SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1234 (Chanel-style Jacket)

Viewed 657 times 
Reviewed by:Liana
photo

 
 
About Lianastarstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/08 1:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful jacket, as always. The combination of two fabrics is very interesting and gives it the extra touch. You certainly should use this pattern again.
9/9/08 2:15 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Absolutely stunning as all your work is. I can see why you would want to make more of these, its a very smart jacket.
9/9/08 3:12 AM
Georgene said...
Love the surprise lining. Very pretty jacket, even with the challenges...I would never know if you didnt tell us about it.
9/9/08 3:22 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful jacket Liana :)
9/9/08 4:58 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Liana, beautiful jacket and exquisite workmanship!
9/9/08 6:29 AM
cindyann said...
Great lining! Nicely done, Liana.
9/9/08 7:41 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Beautiful!!!
9/9/08 7:44 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Hi Liana, I too am short-waisted and completely understand your situation over the pockets. Have you considered making a Fake small scale patch pocket placed beneath a bound pocket 'entry' to the real pocket? I am lost with out a pocket or two. I looked at the pattern envelope drawing and those pockets look huge. Maybe just scaling them down would tone down the overall effect. Beautiful jacket! You are very talented.
9/9/08 7:55 AM
Nancywin said...
This turned out beautifully. You always do such nice work.
9/9/08 10:04 AM
Re Becca said...
I love this. yours looks fresh and fabulous, the pattern drawing actually looks kinda dowdy. I like the twill contrast, that really adds to it.
9/9/08 10:15 AM
Diane E said...
This jackets' details are superb, from the sleeve bands and lovely contrast collar, to the hand-worked buttonholes and special lining. You look beautiful! I love the shape of the collar and neckline. Gorgeous!
9/9/08 10:18 AM
Mufffet said...
Lovely.
9/9/08 10:52 AM
Nancy K said...
This is just fabulous! I love your attention to detail. Great review too. This jacket has the most flattering neckline.
9/9/08 11:09 AM
Elona said...
The jacket is sooo pretty, Liana! And you're absolutely right: The collar does have the lovely stand-away effect shown on the envelope.
9/9/08 11:12 AM
lmg said...
OOhhh...I love it. And best of all I have this pattern as well just waiting to be made up. Thanks for the info regarding fit and the pockets. And your workmanship is always truly spectacular!
9/9/08 11:13 AM
LindsayT said...
Wonderful jacket. I particularly like the sleeve bands. Nice touch.
9/9/08 11:33 AM
cmarie12 said...
I love the lining ~ it gives such an added elegance to the jacket...which is simply lovely!
9/9/08 11:54 AM
sewtime said...
Very nice jacket! And you looks so pretty in it! Thanks for the great review.
9/9/08 12:34 PM
j222b said...
A pleasure to read. Lovely jacket. Perhaps the pockets would fringe into a rosette for the lapel?
9/9/08 8:22 PM
Karen8320 said...
Liana, this really is such a beautiful jacket and suits you wonderfully. Your workmanship is so superb and you take everything to a very high and inspirational level. Very impressive!
9/9/08 9:18 PM
moushka said...
Exquisite jacket! I love all your couture touches. Your work is always so inspiring, Liana. Thanks for a great review. Looking forward to the next one.
9/10/08 8:03 AM
Michele19 said...
Your jacket is divine and this review is like an education in itself. I can't wait to see the next jacket!!
9/10/08 8:46 AM
apple annie said...
Fabulous, love all the attention to detail and the surprise lining.
9/10/08 9:09 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Truly a work of art! A beautiful jacket.
9/10/08 4:47 PM
AnneM said...
Lovely jacket. Looks like a great choice on the hand-worked button holes.
9/13/08 1:06 PM
Dei said...
Absolutely beautiful. I studied your craftsmanship and you did a wonderful job.
9/19/08 6:08 PM
Athene said...
Such a smart looking jacket. I love your buttonholes and buttons. The fabric and fit is beautiful. Thank you for all the great pictures.
9/21/08 5:40 PM
Second Avenue said...
Hello Liana, It is my goal to make Marfy patterns with the skill that you do. I have been reading your reviews for some time and find them to be very helpful. I have just received the 2009 Winter Marfy catalogue in the mail. It is my first one and it was like Christmas to get it and pour over the beautiful classic designs. Thank you for inspiring me to take the plunge! Regards, Gaylene McCutcheon Ottawa, Canada P.S. Did you find that the fusible interfacing has held up with your boucle? I have never used boucle before and am wondering if the fusible will stay fused to such a loose weave. GM.
1/23/09 2:48 PM
Liana said...
Gaylene, I've never had trouble with the fusible not working on a boucle. I like ProWeft fusible or similar for this. It doesn't change the hand of the fabric.
1/24/09 2:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

No Pattern Used Jellyroll Race Quilt

photo
by: Renren

Review
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Buy Now