Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Revisions: 100 (Torii Collection) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1555 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Shona
photo
Friend of PR
About Shonastar
BC CANADA
Member since: 11/9/02
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/03 4:53 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tee Jay said...
Thank you so much for this review. I'm a sewist returning to garments and I bought this pattern a year ago. I'd get out the instructions and just get lost, put it up and try reading again a month or so later. Never did make it. I always blamed myself for being confused. Now I know if anything, it needs to wait till I'm more accomplished. Thank you again. On the other hand, I've had very good luck with independent designers who are known for their clear directions.
8/15/03 5:37 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Thanks for the mini novel. It sounds like since I have a pattern I like just as much, I will probably skip this one.
8/15/03 6:51 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
It looks like it turned out beautifully, so the work was worth it. I love the coordinating orange top and teal skirt with it.
8/15/03 7:27 PM
AnneM said...
Very thorough review. This is definitely not a pattern I'm ready for yet. I love how your outfit co-ordinates; great job.
8/15/03 7:28 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thanks for an excellant review. I have this pattern and other Revisions patterns that I'm am now leery of due to repeated negative reviews. Your suggestions are very helpful.
8/16/03 2:00 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Thanks for you in depth review. We need to stick together with the Ericson's patterns. They are unique and stimulate our cretivity but the construction is always a learning experience.
8/16/03 10:31 AM
Teri said...
Thanks for the detailed review. I have one of her patterns, but it was written with David Coffin (sp?). I haven't tried it yet, shame, shame! but I will soon.
8/17/03 4:11 PM
CycleGal said...
Shona, thanks for the review, it is a lovely top. I just finished the revisions java jacket, and those instructions can be a nightmare, I ended up just constructing the garment as I thought would work best!
8/18/03 2:32 PM
Barbie said...
I own the pattern but have never made it up, and may never after reading of your difficulties. It seems as if a lot of extra effort was needed to modify the pattern and construction in order to compensate for a non draping fabric. I like the look of Diane's patterns, but they all have problems. She should just design and leave the instructions to others. Those instructions need to be specific about which fabrics work best too.
9/1/05 7:35 AM
10Ksteps said...
Excellent, complete review. I love Diane's and Lois's designs, but I can see that they are not good at all things. Thanks.
9/11/05 10:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Simplicity 3774 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by laranoelle on 9/28/09
Read Review

Simplicity 2229 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2229 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3498 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3498 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other 1001
photo
Review by JuliaS on 8/7/06
Read Review

Sis Boom Cathy Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Cathy Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Baby Toy Basics Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Baby Toy Basics Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us