Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2008-102 (Misses' Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 487 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/08 11:01 PM
Last Updated:9/1/08 11:01 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
YES, this is MOST DEFINITELY a Heatherrique original; however, rather than canceling your subscription, I think Burda may be calling you to see if they can use your version too! I love the "butterfly" sleeves that you have incorporated, along with the addition of the belt and the button trim. THIS IS REALLY CUTE! :o)
9/1/08 11:11 PM
HLT said...
I think that this is great. Your originality really comes through. Ditto Anette1!!! Great job with he fabric choice. You look fab, modern & chic!
9/2/08 0:15 AM
CynthiaSue said...
The belted waist is adorable. Excellent review.
9/2/08 0:58 AM
Gelbean said...
Cute jacket! I just love the fabric. Thanks for the review!
9/2/08 1:41 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Yet another wonderful Heatherrique project! I just love EVERYTHING you make, you must have the most bulging wardrobe but what style! Thanks for a great review, looks like I could copy your shortcuts to make some nice jackets for work.
9/2/08 4:49 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Wow...I haven't even GOT my 9/08 issue yet...
9/2/08 7:39 AM
Karen8320 said...
First up, who needs Burda WOF when there is a Heatherrique original?!?! Louella, you have transformed this design from something which was really quite ordinary to something which is definitely funky and has heaps more pizzazz! I love your problem solving strategies and I love what you've done to make this truly your own.
9/2/08 8:15 AM
2BSewing said...
Cute jacket! I have to agree with you about BWOF instructions...mysterious. lol! Enjoyed your review. :)
9/2/08 9:12 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Very nice jacket despite all the issues you encountered. It is definitely an original and well worth the effort. Now, girl, reward yourself and sew something from one of the big 4 where the instructions are friendly. Another very helpful and entertaining review.
9/2/08 9:43 AM
michellep74 said...
Oh. My. God. I love what you did with this! The original pattern did nothing for me, but with your design changes, this is something that I would absolutely love to make/wear!
9/2/08 1:02 PM
kim*brown said...
Lovely fit, and great job with the changes!
9/2/08 2:19 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW...awesome top! I love it. Great fabric. Changing the pattern was a brilliant move! You will really be an expert sewer because you dare to change things!
9/2/08 2:34 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Louella, you are really fearless once you get a goal in sight! This is beautiful and I love each and every one of your changes. Such originality and style. Quite special. Lovely, Lily
9/2/08 10:27 PM
amy in mpls said...
I was just looking for someone to have created something from the 09 issue. and wow. i was just reading the collar for the 103 jacket and Im a little ok, a lot confused! Thanks for your great review, it will help a lot of people, including me!
9/2/08 11:45 PM
nicegirl said...
This is my top pick from this issue, so I'm glad you made it up so quickly! I'll keep the sizing in mind. I'm thinking I'll need to grade down.
9/3/08 2:11 PM
ryan's mom said...
Lovely jacket! The style and color are perfect on you :) .
9/13/08 7:59 PM
crisford said...
Cute jacket, and very entertaining review! Great job--maybe making this jacket just bumped up your sewing design skills a notch.
9/14/08 11:03 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Lingerie Secrets Shortie Legging
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 2/11/08
Read Review

McCalls 4066 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4066 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6875 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6875 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3786 Misses Tops
photo
Review by SewWil on 3/15/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Reversible Ruffle Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Ruffle Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Details
Price: $39.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Sheer White
PerfectFuse Sheer White

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us