Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2008-103 (Blouse with Puffed Sleeves) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 516 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/8/08 4:54 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
Cute blouse!
9/8/08 5:08 PM
Kbenco said...
Thanks for your detailed review. I want to make this blouse for my daughter, and now it will be much easier! I love the yoke and the little puff sleeves on your pretty blouse.
9/8/08 5:29 PM
shesflipped said...
Too cute! Great review, too.
9/8/08 5:37 PM
Karendee said...
Nice thorough review; cute blouse, also.
9/8/08 6:21 PM
sewtime said...
Cute top, and thank you for the review!
9/8/08 6:49 PM
Sherril Miller said...
That turned out very nice. It looks great on you.
9/8/08 7:14 PM
2BSewing said...
I like your top and it looks very nice on you. I appreciate your BWOF reviews and all the pictures. I know they will help me when I sew my first BWOF garment...sometime in the near future. Keep up the great work that you do. :)
9/8/08 7:28 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
9/8/08 8:06 PM
Lisa Merry said...
I loved the headings in your review! The blouse looks adorable!!
9/8/08 8:56 PM
Mahler said...
This is a lovely blouse. I agree with you that the buttons and loops are a great detail.
9/8/08 9:34 PM
CatMukai said...
I *love* the puns!! Thanks for all the details, I'm gonna go back and look at this pattern again
9/9/08 0:50 AM
Karen8320 said...
I once had a shirt and it was a gas, I always knew it had hearts and class. Louella, bravo for having another foray into BWOF. This garment does have really nice styling and I'm certainly developing quite an attraction to button loops and peplums, both of which this pattern has. It has quite a lovely feminine look and, to my eye, looks good on you. Please give it another go with your ideas for modifications.
9/9/08 1:23 AM
EveS said...
You + fab creativity w/ the English language = math teacher?! Had you been my teacher, I may have been more successful in that subject! :) ANYWAY, great top! This is one of my favorites from this issue, so I'm glad to see your version! You are the BWOF goddess these days!
9/9/08 1:24 AM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE this blouse on you, Louella! In particular, I like those little sleeves, and the peplum, which, as you say, isn't too exaggerated. Another VERY HELPFUL and FUN review. :o)
9/9/08 2:42 AM
Terri A said...
Great review! LOL so clever:-)
9/9/08 3:06 AM
Elke said...
Very cute & looks good on you!
9/9/08 8:07 AM
Michelle L said...
Great review, your reviews always make me smile! I love the blouse and the fabric. It looks really great on you!
9/9/08 9:06 AM
pterion said...
What a fun review - love your play on words. Your blouse is lovely! You may have talked me into this pattern for the spring.
9/9/08 10:36 AM
LindsayT said...
Love this on you!
9/9/08 11:38 AM
LesleeD said...
You do beautiful work. I love your format for the review. Very informative.
9/9/08 11:40 AM
Amanda S. said...
Great top! I loved this one from that issue too, thanks for the detailed review.
9/9/08 1:15 PM
HLT said...
Very cute on you!!!!!
9/9/08 4:59 PM
nicegirl said...
There were a lot of details in this project! Thank you for the thorough review and lots of pictures!
9/9/08 5:01 PM
MichelleE said...
It's a really cute blouse! oh, I know what you mean by concentrating on the instructions, sometimes they make my brain hurt!
9/9/08 10:11 PM
Mufffet said...
Another really nice top! :)
9/10/08 5:07 PM
ryan's mom said...
Very pretty and flattering! I have yet to try a Burda.
9/13/08 7:54 PM
crisford said...
This is very cute, Louella! I love the fabric for this pattern. You might want to try adding the length to the peplum rather than the billowy part. I noticed on the model, the top looks really short anyway so maybe you wouldn't need to add so much. I love these little sleeves--you're lucky to have graceful arms!
9/14/08 11:19 AM
Caitycat said...
Thanks for such a comprehensive review - it's one pattern I've been eyeing off!
11/9/08 6:07 AM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous well fitting blouse. I love the 'creative' review too!
2/5/09 0:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Kwik Sew 2732
photo
Review by sassyseams... on 12/4/11
Read Review

Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)
Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2009-131
photo
Review by sky on 1/31/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1182 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1182 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1367 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1367 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us