and the lining is fab!
8/31/08 1:20 AM
SusiM said...
Great jacket!! I really enjoyed your review - lots of helpful info and inspiration!! Bravo!
8/31/08 1:31 AM
Athene said...
You look great - this is a fabulous jacket overall but my favorite part is that polka dot lining - it just begs to be shown.
8/31/08 3:14 AM
HLT said...
Superb!!! The jacket is stunning! I can't wait to do this project too. Thank you for the detailed info on the ruffle. This will save me some time. Love! Love!
8/31/08 5:15 AM
jlg said...
Adorable jacket. Love it.
8/31/08 7:22 AM
Elke said...
Love the ruffles & looks cute on you!
8/31/08 8:09 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely - you have done a superb job at the changes to make it look more like the jacket that inspired you.
8/31/08 9:15 AM
Kellie R. said...
Another lovely piece of work cindy! What elegant fabric - the added ruffle adds to the pretty and feminine style, which you wear so well. Great job!
8/31/08 9:34 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE jacket!!! I just LOVE it!!! Your lining turned out perfect!!!! I LOVE the fabric you used for the lining also!!
8/31/08 9:39 AM
Peggy said...
Thank you for a great and informative review. I appreciate the titles of the books you used for the various techiniques. The jacket looks wonderful on you.
8/31/08 9:45 AM
Catbird said...
I love it. You look amazing in your jacket -- every bit as good as the model. Great job turning inspiration to beautiful reality!
8/31/08 11:03 AM
crisford said...
This looks so sweet on the first look, then absolutely gorgeous on the second look! Great job adapting a pattern for something you really wanted! Love, love, love the lining...
8/31/08 11:12 AM
maryfrana said...
Such a gorgeous piece of work and with your modifications, you have more or less drafted your own pattern. Bravo. Beautiful jacket, beautiful you wearing it.
8/31/08 11:16 AM
Seaspur said...
Beautiful jacket and great review!
8/31/08 11:36 AM
Annette1 said...
You have COMPLETELY TRANSFORMED this pattern, and for the better, I might add! You upped the cuteness factor about 500%. :o) I LOVE all of your changes: the cute polka-dot silk lining, the GORGEOUS ruffles, your 3/4 ruffles sleeves, every single thing. This is right up my alley. And I'm ALWAYS on the lookout for nice cotton brocade. :o) PERFECT!
8/31/08 11:41 AM
rozzybabe said...
You've added some really great design changes. The jacket looks beautiful, & is extremely well put together. Thanks for some wonderful ideas/tips! Look forward to seeing more of your sewing.
8/31/08 12:22 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very impressive and mesmerizing jacket, Cindy! You wear it with so much panache! Thanks for sharing those cool pictures!
8/31/08 1:33 PM
sewbehind said...
I don't know what to comment on first. The jacket, the lining, how cute you look, the garden pond in a lovely setting, and the cat! All gorgeous!
8/31/08 2:01 PM
Karendee said...
This is a perfect jacket, so cute and trendy on you. Congratulate yourself on such a nice copy of a RTW.
8/31/08 2:58 PM
Mufffet said...
BEAUTIFUL. SO nice and so delicate and well done!
8/31/08 4:38 PM
ALY said...
The difference between the pattern phote and your jacket is incredible. Love the changes you made and it looks great on you.
8/31/08 6:54 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow! I had to look twice at the pattern and couldn't believe you started with KS. Your design changes are awesome. Beautiful jacket.
8/31/08 10:02 PM
Nancywin said...
love, love, love it!
9/1/08 0:27 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket. Like the ruffle.
9/1/08 7:36 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Fabulous!! And and what fun lining.
9/1/08 11:54 PM
Birgitte said...
You did an AWESOME job Cindy! You really went to work on this one, and the result a super flattering, well-fitted jacket that makes you shine in all your glory. Big congrats, I'm so impressed.
9/2/08 3:16 PM
AnneM said...
Very cute style. Hah, maybe YOU can make the base pattern in a weekend; doubt I could. Not surprised your changes made it take longer than that, of course. Fun, up to date jacket.
9/3/08 5:32 AM
Blooms said...
Great job! The style is so fresh. I would love to own this jacket myself.
9/3/08 10:04 PM
CarolynGM said...
Wow! What a lovely, feminine summer jacket. Your changes really make it special.
9/6/08 10:52 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
So I'm late to the party (I know you're not surprised), but I LOVE your jacket! Cindy it was well worth the effort and time to complete. I want one too - hmm, are you needing another project??? ;-) Wear it often, it suits you well sweetie!
9/11/08 12:32 PM
JamieLiz said...
Simply beautiful! A really sweet style and a beautiful fit.
9/17/08 1:59 PM
Lori V said...
This is so beautitul, you did an amazing job.
9/26/08 7:11 AM
Lori V said...
This is so beautitul, you did an amazing job.
9/26/08 7:11 AM
Happy10821 said...
Wowza! Great work...so creative!
12/28/12 11:47 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Jalie 2921
photo
Review by Knitz on 5/15/10
Read Review

Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4643
photo
Review by jessika on 3/5/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 9016 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 9016 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12 )
McCalls 2818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us